Matthew Lloyd/ Kane Cornes believe Jack Reiwoldt’s tears will be used against him.

It's already been explained. The only people offended are the ones leaping to his defence and pulling out the "oh so he can't be sad huh" card even though that's not what's being said. I'm only pointing out that he's a sooky-la-la. Having a literal cry about it... gosh, it's only a few weeks. It's mentally soft. And it serves as ammo for opposition players.

Dude's getting paid heaps of cash and is only going interstate for some weeks, am I supposed to feel sorry for him? These footballers are so entitled and live in a bubble; as I said, he needs to harden up and take it on the chin. Is it a callous stance? Maybe. But I'm not here to sugar-coat things.
Nah I’m not offended by a guy being honest and showing his emotions. I’m ok with it. You obviously are not. And that’s ok.

It’s obviously upset you enough to voice your displeasure. That’s fine, some things grate others the wrong way in their actions and words.

I don’t understand the angst when it doesn’t affect me directly, but I can’t criticise how it makes you feel.

The idea that footballers can't be upset about the situation they are in because other people have it worse is so stupid and i am so sick of hearing about.

Do the same people think that the people in Melbourne unemployed living in housing commission homes being quarantined shouldn't be upset either because other people have it worse elsewhere?

This situation sucks for literally everyone, anyone who is struggling with it should feel they can speak publicly about it.

He should have waited till it was RUOK day or Beyond Blue and he would have got a pat on the back from the media.

Can’t see the opposition getting any leverage out of this at all. Calling Jack a sook is not going to effect him one bit.

As for Richmond .. if homesickness is effecting the players then it’s effecting the players.

No, you are just putting words in my mouth. Being sad doesn't necessarily mean you have to cry, especially as something as relatively minor as this. I'm sad that my brother's in the UK, I miss him. Do I cry? No.
So because you don't cry about your brother being in the UK means that Jack shouldn't shed a tear about being separated from his young family? Solid, solid logic right there

Im ok with him showing emotion, no prob. And shouldnt get bagged for it, having said that...
I dont care what you say , AFL players have no place bitchin and moaning about anything rright now. Nothing at all.
Gunna moan about someting like hubs or some other minor inconvenience to your pirvlidged routine? Go eat a dick. Come on, seriously..

Jack's been a great player for RFC. He is a rare player, much better than most people realise. Footy IQ through the ceiling. Wouldn't my club love JR right now.

But that "explanation" was painful and embarrassing. He should have dashed off onto a tram. Ohh forgot, Vic Pinko gov are "handling" the COVID health crisis

"Don't explain, don't complain".

Men for millenia have been socialised to not show vulnerability, presumably because it didn’t help much if you were fighting wars or competingmg to get a job or whatever. Richmond pin much of their success in the last few years on showing each other their vulnerabilities and accepting each other, and it seems to have worked.

There’s a big difference between admitting you feel emotionally shattered about leaving your baby behind to the point of tears, and complaining about it being actually unfair. Agree it would have looked better if Jack threw just one line in there putting his situation on context compared to many people’s.

I guess we’ll see this year if Richmond’s vulnerability mantra continues to pay off, or if it has lead the players to being too comfortable. Might end up being a fine line.

I'm only pointing out that he's a sooky-la-la. Having a literal cry about it... gosh, it's only a few weeks. It's mentally soft. And it serves as ammo for opposition players.

Dude's getting paid heaps of cash and is only going interstate for some weeks, am I supposed to feel sorry for him? These footballers are so entitled and live in a bubble; as I said, he needs to harden up and take it on the chin. Is it a callous stance? Maybe. But I'm not here to sugar-coat things.

Very unlikely it's only a "few weeks".

If the Vic spread doesn't slow down clubs will be in interstate hubs for most of or the rest of the season.

All the players would've been warned of this. It's not hard to put two and two together.

The idea that footballers can't be upset about the situation they are in because other people have it worse is so stupid and i am so sick of hearing about.

Do the same people think that the people in Melbourne unemployed living in housing commission homes being quarantined shouldn't be upset either because other people have it worse elsewhere?

This situation sucks for literally everyone, anyone who is struggling with it should feel they can speak publicly about it.
Correct in any given circumstances someone will always have it worse off than another. It doesn't mean people need to be devoid of emotion because someone has it worse, some people are just more emotional than others, that's how they are wired. People cope differently in different situations. Jack could be an emotional person missing his young child for the first time, it's not really fair for others to call out other people's situations about how or when they are able to experience and express emotion.

Im ok with him showing emotion, no prob. And shouldnt get bagged for it, having said that...
I dont care what you say , AFL players have no place bitchin and moaning about anything rright now. Nothing at all.
Gunna moan about someting like hubs or some other minor inconvenience to your pirvlidged routine? Go eat a dick. Come on, seriously..
So did Jack complain or did Jack admit he got emotional?

Given Reiwoldt's travel woes, it's a good thing a Tasmanian team never got off the ground during his career - imagine the stress of all that travel!

In all seriousness, I heard Lloyd's comments and I thought that they were pretty fair - he wasn't criticising Jack, but just noting that being open and honest in the media has its consequences, which it does; Jack's a high-quality player so it shouldn't phase him. None of the individuals involved in this story said anything 'off', it's just the media machine at its deadly worst.

The heat should be on Lloyd and Cornes not Jack. 'They'll use it against him'. Really. They just say things to say things. If a bloke can't admit to shedding a tear when leaving his young family, and those two can't empathise then pity them. Riewoldt is an emotional guy, so I hope some opponents do get into him, might give him the spark he's been missing this season.

I wonder how many of the people who are defending Jack, were a few weeks ago calling West Coast sooks...

I'm not sure about other people--- but when I called Adam Simpson & The Eagles sooked it was always in response to Eagles supporters blaming the "Sooky Victorians (normally Riewoldt, Cotchin or Dangerfield named) on ZOOM who refused to hub, so we had to"

Spot on.

It's 6 weeks into a GC resort, with their medico's, chefs, trainers etc - not a 1 year deployment to Afghanistan.

My best mate spends 6 months of the year in Europe and Asia on business with 3 kids under 5.

Some of these AFL players live the most sheltered lives, honestly.

Im sure Gold Coast will be awsome.

But its more about leaving your wife and kids in the midele of a very different and disturbed Melbourne society in lockdown. I wouldnt be happy abandoning my wife and young kids in the middle of a new wave. The primal instinct for males is to protect their female and offspring.....not enjoy running off with the boys to kicka footy around to provide entertainment.

In the past few months my attitude to work has changed due to the virus. Much more focused on safety of my family.

Matthew Lloyd/ Kane Cornes believe Jack Reiwoldt’s tears will be used against him.