Player Watch Nick Daicos - Can he be the GOAT?

Can Nick Daicos be the AFL's GOAT

• Yes

Votes: 160 28.5%
  • No

Votes: 402 71.5%

Ablett jnr played when tagging was not in vogue, he copped them irregularly.

Buckley often refused to do it when coaching against him much to the fans chargrin.

Also Ablett Jnr at Nicks age was a struggling for consistency small fwd pocket.
This is rubbish. Teams always tagged in the 2010s. Ling, Crowley, Carrazzo, Curnow just to name a few.

Just because Buckley was a bad coach doesn’t mean teams didn’t tag

Oh my HairyO Flybags McRae has done it again hasn't he???

Cripps 9 votes so 5 from Voss and 4 from old Flybagger

Nicky 5 votes from someone and 0 from the other

Coaches award has become a farce with Fly in charge of the Pies
Fly should be banned from Coaches award voting until he can demonstrate some impartiality.

Buckley often refused to do it when coaching against him much to the fans chargrin.

Are you suggesting that GAJ didn't come up against the likes of Brett Kirk, Kane Cornes, Ryan Crowley, Brady Rawlings,... Seems like revisionist history.

Also think it's unfair to suggest that GAJ was struggling for consistency as a small forward pocket. He kicked 35 goals in his third year.

This is rubbish. Teams always tagged in the 2010s. Ling, Crowley, Carrazzo, Curnow just to name a few.

Just because Buckley was a bad coach doesn’t mean teams didn’t tag

The comp was starting to move away from it then. Some teams did it some didn't, some players were deemed untaggable (imo rubbish) and avlett jnr by most teams fell into the category.

Particular teams like freo and carlton did tag him. Ling was his team mate peanut.

Are you suggesting that GAJ didn't come up against the likes of Brett Kirk, Kane Cornes, Ryan Crowley, Brady Rawlings,... Seems like revisionist history.

Also think it's unfair to suggest that GAJ was struggling for consistency as a small forward pocket. He kicked 35 goals in his third year.
The injury that ultimately was the turning point Gaz’z dominance and consistency was done by a tagger and funnily enough one who played for Collingwood

Clearly didnt watch much footy from back then if you think tagging wasnt in vogue

The comp was starting to move away from it then. Some teams did it some didn't, some players were deemed untaggable (imo rubbish) and avlett jnr by most teams fell into the category.

Particular teams like freo and carlton did tag him. Ling was his team mate peanut.
You do know Ablett left Geelong at the end of 2010?

Clearly didnt watch much footy from back then if you think tagging wasnt in vogue
To my mind it was probably the golden age of taggers
Of course not every team ran with them but the sheer amount of effective taggers who carved out entire careers with the role running around during that period was massive

It probably started to taper off towards 2015 - 2016 with a few still running around but not to the same extent as previously

Definitely starting to see an uptick in the roll again now but don’t think we will ever see those levels that we previously saw

His team mates gave him a clip due to not having the required work rate after many seasons fwd and then he exploded in midfield in 2007.

Only some of the sides employed it in 2nd half of his career, tagging was getting phased out around 2010 on.

The above discussion about tagging GAJ proves Collingwood fans truly live in a fictional reality. This thread needs to be closed down, they're comparing him to a player they think never got tagged and also think Heeney, Warner and Jordan were all tagging Nicky last night :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy:

How do you argue with that level of partisan nuffery?

His team mates gave him a clip due to not having the required work rate after many seasons fwd and then he exploded in midfield in 2007.

Only some of the sides employed it in 2nd half of his career, tagging was getting phased out around 2010 on.
Cornes, Curnow, Crowley, Hutchings, De Boer, Hewett and even early Jack Steele were all specialist taggers that fulfilled those roles in the period you reckon there weren’t any taggers lol

Curnow and Cornes collected a lot of disposals but were in the side for their tagging, not their damage with the ball (they weren’t good at that, just outstanding runners)

The guys Nick is being tagged by are not half the runner Cornes or Curnow were or half as impressive an athlete as De Boer or Crowley..

Not to diminish Nick, I think he’s a beautiful player in my top 5-10 players in the league - a huge feat for a 3rd year player and deserves his current lead in the AFLCA.. but the taggers Judd, Ablett, Dusty, Danger and Fyfe had to contend with were unbelievable athletes

Ive currently got him ranked about 10-12 in the comp.

And yes, thats behind Sheezel.
Sheezel is miles in front of him in a far lesser team talent wise and who is around him.

Nick would hardly have any influence on games if he was in the current North team.

Sheezel is miles in front of him in a far lesser team talent wise and who is around him.

Nick would hardly have any influence on games if he was in the current North team.
Nick is plug and play in any side but of course you’re going to be better in a good side with good system

Sheezel is better in my opinion but Nick would still be great at North

Lol what? Tagging was far more common in abletts era then today. Geelongs captain was literally a tagger. During his peak ablett was tagged nearly every week by the likes of kane cornes, clint jones/baker from the saints, ryan crowley from the dockers, brady rawlings at north etc. Im pretty sure the crows had a tagger they used to bring into the team solely to play on ablett. Pies may of been the exception. Not the rule.

I'm keen to see how this plays out.

Heeney should get the 10. He was unbelievable. I thought Sydney had a few really good players but also a lot of ordinary players who got the job done by keeping in touch and doing the job when it counted.

Daicos didn't really do much for me tonight.
Heeney
Cameron
Sidebottom
Warner

I thought they were pretty clearly the best 4. God knows for the last 1. Won't be Nick. He was ok, but looked to be knackered all night. And then we were so heavily burnt in the last 10 mins.

I'm keen to see how this plays out.

Heeney should get the 10. He was unbelievable. I thought Sydney had a few really good players but also a lot of ordinary players who got the job done by keeping in touch and doing the job when it counted.

Daicos didn't really do much for me tonight.
Heeney
Cameron
Sidebottom
Warner

I thought they were pretty clearly the best 4. God knows for the last 1 Won't be Nick. He was ok, but looked to be knackered all night

Lol what? Tagging was far more common in abletts era then today. Geelongs captain was literally a tagger. During his peak ablett was tagged nearly every week by the likes of kane cornes, clint jones/baker from the saints, ryan crowley from the dockers, brady rawlings at north etc. Im pretty sure the crows had a tagger they used to bring into the team solely to play on ablett. Pies may of been the exception. Not the rule.
Aaron Joseph went to GAJ every time we played the Cats.

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

That is without doubt the most ill-informed and nuffie post I have seen on Bigfooty - and the bar is pretty low.

You've made an absolute goose of yourself trying to do mental gymnastics to make a point that is clearly wrong.

Delete your account and come back under another name - there is no coming back from this stupidity.

i reckon you could make a case GAJ was the most heavily tagged player of all time

Yep, in his prime the discussion every time we played Geelong or Gold Coast was "how the hell can we curb Ablett's influence". It wasn't even a question of stopping him, just a question of if we could somehow make it so he wasn't insanely damaging.

Player Watch Nick Daicos - Can he be the GOAT?