Review Dees v Westhorsham Port - the Good, Bad and Teal

Did you read it?

He didn't really say anything like that, in fact he said: “Steven May had the opponent (Lord) that did that to Max jog back to him – and did nothing. That is not the Melbourne that I know."

Pointed out Trac, Clarry and Gus all saw what was happening and didn't do anything, at any stage during the game.

He also said: “I was really disappointed for Max that he was left on an island by senior, core players who should’ve brought more physicality.”

Do you disagree with that? I certainly don't, and I reckon there'd be a fair bit of revisionism going in if people who posted on game day here didn't think that at the time.

I saw him speak about it on First Crack and they showed the vision.

Each player he expected to remonstrate with the Power player who put the elbow into max was about 10-15m away from the contest. The ball was about to be thrown in/balled-up (can't remember) and it would've been so dumb to all rush in and remonstrate if the ball then went back into play and we were all out of position.

The vision of the other poet players bumping into Max as he ran also just shows Max wanting to get on with business/run to the next contest. That seems to be his mentality 'just get on with things'. If he's not concerned by it, why should other players run to his aid and leave their opponents?

We have plenty bigger issues imo.

How about instead of running over to help out Max, who clearly doesn't need the help, we run to actually defend opposition players. The lack of defensive purpose is embarrassing. That's why I'd like Harmes back in to take Andrew Brayshaw or Serong this week to actually show his team mates that defending is still relevant in todays game.

I saw him speak about it on First Crack and they showed the vision.

Each player he expected to remonstrate with the Power player who put the elbow into max was about 10-15m away from the contest. The ball was about to be thrown in/balled-up (can't remember) and it would've been so dumb to all rush in and remonstrate if the ball then went back into play and we were all out of position.

The vision of the other poet players bumping into Max as he ran also just shows Max wanting to get on with business/run to the next contest. That seems to be his mentality 'just get on with things'. If he's not concerned by it, why should other players run to his aid and leave their opponents?

We have plenty bigger issues imo.

Gawn had a shocker of a game by his standards though, and that's not the first time against the Power. They've used that tactic successfully since 2019.

I think perhaps you're focusing too much on that one example. King used that as one out of the bunch, he mentioned Gawn was blocked, bumped etc 14 times in that first half. Obviously it's the media and he's oversold it a bit, especially the 'disrespect' stuff, but it's a fair point IMO. Especially when you're talking about just getting to the next contest - that's exactly what Port were negating.

The crux of it for mine is Port have a strategy that's working against Gawn and we've done nothing about it. Sure there's other issues, but we should be able to deal with more than one issue at a time as a club yeah?

I don't agree with Kingy that it's a culture issue, but I definitely think it's a tactical one.

Couldn't agree more. Those comments from King were so dumb. Imagine the outrage if half the team went to remonstrate with the Power players and we leaked goals as a result.

He'd be the first guy to demand off the ball free kicks and have a cry about it. Picks and chooses like no other that bloke.

So basically run in, don't push too hard but make sure all your guys come and lose your positioning

How's old mate changing the article to drop Steven May from this bit

King highlighted the passage of play on First Crack, saying he was disappointed Angus Brayshaw, Clayton Oliver, Christian Petracca and Steven May “all had eyeline on what happened” but didn’t come to Gawn’s aid.

Then saying people didn't read it properly. Flog 101

That's ******* stupid analysis. Yeah Steven May should run from FB to go push someone then have a goal kicked over his head. If Gawn doesn't wanna stand up for himself then why should anyone else

How's old mate changing the article to drop Steven May from this bit

King highlighted the passage of play on First Crack, saying he was disappointed Angus Brayshaw, Clayton Oliver, Christian Petracca and Steven May “all had eyeline on what happened” but didn’t come to Gawn’s aid.

Then saying people didn't read it properly. Flog 101

“Steven May had the opponent (Lord) that did that to Max jog back to him – and did nothing. That is not the Melbourne that I know."

Let me know if you want me to read it to you.

I mean, players can remonstrate when they're close to the contest (Hunter, Bowey, Salem) or square up later without all rushing in from everywhere and throw the structure out.

At the time I remember seeing that and thinking it was odd nobody flew the flag or squared up later on. I want us to start more fights as a general rule. 1) because it's fun and 2) because I think we play better

I mean, players can remonstrate when they're close to the contest (Hunter, Bowey, Salem) or square up later without all rushing in from everywhere and throw the structure out.

At the time I remember seeing that and thinking it was odd nobody flew the flag or squared up later on. I want us to start more fights as a general rule. 1) because it's fun and 2) because I think we play better
Better to be the instigator not the second in, they give away the frees. Miss Salo burying his elbow into a north blokes scon from behind, Bernie hip and shouldering everyone who moved. Dean Kent throwing crows like an old tissue.

Haven't had a proper pest since Bugg.

Pickett is definitely a pest. How about when he kicked the winner against the Blues and immediately went and got in Newnes' face instead of celebrating the winner with his team-mates. Loved that.

Actually didn't mind Fritta getting into Aliir on Friday night. They were having a bit of fun out there.

When Fritta worked him under the ball on the wing to mark after they were having words with each other, was so good. For a bag of bones, Fritta uses his body so bloody well. Nearly kicked the farken winner too.

Petty is 100% a pest too. Absolute mongrel, love it.
Maybe earlier last year or the year before but I think most oppostion would just laugh at him if he tried to get under their skin now. Hard to be taken seriously when you were brought to tears on the field over nothing.

Fristch should try being more of a pest since most opposition supporters find him annoying anyway.

Are sheep well known for changing their gameplan every 5 minutes? I would have though the opposite if anything.
Put a dog amongst open range sheep and they will scatter everywhere, and regroup without any strategy.

This is why teams have plans and structures. So they all know collectively what they are trying to do.
We can change players from within our list to make improvements needed.

But to change to plans to B,C,D,E,F... is to just play total instinct without plan. like back in the 80's. minimal plans.

Hello Simon.

I hope this post finds you well.

While I am sure you're deep into the LEARNINGS of this loss, I'd like to highlight certain LEARNINGS for your attention.

Please never play Angus Brayshaw in the midfield again. Play Kozzie there. Or Rivers. Or Salem. Or Sparrow. Or my overweight, gout-afflicted uncle Bob. Just not Angus.

Please also consider playing to the conditions. I know the rain can be wet and scary, but sometimes you just need to embrace the moist chaos.

Finally, consider developing a forward 50 entry strategy that doesn't involve plonking it on top of a pack and hoping for the best. Do you remember LEADS? I like LEADS. Consider how we could utilise more LEADS in the game plan.

Your friend in starch, DP.
‘Moist chaos’

He'd be the first guy to demand off the ball free kicks and have a cry about it. Picks and chooses like no other that bloke.

So basically run in, don't push too hard but make sure all your guys come and lose your positioning
It’s funny because if we had burgled that game, all of the media would’ve been talking up Port’s misplaced aggression or calling them faux tough guys. Would be interesting if they actually analysed anything relevant like Port’s midfield depth, why the hell Melbourne didn’t tag Butters, how the f Port almost lost that game despite being the vastly superior side for 3/4 quarters or even the boring, low hanging fruit of why Jonas and Hunter were suspended by the MRO when there were umpteen other dangerous tackles/incidents from the game.

Given the media has clowns like Tom Browne working for them, I am not surprised.

Given the outs up forward for them it'd probably go down as a brave loss; maybe some dumb pot shots about shit goalkicking.
On the suspensions, I agree both are very silly. Viney's Vinne Jones/Kevin Muscat impression in the last was more deserving of a suspension than either Hunter or Jonas's actions. High risk of injury and no way you could argue that's a normal football action

Review Dees v Westhorsham Port - the Good, Bad and Teal