Autopsy Roast Toast & Changes for Round 4 Gather round vs St Kilda.

Best performing players v Sydney

• T. Young

Votes: 1 0.4%
  • N. Broad

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • N. Vlastuin

Votes: 215 96.0%
  • J. Short

• T. Brown

Votes: 7 3.1%
  • D. Rioli

Votes: 123 54.9%
  • K. McIntosh

Votes: 4 1.8%
  • T. Taranto

Votes: 139 62.1%
  • M. Pickett

Votes: 28 12.5%
  • S. Campbell

Votes: 50 22.3%
  • R. Mansell

Votes: 80 35.7%
  • M. Rioli

Votes: 58 25.9%
  • N. Balta

• S. Bolton

Votes: 115 51.3%
  • T. Lynch

Votes: 64 28.6%
  • T. Nankervis

Votes: 14 6.3%
  • J. Ross

Votes: 9 4.0%
  • L. Baker

Votes: 71 31.7%
  • T. Sonsie

Votes: 3 1.3%
  • T. Dow

Votes: 5 2.2%
  • S. Banks (sub)

• B. Miller

Votes: 27 12.1%
  • M. Lefau

Votes: 3 1.3%

At a guess ... from the way he landed ... bone bruise in the knee ... can see him miss the next two then with the bye after West Coast he gets three weeks rest and back for Melbourne

If it’s any consolation he didn’t have any strapping on his thigh and wasn’t wearing any kind of brace on his knee.

I never realised his calves are so skinny

It’s a living certainty that cretin Chrisso will make it ‘medium’ impact, under the magical little clause of ‘potential to cause injury’.

If he does then it’ll show how corrupt this league is after the ex-Pie lets off Pendles with ‘low’ and nails Baker with ‘medium’.

Chrisso can’t wait to tick the boxes to ensure the Tigers don’t get back to back wins…. bookmark it, he’s a cheat.

Considering what Windhager was given a week for Baker will get at least the same

I see lots of players getting a coffee or a feed 24 hours after a game. They don’t usually look as banged up as Lynchy did.

Just passing it on, make of it what you will.
Considering how hard we worked yesterday he won't be the only one hobbling around. Pretty sure we worked harder than we have in the last 3 years in that last game.

How was he limping around if you don't mind me asking. Was he able to move at around without a stiff leg or was it more just looking uncomfortable?

Considering how hard we worked yesterday he won't be the only one hobbling around. Pretty sure we worked harder than we have in the last 3 years in that last game.

How was he limping around if you don't mind me asking. Was he able to move at around without a stiff leg or was it more just looking uncomfortable?

Stiff leg, barely weight bearing, had trouble getting in to his big Ute.

It’s a living certainty that cretin Chrisso will make it ‘medium’ impact, under the magical little clause of ‘potential to cause injury’.

If he does then it’ll show how corrupt this league is after the ex-Pie lets off Pendles with ‘low’ and nails Baker with ‘medium’.

Chrisso can’t wait to tick the boxes to ensure the Tigers don’t get back to back wins…. bookmark it, he’s a cheat.

Get a feeling that they are now going to rank jumping now as "Intentional" when you make contact high. If King and Windhager both got 1 week then Baker will get 2 with 1 for an early plea.

At a guess ... from the way he landed ... bone bruise in the knee ... can see him miss the next two then with the bye after West Coast he gets three weeks rest and back for Melbourne
Fingers crossed that’s what we are dealing with
Would be a concern if he’s copped a soft tissue injury

When he spoke about it post game he did say it did feel different to what it felt like when he’s done a hammy in the past so adds a little bit more to your educated guess

What did Naismith kick in the seconds yesterday - 2 or 3 - after potting goal of the round on the run from 50, the week before, against the Bears ... has form ... and if Balta is sore ... not having him have to play second ruck ... would be a smart move
He can kick them when he's rucking but Naism did get chucked fwd round zero and looked a bit lost as a KPF. Half a game sample. Ryan is better at KPF in the VFL.
Coin toss.

Get a feeling that they are now going to rank jumping now as "Intentional" when you make contact high. If King and Windhager both got 1 week then Baker will get 2 with 1 for an early plea.
Yeah, I don’t really agree with it because in my eyes Baker didn’t do anything “wrong” but I also understand that’s just how these incidents are going to be looked at going forward

Stiff leg, barely weight bearing, had trouble getting in to his big Ute.
Yeah, that is not great from our point of view. He needs to take a week off and not travel to Adelaide. Wouldn't want to risk him on an SNAFL ground that isn't as well maintained like Adelaide oval.

Yeah, I don’t really agree with it because in my eyes Baker didn’t do anything “wrong” but I also understand that’s just how these incidents are going to be looked at going forward
Jumped then right at the last MS he braced. Bracing is the same as downright killing a bloke now in AFL and you just cant do it. If he hit the Sydney player with his arm still out to spoil the ball then he would never be cited.

Yeah, that is not great from our point of view. He needs to take a week off and not travel to Adelaide. Wouldn't want to risk him on an SNAFL ground that isn't as well maintained like Adelaide oval.
Week after we have west coast at Optus, probably keep him out for that game as well
That takes us until the bye so he should be ready to go for ANZAC eve

I’ve seen him a few times, pretty sure he lives in the area.

To add a bit more info, it’s the first time I’ve seen him in his car to get coffee and not just walking.

I’ve seen him a few times, pretty sure he lives in the area.

To add a bit more info, it’s the first time I’ve seen him in his car to get coffee and not just walking.
Cheers for the info. I have never done a hammy as my specialty was snapping ACLs on the footy field after weakening them on the ski slopes so I am not too sure what the symptoms should look like. If he hurt his knee and was stiff walking I would feel a lot better.

I imagine the fact that he can't walk is not a great sign and he is probably going in for a scan.

Most impressive thing from me today was just the effective adjustments from last week.

They used the Balta-Lynch-LeFau-Nankervis rotation correctly (almost having a continuous rotation amongst themselves). LeFau seemed less lost on the back of this, and probably a simpler role.

The stoppage structure continues to improve. Still not where it would like to be but less and less clean ball to the opposition out the front of the stoppage.

Improved ball movement from the back half was also noteable. Whether it was on the back of Sydney specifically I guess we will see next week. But went long down the line later with chipping the ball around and actively looking for a switch or moving the ball back to the corridor.

Tactically also very good; starting our press from the forward half about 15m back than usual allowing the first 25m kick to the boundary. Then the structure and discipline (for the most part) to stay in the structure and pin Sydney to one side. Three goals came from a Roberts attempted switch, and two from Blakey trying to create through the middle.

From an individual player perspective obviously Vlastuin was immense, as was Taranto. MRJ has been spoken about; take the good with the bad but if you’re going to build your base around pressure, MRJ has to be in the side.

Really impressed with Miller, for those only watching on TV it may have been hard to pick just how early Miller was picking up the drop of the ball.

Also shoutout to Sonsie. Got dropped last year for some real poor efforts, but really cracked in I thought. Only 9 possessions but used the ball well, and had 14 pressure acts.

Mansell another huge game, best for the club; certainly as a pressure forward. Six tackles, 16 pressure acts and ball use was as good as I’ve seen from him.

Seth Campbell is quickly becoming a star.

A lot of talk on Tom Brown’s future role; but his ball use, vision and decision making are elite. Need to find a way to get it into his hands more often. I see him more as a Short replacement than as a Broad replacement.

Proposed ins are difficult. I’d hope that match committee reward that performance, although if Lynch is out it may be difficult structurally.

INS: Martin, Ryan
OUTS: Lynch, Banks. Sonsie as sub.

If Baker gets suspended; Banks stays in and is the sub.

Can't be nothing but proud of the group, when you look at the senior experience we've had missing over the past few weeks. Grimes/Prestia/Hopper/Martin all coming out and beating Sydney especially in close is no easy feat albeit on the G.

What I like about Yze is he doesn't seem to be the type of coach to bring in a kid and drop them immediately. He's given Dow a consistent run at it and I think that faith was repaid yesterday. Soft hands in close, whilst not being the best kick, he's quick and gets around the ground well. That's the level he needs to be at every week though.

Sonsie only had 9 touches but it felt like he was involved a lot more. He has a touch of class about him . I think a few more preseasons in the gym he could become handy on the inside too.

Miller/Young both showed they can hold the key defensive posts for seasons to come. Miller especially rarely gets beaten 1 on 1, no fuss sort of defender and Young is similar. I'm not sure the club want both to be regular when they are similar in terms of the way they defend but the stocks are good.

Baker will be a huge loss if he goes to Perth next season. You only realise how valuable he is when you look at where he pops up in crucial times and he's become a regular goal kicker. One of the most versatile players we've ever had I reckon. He's worth a 1st rounder but will be a considerable loss he decides to leave.

On the Swans - their game style stacks up well at the SCG, where they cut they cut the angles and move the ball with precision. Watching them against Essendon last week I thought we would be in huge trouble. Whilst their not as great in Melbourne, It's a credit to the coaching group that we were able to execute a style which limited their impact. Mind you they destroyed the Pies here only a few weeks ago.

Great that he kicked 2 goals, but when our number 1 key forward goes out, I'm not sure Balta & a 3rd gamer is the answer to come up a decent Saints key defensive duo in Cordy and Wilkie. Maybe Lefau stays and Banks gets omitted but it's clear we'll need 2 key forwards who can play at a consistent level across 4 quarters, rather than flash in and out as Lefau currently does.
did you see kosi in twos? he looked like bob hope playing american football

Most impressive thing from me today was just the effective adjustments from last week.

They used the Balta-Lynch-LeFau-Nankervis rotation correctly (almost having a continuous rotation amongst themselves). LeFau seemed less lost on the back of this, and probably a simpler role.

The stoppage structure continues to improve. Still not where it would like to be but less and less clean ball to the opposition out the front of the stoppage.

Improved ball movement from the back half was also noteable. Whether it was on the back of Sydney specifically I guess we will see next week. But went long down the line later with chipping the ball around and actively looking for a switch or moving the ball back to the corridor.

Tactically also very good; starting our press from the forward half about 15m back than usual allowing the first 25m kick to the boundary. Then the structure and discipline (for the most part) to stay in the structure and pin Sydney to one side. Three goals came from a Roberts attempted switch, and two from Blakey trying to create through the middle.

From an individual player perspective obviously Vlastuin was immense, as was Taranto. MRJ has been spoken about; take the good with the bad but if you’re going to build your base around pressure, MRJ has to be in the side.

Really impressed with Miller, for those only watching on TV it may have been hard to pick just how early Miller was picking up the drop of the ball.

Also shoutout to Sonsie. Got dropped last year for some real poor efforts, but really cracked in I thought. Only 9 possessions but used the ball well, and had 14 pressure acts.

Mansell another huge game, best for the club; certainly as a pressure forward. Six tackles, 16 pressure acts and ball use was as good as I’ve seen from him.

Seth Campbell is quickly becoming a star.

A lot of talk on Tom Brown’s future role; but his ball use, vision and decision making are elite. Need to find a way to get it into his hands more often. I see him more as a Short replacement than as a Broad replacement.

Proposed ins are difficult. I’d hope that match committee reward that performance, although if Lynch is out it may be difficult structurally.

INS: Martin, Ryan
OUTS: Lynch, Banks. Sonsie as sub.

If Baker gets suspended; Banks stays in and is the sub.
I think our Midfield rotations is starting to get better and the Clearances are starting to get closer and closer to parity. I have a feeling that McAulilife could come in if Bakes is suspended and then we rotate Tarranto more through the forward line in the first half then have him more mid in the second half when McAullife starts to tire

did you see kosi in twos? he looked like bob hope playing american football
Yes I did, as I was there. Better conversion and he kicks 3-4 and people probably have a different opinion of his game.

I did at the end too. Been a bit going on around our performances lately and I was worried Yze was going to get unfair pressure, so very happy for him.

I’ve also had belief in our squad which has had its growth stunted in recent years. So pleased for them given how so many have been writing them off.

Out of ignorance and schadenfreude mostly. The future must be bright - look at how the twos are going.
Agree. Our 2’s are a great gauge of the health of our list. Were dominant prior to our golden era kicking off in 2017.

Autopsy Roast Toast & Changes for Round 4 Gather round vs St Kilda.