Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & Fugly

Does anyone else get pissed off when the camera angle goes behind the goals and it makes it harder to see if the ball is going towards to the goals or points?

Understand why they are doing it but it drives me nuts, maybe i am just being a grumpy old man

Do you mean the 'Drinkwise Score Review'? https://www.afl.com.au/news/476581
Good to see it being mentioned in the press.

Would have been nice if the game just continued until the next stoppage, so once the ball was dead the review can happen and the umpire either throws the ball up again if the call was correct or the ball goes back if it was wrong- that way no team is adversely affected.

I'll add it to my list of things to mention next time I meet up with Gil.

That brings me to my next point, does anyone else notice whenever the opposition hack kick forward it's usually ends up in one of their players hands and starts a bullshit counter attack? Such as Robinson last night. Never with us tho, always a ******* turnover. 🌈

Yes! and every time we have to hack kick it from the centre bounce it always seems to land in a defenders lap, but when the opposition hack it from a centre bounce it invariably hits the deck and becomes a 50 50. It's such a constant theme my theory is that our forwards positioning for centre bounces is less than ideal

Its unbelievable, completely agree with the centre clearances too.

Wish there was a place that tracked that sort of data. Hack kicks out of the centre that are marked by own team or opposition. Reckon we'd be something like 5% us 20% neutral 75% oppo. Vs us oppo would be 50% oppo 35% neutral 15% us.

Im convinced we get completely ****ed in ways no other team is capable of.

Its unbelievable, completely agree with the centre clearances too.

Wish there was a place that tracked that sort of data. Hack kicks out of the centre that are marked by own team or opposition. Reckon we'd be some like 5% us 20% neutral 75% oppo. Vs us oppo would be 50% oppo 35% neutral 15% us.

Im convinced we get completely f’ed in ways no other team is capable of.
As others have said on this thread a lot of that is intangibles and structure and chemistry and communication. If you get a hack clearance forward you should basically always be at an advantage unless the opposing team drops a number behind the footy. Forwards should be spacing out and not getting in each others' way(which we are improving at) and playing in front. Lachie Neale looked clean yesterday but he wasn't hunting the footy, he was almost just standing at the back of stoppages waiting for us to fumble the wet footy, collecting a loose ball get, and dishing it off to someone else.

The talent on our list can compete for top 4, I think that's pretty abundantly clear. But in terms of tactics I thought we were 18th in the comp last year; this year still pretty ordinary there, although we are getting better. Comes down to a lack of on field leadership, lack of chemistry due to injuries last year, and dodgy development and coaching that doesn't develop on-field leaders or tactical flexibility.

Our plan A has shifted a bit and become a bit more well rounded, but we have to play those conditions better. Maxy was dominating the ruck in slippery conditions; had to structure the mids a bit better. Partially on Maxy too; those hits backwards into congestion will work in dry conditions because Clarry usually the cleanest ground level player in the comp, but in slippery conditions the formula has to change. Ours didn't until it was too late.

That's just how it is with us. Never proactive enough, always so reactive. I have faith we will eventually find out the winning formula this season, but its frustrating starting behind the 8 ball every damn season because we're such a reactive side. It's like every new Pokemon region when Ash's age resets to 10 and his knowledge as a trainer resets; we're always starting each season as the 18th best tactical/structural side and trying to work ourselves out of the bottom 6 tactically as the season progresses and its getting frustrating.

Jury will be out on the coaching and the players until we can actually start a season strongly. You may think we started strong in 2018 but that actually involved a very soft draw and included a whole bunch of mediocre performances up until we trounced Carlton and Adelaide back to back.

As others have said on this thread a lot of that is intangibles and structure and chemistry and communication. If you get a hack clearance forward you should basically always be at an advantage unless the opposing team drops a number behind the footy. Forwards should be spacing out and not getting in each others' way(which we are improving at) and playing in front. Lachie Neale looked clean yesterday but he wasn't hunting the footy, he was almost just standing at the back of stoppages waiting for us to fumble the wet footy, collecting a loose ball get, and dishing it off to someone else.

The talent on our list can compete for top 4, I think that's pretty abundantly clear. But in terms of tactics I thought we were 18th in the comp last year; this year still pretty ordinary there, although we are getting better. Comes down to a lack of on field leadership, lack of chemistry due to injuries last year, and dodgy development and coaching that doesn't develop on-field leaders or tactical flexibility.

Our plan A has shifted a bit and become a bit more well rounded, but we have to play those conditions better. Maxy was dominating the ruck in slippery conditions; had to structure the mids a bit better. Partially on Maxy too; those hits backwards into congestion will work in dry conditions because Clarry usually the cleanest ground level player in the comp, but in slippery conditions the formula has to change. Ours didn't until it was too late.

That's just how it is with us. Never proactive enough, always so reactive. I have faith we will eventually find out the winning formula this season, but its frustrating starting behind the 8 ball every damn season because we're such a reactive side. It's like every new Pokemon region when Ash's age resets to 10 and his knowledge as a trainer resets; we're always starting each season as the 18th best tactical/structural side and trying to work ourselves out of the bottom 6 tactically as the season progresses and its getting frustrating.

Jury will be out on the coaching and the players until we can actually start a season strongly. You may think we started strong in 2018 but that actually involved a very soft draw and included a whole bunch of mediocre performances up until we trounced Carlton and Adelaide back to back.

I can't blame the coaches for it. Since it's 6 on 6 in F50s at centre bounces, a lot of those hack kicks just come down to dumb luck, something we never seem to get much of.

Harley's miss huge, Weid kicks either of his 3 puds and it might be a different result.

Such a frustrating game coz felt like we were up against the umps all night along with the second team on the ladder, then we constantaly shot ourselves in foot to go along with it. Can't doubt the effort and commitment tho.
More like we stuck the gun in the front of our dacks and shot our knob off.

Clearances and easy misses cost us. It felt like most of Gawn's taps didn't clear past 1-2 m and we always had 2-3 players trying to hunt the ball. Brisbane players just waited until our players fumbled it to them and then they fed it to a team mate on the outside.

We need to learn to hang off the contest. 1. Because the new directive is to pin players for HTB if they take a tackle even without prior. 2. If 2 players go for the ball there is no one on the outside, so our clearances are bombs, rather than 1-2 handball chains that result in deeper entries. 3. It leaves the oppo wide open for much more effective clearances. I'd love to see Gawn smash it forward and have our forwards hang off and tackle their defenders to try and get a HTB or a turnover and limit the chance of a clean opposition clearance.

Annotation 2020-07-27 202856.png

I might have this wrong, but is this the efficiency of I50 kicks, not efficiency of disposals when the ball is already inside 50?

I'm i'm understanding it correctly, this shows how poor defensively our mids were and backs up the observations that our defence held up pretty well considering.

Despite them missing more shots than us they were from worse positions and most of their goals were ground balls, which we need to improve. Our forwards could have stolen it if they kicked the easy ones.

They should appeal it get NDS and Healy to give evidence.
Jetta deserves to get knocked out, stupid decision IMO. If you fake to punch someone in the kidney they'll raise an elbow to protect them self, Jetta headbutted McStay. The **** else was the bloke supposed to do

Clearances and easy misses cost us. It felt like most of Gawn's taps didn't clear past 1-2 m and we always had 2-3 players trying to hunt the ball. Brisbane players just waited until our players fumbled it to them and then they fed it to a team mate on the outside.

We need to learn to hang off the contest. 1. Because the new directive is to pin players for HTB if they take a tackle even without prior. 2. If 2 players go for the ball there is no one on the outside, so our clearances are bombs, rather than 1-2 handball chains that result in deeper entries. 3. It leaves the oppo wide open for much more effective clearances. I'd love to see Gawn smash it forward and have our forwards hang off and tackle their defenders to try and get a HTB or a turnover and limit the chance of a clean opposition clearance.

Agree with all this, Brisbane came with the plan to wait and tackle the ball off us at stoppages, I kept saying to no one in particular, Gawn just spike the next one 20 metres down field, but he didn't do it once that I can recall. We have the best tap ruck in the league but the commentators made several remarks in the first half that we were not getting anywhere near enough reward from Gawn's dominance. But in saying that it is tough to train for stoppages when the rules about tackling and legal disposal and holding the ball literally change on a weekly basis.

View attachment 920689

I might have this wrong, but is this the efficiency of I50 kicks, not efficiency of disposals when the ball is already inside 50?

I'm i'm understanding it correctly, this shows how poor defensively our mids were and backs up the observations that our defence held up pretty well considering.

Despite them missing more shots than us they were from worse positions and most of their goals were ground balls, which we need to improve. Our forwards could have stolen it if they kicked the easy ones.
I think the i50 efficiency is scores from i50s (or maybe just goals?).

Regarding Nev, love him as I do, I agree with the majority here that he is not at his best lately.

I remember watching the video the club posted around the time of the George Floyd murder and Goody was saying something about his wife's aunty or someone in the family dying in police custody?

I know that physically he looks a step slower than the Nev of old, but could this be some sort of factor into his performance. I'm not suggesting he is playing under duress, but as a proud indigenous man and one of the leaders in the indigenous football community (at MFC at the very least), surely the bloke is probably feeling it at the moment.

At the end of the day performance is what counts and he hasn't been his best, but I feel maybe there is something else other than "old" at play here.

Regarding Nev, love him as I do, I agree with the majority here that he is not at his best lately.

I remember watching the video the club posted around the time of the George Floyd murder and Goody was saying something about his wife's aunty or someone in the family dying in police custody?

I know that physically he looks a step slower than the Nev of old, but could this be some sort of factor into his performance. I'm not suggesting he is playing under duress, but as a proud indigenous man and one of the leaders in the indigenous football community (at MFC at the very least), surely the bloke is probably feeling it at the moment.

At the end of the day performance is what counts and he hasn't been his best, but I feel maybe there is something else other than "old" at play here.
I don't think he's been that bad tbh. Certainly not at his best, but he's not been disastrous like most on here have been alluding to. He copped a big knock to the head early in the game too on Sunday, and with his history of concussions, I was amazed he played out the game and did as well as he did. Wouldn't be surprised if he was an out this next match. I'd still back Nev in over whatever the alternative is right now. Hore is still injured, Rivers isn't ready and I'm not sure who else is capable of holding down the Papleys, Camerons and Walters of the comp. Hopefully Nev can turn it around like Hibberd has until someone else emerges..

I think that's a huge copout. Some misguided protests in America aren't the reason Jetta can't keep his feet around the contest anymore.

Jetta deserves to get knocked out, stupid decision IMO. If you fake to punch someone in the kidney they'll raise an elbow to protect them self, Jetta headbutted McStay. The fu** else was the bloke supposed to do

... tackle him.

I think the i50 efficiency is scores from i50s (or maybe just goals?).
I thought that initially, but we were 7.7, while they were 7.11 - with 41-42 inside 50's, so i dunno, hard to find a definition. The AFL website stats layout is terrible atm.

Could be any disposals into or inside 50? Not sure about that either though

Review Dees v Lions - the Good, Bad & Fugly