Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle

Appear to have given Shuey a heavy HFF rotation and letting others have more mid minutes. I think his game shows how hard that role actually is.

Part of me also wonders how much of the focus is on getting a gameplan that is right for next year/new oval etc.

+ Jetta is really clean when picking the ball up from the deck on the move. Good skill to have.

+ Brad Sheppard's defense was really under-rated by most media types. Killed contests and provided rebound run, then made good decisions. Is doing the things we wish the taller Barrass was doing.

+ Jax is great to watch when he goes hard and fast. He might not be the perfect settled disposer of the ball, but he makes other player's games easier by getting to contests.

+ JD took a pack mark.

- LeCras burnt JK in space to kick to said pack.

- Supposed endurance runners not linking up play. One of our boys takes a mark on the HBF, and the next play is the guy up the line but it's long, and the bloke manning the mark is Schofield levels of enthusiastic and making the kick difficult. The easy play is the handball to the guy running inside, but he's a) 20m away so the handball isn't easy, and b) not even looking at the guy with the ball.

- Could be a reason why said link plays don't happen, so often we burn the first quick option, only to kick it to contest further up the ground.

- Duggan's mo.

= It looks like the MC has confidence in Barrass, which is great. The young bloke will probably click one day and turn into a brilliant defender that compliments Turbo. Until that happens I think Schoey is better choice than either Wellingham or Mackenzie to compliment that duo as he's more agile than Ezy, has the spoil first mentality, and actually has that little bit of dickhead in him to get into the opposition.

= Petrie is not the saviour. But because he makes life easier for JD, it's an indication as to what is needed in our forward line if we are to challenge rather than re-build. The bloke is also intelligent enough to know when to trundle back to the defensive 50 and play a loose man for a minute.

Man Freo are shit. Only Brisbane have won less games in 2016/17.

Still, always nice to have a win. Even though we were pretty average.

Liam Duggan the big positive. He's such a dreamboat.

They dominated the clearances and i50, just kicked poorly, that says a lot more about us than Freo. We still deserved to win though, little bit more polish and skill.

I was out yesterday arvo.

giphy.gif

- my sis asked me if I was gay after liking the FB group "Liam Duggan: Perth hottest single.

+If he produces this sort of performance week in week out for the rest of his career, I might actually turn gay for him.

Two things for mine:

- Really feel like Duggan arrived for realsies yesterday, which is great. He looks self-assured everywhere other than in front of goal, and his body seems to be strong enough to let him take the contest head-on. Great news for him and the club at large.

- If we play like that against basically any other team, we will lose. That was 90% abysmal. Probably the worst game of footy I've seen all year.

A win is a win , and don't want to lose anytime to the purple. But a sobering thought, if they had kicked straight, both at goals and and around the ground, we may have lost to a bunch of young kids and some spuds at the end of their career. We will be like them soon, hurts me to say that, but that is the reality. We keep having to pick out of form players ie: Cripps and Masten, plus guys who's time is up Priddis and Le Cras because our MC is deluded in thinking we are still in this season, and refuse to play kids, who we hope are going to be something decent. I just hope the kids coming through are the players we want them and need them to be, otherwise we are going to suck for a long time.

+
Duggan- getting better each week, getting good game time helps, but he also shows a bit of mongrel out there.

Darling- Performing to the exact level that he can, this is the best we are going to get out of him, he has reached his ceiling IMO , and hopefully he keeps going like this each week.

Hutchings - Turning into a good stopper, guarantees his spot each week for a while now.

Backline- How many times each game to they save our asses when the other teams are streaming forward because our high speed mids :D cannot keep up is amazing.

JK- Good to have him back although he looked a little rusty at times

-
Our MC have no balls to bite the bullet and make serious changes, rather than token ones each week, watch Wellingham come in for Masten next week.

We possibly could have lost to the mob down the road, think about that for a minute.

= Petrie is not the saviour. But because he makes life easier for JD, it's an indication as to what is needed in our forward line if we are to challenge rather than re-build. The bloke is also intelligent enough to know when to trundle back to the defensive 50 and play a loose man for a minute.

Good post.

Petrie isn't the saviour, we all know that- but his footy smarts compliment us very well- he provides a strong contest so even if he doesn't mark the ball he won't get outmarked very often.

The mark he took in freo's goal square in the 3rd (when Stephen hill actually had one on line) is an example of that- he reads the play very well and runs to the right position.

He is perfect cover for both our ruck and forward lines. I see vardy playing that role next year- but would not be unhappy with Petrie given another year on the rookie list.

Ok I'm sober today, and Duggo making Fyfe his bitch is still my favourite moment of the game.

Freo are like a carbon copy of us from the 2008-2010 era under Woosha. All about grunt and hard work but have shithouse skills and lack the class which means they don't get much reward for effort on a consistent basis.

If they had a competent forward line they would have probably snatch it yesterday.

+ Marsden seemed even more clueless than usual yesterday. Whenever he got it, he looked wide eyed like he forgot why he was there. (For the record, none of us know)

+ Duggan on the other hand looked like a strong, svelte unit. And confident in everything he did (similar to FIGJAM Elliot in that regard)

- Priddis was toilet.
- Sexy Vardy played his quietest game for some time.
- JK failed to kick a bag when he had a real opportunity against a shit defense, midfield let him down :snowboarder:

Simple story, really. Backline set up 4.3.27 from intercepts, whilst we lost the clearances by 12 and I50s by 11. We moved the ball well at times (particularly in the 1st) and were efficient going inside 50, in what was a pretty scrappy affair. Hurn BOG.

+
McGovern, Hurn, Duggan and Sheppard really stood out, controlling the tempo of the match.
Mitchell probably our best mid, with Redden, Shuey, Sheed and Priddis contributing. Despite their good numbers, it was clear we lost in this area and Simpson discussed the issue after the game.
Kennedy gave us better structure up forward, and Darling was in good nick. Our forwards worked hard and took most of their chances.
Cripps provided vital pressure, despite a couple of frustrating turnovers.
Hutch keeping Walters down.
Fremantle's accuracy.

Petrie, Barrass, Schoey, Vardy, LeCras, Gaff, Jetta (needs to find more of it, and kicking was a little off).

-
Nelson falling over (just needs to stay on the park).
Priddis falling over.
Getting smashed through the middle once Fremantle got the ball out, and losing the clearances. I see why the MC finds it so hard to drop an elderly Priddis. Would like another chance to see our team without him, with Redden approaching form.
Getting stuck working it around the boundary. We need another linebreaker from HB, and a big-bodied mid; where will we play Yeo?
Masto. Sorry mate.

Not much else to say. Next week is another chance to build some form, let's hope we turn up.

With 5 minutes to go he took a mark. Stopped. Did the old "calm the **** down" gesture with his hands. Ended up kicking it backwards and set off a minute of tempo footy... god I wish we could transplant his brain into a dozen or so of his team mates.

+Failmante lost a game of football....
+JK playe ok, 3goal game in his first game back
+WC Backline is our strength

-Masto and pridda played
-did not smash freo by more

Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle