Analysis Hawthorn rebuild: are they tanking?

Should Hawks Be Punished?

It’s never as good or as bad as it seems.

Really should have done better in that last centre bounce against Port, and we’d have 5 on the trot.
Young teams always lose the unloseable along the way.

Geelong certainly had a few examples before 2007.

So the "should have done better" - I get what you're saying, but mistakes like that for up and coming sides are expected. So what happened, "should" happen. Not every time, but within a season these examples occurring once or twice it isn't surprising.

I was shocked that nobody understood what was going on with the revving up of each other.
Yeah, people are weird the way they always think the worst of others, or think there's conflict where there is none. I suppose the average person who jumps to those conclusions and misses the mark on social media with stupid comments just isn't that bright.

Young teams always lose the unloseable along the way.

Geelong certainly had a few examples before 2007.

So the "should have done better" - I get what you're saying, but mistakes like that for up and coming sides are expected. So what happened, "should" happen. Not every time, but within a season these examples occurring once or twice it isn't surprising.
Spot on.

However, one of the major takeaways from that game was that for 3 quarters, the Hawks comprehensively outplayed a seasoned top 4 opponent on their own dung heap. It was an impressive performance up until things went belly-up in the final quarter. Some of the best football we had played in a long, long time.

The media and social media narks chose to focus exclusively on the negatives because that's what they do.

The Hawthorn coaches and players didn't run from it - they went over it, did some soul-searching and learned the harsh lesson which they were dealt. But you can bet they also took a lot of positives out of that game.

Regarding the port game, I for one like the fact the focus wasn't on a 'honorable loss' the expectation after the game was we should have won even though port are considered a top 4 side. There is respect in that.

We haven't had a session for weeks Chadwiko. Lets look into some core issues.

Is this 'Hawthorn bottoming out' in the room with us right now?

1717833178141.png

Don’t distract him north may break their winless streak atm

I'm hoping. Would be a great win for them on the Eagles dungheap.

It might breathe some life into him. I get a bit worried about Chadwiko and Psicosis this time of the year.

Having a real purple patch.

They now have a shot at finals so some internal pressure will come.

The last few years they have won when the internal pressure is off and lost when the internal pressure comes. (Like alot of young teams)

They have a good draw coming up as well. Lots of games in Tassie, home and not many away.

As an Essendon fan my worst nightmare will be Essendon finishing fifth just to lose to a resurgent Hawthorn team who finishes eighth in the first round of finals.
Shining Jack Nicholson GIF

Regarding the port game, I for one like the fact the focus wasn't on a 'honorable loss' the expectation after the game was we should have won even though port are considered a top 4 side. There is respect in that.

That was one of those losses that a young team can really take a lot out of. There were plenty of "learnings," to come out of that game.

Hawks absolutely think they can play finals in 2024, and so they should. The team they became in the back half of the year once the midfield clicked knocked off the two grand finalists and were more than competitive with a bunch of other finalists.

Could’ve quite easily had 10 wins in 2023 after losing to Giants, Tigers has Crows by a kick, and have arguably more scope for improvement than just about any club in the comp being the youngest list with 4 additions via trade.

Your optimism is great, as long as you deal well with extremely ambitious goals that aren't met.

See this is just rubbish. Every club should be aiming to play finals.

Only the worst of the loser clubs go into a year thinking Finals are unachievable.

How good is BigFooty’s search function.

“More scope for improvement than just about any club in the comp”

I said 'arguable' too, but you missed that bit.
The improvement hasn't happened to date in 2024, but I stand by the idea that the youngest lists in the comp have more improvement in them than the older ones.
It's why Freo and even Swans bolted from the bottom in the last couple of years.
I love being right.

Finals or not from here, the club and the players don’t fall for the loser mentality that many do on Bigfooty.

Hawthorn were never making finals
Hate to say it Gav, but we’d be outside the 8 right on percentage only right now if not for the 10 seconds against Port.

I love being right.

Finals or not from here, the club and the players don’t fall for the loser mentality that many do on Bigfooty.

Hate to say it Gav, but we’d be inside the 8 right now if not for the 10 seconds against Port.
Just outside on percentage

I love being right.

Hate to say it Gav, but we’d be inside the 8 right now if not for the 10 seconds against Port.
They're killing it. Your optimism was justified. Seems the boy can coach, as he's got them playing really connected well drilled footy in a style that will stack up under the heat of big games and moments.

I still don't see the star power to drive you forward from the middle rungs though. But I didn't see the players to get you to the middle rungs.

They're killing it. Your optimism was justified. Seems the boy can coach, as he's got them playing really connected well drilled footy in a style that will stack up under the heat of big games and moments.

I still don't see the star power to drive you forward from the middle rungs though. But I didn't see the players to get you to the middle rungs.

Collingwood a middle rung team who won a premiership? GWS and carlton reaching prelims with worse wins than hawks have now after 13 games?

At least you’ve fronted up, others probably won’t. 👍🏽

Reckon Day, MacKenzie, Newcombe are all good enough to become the star power, Ward will take over from Worpel in due course and if the mail regarding Bazlenka is true then the midfield will be quite formidable, if it isn’t already.

Dear has come from nowhere and McCabe is likely to be even better.

Collingwood a middle rung team who won a premiership? GWS and carlton reaching prelims with worse wins than hawks have now after 13 games?
Collingwood weren't a middle rung team when they won that premiership and shouldn't remain one this year if we can get some players back.

I love being right.

Going very well it has to be said

At least you’ve fronted up, others probably won’t. 👍🏽

Reckon Day, MacKenzie, Newcombe are all good enough to become the star power, Ward will take over from Worpel in due course and if the mail regarding Bazlenka is true then the midfield will be quite formidable, if it isn’t already.

Dear has come from nowhere and McCabe is likely to be even better.

Win some games:

eltonjohn3.jpg

Analysis Hawthorn rebuild: are they tanking?