Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS, Rd 3 2019, & changes for Port

Best players vs GWS

I saw Dimma interviewed some time ago and he mentioned that last year we started well and ran out of legs to early.Perhaps our recent form is due to holding the boys back a bit...We have had a fantastic run winning premiership 2017 finishing top of the ladder last year...The boys will come good, loving Balta and Stack new spots opening up now time for new blood.

Postives
- The Stackman is a dead-set superstar in the making. I don't think he lost a contest and to boot kicked a goal and barely missed a target. Wow. What a find this kid is at just 18! Really encouraged and the match committee need a massive wrap for this call. Good on 'im. He shouldn't miss a game for quite a while. Love that Dimma got around him and he responded. Good sign for our club.
- Prestia and Lambert lifted which was good considering both have had poor starts (more on Dion though later...). Lambert especially impressed as he just went after it all day despite our lack of being good for a lot of the game. Can hold his head high.
- Macca has come along in leaps and bounds this year, has a crack and is a pretty classy footballer now. I trust him in one-on-ones as much as Shedda (OK not that much) and he doesn't butcher the footy (hear that, Brandon??).
- Shedda can't be tackled (well, almost). He's slippery. Like what he's doing so far. Looks a class above in all contests and wins plenty of hard ball. Also rarely butchers the footy (Brandon) and will win 80% of in-close contests on his own arse. Gun!
- Nank worked his guts out again against Mumford, looked knackered at times but can't fault the big fella's effort.
- Lynch looks to be getting better and better. Really good hands, crashes packs, kicks straight!! Class. Didn't give up, should've had 5 on his own work. Really happy with him.
- Snags Rioli worked immensely hard for his 3 goals and copped a huge hit - that looked broken ribs/punctured lung but Dan was up and working again quickly. Play him in the forward half all the time please Damien, our best small by far. Looked the goods.
- Actually liked Vlas, Broad for majority of game, battled hard, ran hard, took marks, laid tackles. Vlas in particular made me pleased. Garthy and Balta will be better for the run but weren't awful, did look underdone but they get a pass.
- Cotch was good again as usual, throws himself into anything.

Negatives
- Castagna and Butler have not just gone backwards; its far worse. Get this; Butler, small forward, pressure-applying, fleet-footed Dan Butler, did not lay one tackle. Not one. Castagna had 3 but his disposal was atrocious. More positive on Jase as he's coming back from injury but Daniel, Daniel, Daniel. I cannot see a world in which he is not dropped. Honestly I was appalled at his performance. Mouth agape, spitting-tea-from-face, The Shining-esque screaming in the bathroom stuff. Daniel. Buddy.
- Brandon Ellis, mate! Hit! A! Target! He tries, he runs, he gets to spots but he just cannot be in our side if we want to be in the top 4. Butchers the footy and I'm really sorry to say it, but it may be career for the young fella.
- Aaaaand while I'm on missed targets, Dion!!!! 20m, stationary, over the head!!! W T F mate. He really worked hard I'll give him that, got the footy but sheeeeezus Dion you've got to hit a bloke when he's standing by himself.
- Oleg Markov was up and down and up and down and then down, down, down, down. Play him on the wing or not at all as his defensive game wasn't there tonight. When he was at the contest he was serviceable but again butchers it.
- Martin was disinterested after being tagged and then moped for the rest of the game. Body language and effort reveal plentiful amounts at this stage. I had him worse than Ellis. Brandon at least tried and failed. Dustin did not try and failed regardless.
- Astbury was given a comprehensive bath, towelled up and then tucked into bed and read a nice bed-time story but Cameron. The bloke had a bung shoulder and still kicked 7.
- On our defense, geez it was shit. Mids and (some) forwards improved on last week but without Grimes we are rudderless. I still stand by my hypothesis that Grimes is a bigger structural cog than Rancey, despite my massive man-crush on the latter.
- Our Jacks weren't bad but just blurghhhh. Big ol' pile of meh from both Jack Graham (That Is) and Snags. Both worked hard but didn't do a whole lot to impact the contest. This is harsh on Snags as he did some good things but I'm not happy atm.
- Short elbow, Cotch hammy, faaark give us a spell.

Outs have to start with Butler. Short and (maybe, please no) Cotch injured are out. Martin out suspended (but I want him out anyway that was shithouse). Ellis out to learn to kick. Castagna and Markov if their feeling thirsty.
Ins, Caddy, Grimes, Houli thank **** for you three. Ross in for Trent's hammy or Dusty's dumbarse-ness. Bolton for Butler. Naish if we lose both Dust and Trent or want to drop Markov/Castagna. **** Lloydy and Snip would be handy right about now.

Realistically:
Out: Short (elbow), Cotchin (hamstring), Martin (susp), Butler (omitted), Ellis (omitted).
In: Grimes, Ross, Caddy, Bolton, Houli.

So:
B: Grimes, Astbury, Vlastuin
HB: Broad, Garthwaite, Houli
C: McIntosh, Prestia, Stack
HF: Caddy, Balta, Higgins
FF: Bolton, Lynch, Rioli
Foll: Nankervis, Lambert, Edwards
Int: Graham, Markov, Ross, Castagna.
EMG: Naish, Soldo, Weller, Chol

******* ouch.
Cameron didn't kick 7 on Astbury. Half of those were on Garth. But you must remember when their mids run amok, and that Cameron his probably the fastest fwd in the comp, then it isn't surprising he kicked a few.

Ellis out for houli too
Great post RT, agree with balta and the 19 games to develop him as
Long term rance replacement, balta is lost when p playing fwd.and once jack gets back, there won't be a need for him to play fwd
Garth is not match fit,, needs 5-6 game's in the 2s to get back to full fitness
Butler and George both need to go back as well, , Bolton and baker
Need to come in , both are capable of duel roles, fwd and mid,,,,
And Ellis, permanent place in the 2s
Love Syd stack

No use playing dusty forward if keep bombing it in, overhead pack marking isn't in his skill set. I'd try Dustin behind the ball, with short down and houli a while to go, his creativity would go a long way to getting our sling shot rebound game back on
We have to start leading as fwds for the ball carier to see, instead of just bombing the ball high.

Martin should have gone to Coniglio or Taranto

saying lol doesnt make you right.

If dusty is playing shit like he has been for ages give him a job to do

debore wont set up five goals cause he is shit. there would also be a free richmond player in your scenario
The coaches did that with Lids all the time. The problem is, it just isn't in the dusty's makeup to be defensive, tackle etc like Lids could do.

The smartest move the club could make right now is earmark our best 5 juniors and get them into the senior side quick smart. We have some bloody ordinary players that have been further exposed with our A graders either absent or below par, if the brains trust don’t realise this the. I’d be worried , very worried . At least over next month we can salvage something by exposing our elite junior talent to senior footy , stack ain’t the only one

WCE are a vastly superior team to Richmond at the moment

The key with the change to6 6 6 is having a decent defence.

Melbourne and Richmond getting slaughtered when the ball comes back.

Game has changed we haven’t

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yet in the first qtr of 666 played this year our almost full strength defence gave up 1 point.... yep injuries have nothing to do with it. Seriously though losing our general in Rance was going to create havoc. The other injuries just compound this. It’s going to be a crappy next month. Hopefully we can snatch a win or 2.
Remember Sydney were 0-6 in 2017 and we pushing top 4 at the end of that season. There’s a long road ahead, and 666 ain’t going anywhere especially while Geelong keep winning.

Really puts into perspective what absolute megastars Rance and Grimes have been for us, especially in the past two years
Rance wasn’t 5 x AA for nothing . What he does is when he sees a loose ball bobbing about he goes ****en chargeeeeee and Generally either wins it or at worst squares it . Garth would wait back minding his man and move when he was lead to the ball , a mega difference , rance is no ordinary defender he’s extraordinary

Once in a life time type player is Rance .

Garth looked rather slow against Cameron. Allowed a LOT of space to be opened up in a really short sprint time. If Balta can become 3/4 as disciplined as Garth he'll be selected first everytime.

Doubt we'll have any/many omissions. That said, Ellis is getting worse in his decision making. Would be nowhere near it if it wasn't for our injuries.

In: Grimes, Houli, Caddy, Ross
Out: Short, Martin, Cotchin, Butler

Gee it would be nice to drop in some experienced players like Lloyd, Conca and Miles rather than having 3-4x players under 5 games.

Dunno Houli can get over the hammy within three weeks with his flight to NZ couple of days after doin it.
We can probably expect Cotch to miss three.
If Dusty goes Caddy plays his role
Ross for Cotch
Bolton for Short but Shedda back flanker and Bolton runs forward from centre.
Naish for Ellis on a flank and Markov to be the hit up coming out of the back half.
Grimes for Garth
We haven’t played well at AO last couple of years.
Need a big game from Nank vs Ryder
Shedda Captain

Garth looked rather slow against Cameron. Allowed a LOT of space to be opened up in a really short sprint time. If Balta can become 3/4 as disciplined as Garth he'll be selected first everytime.

Doubt we'll have any/many omissions. That said, Ellis is getting worse in his decision making. Would be nowhere near it if it wasn't for our injuries.

In: Grimes, Houli, Caddy, Ross
Out: Short, Martin, Cotchin, Butler

Gee it would be nice to drop in some experienced players like Lloyd, Conca and Miles rather than having 3-4x players under 5 games.
Yea I’d persevere with Balta first too , he ll learn a lot along the way

And whose fault is it that our depth is shit. Certainly not Jackson's, he recruited all our best players.

Maybe it wasn't Jackson that was the problem, it was coach and conditioning, which is o my evident after a few years.
****ing oath our depth being shit is Jacksons fault. The majority of our depth who is older 20 have been recruited in.
Would you like to revisit how many first picks he ****ed up, including those we recently got rid of despite being well and truly at an age they should be in the prime. Lennon, conca , CEllis

******* oath our depth being shit is Jacksons fault. The majority of our depth who is older 20 have been recruited in.
Nothing wrong with our depth , we been playing ordinary players , u don’t win vfl games every week and say depth no good , makes no sense whatsoever . Who has better depth , name their players at vfl ?

People are missing the point of getting rid of Lloyd and Miles. Those two guys would be in our best 22 right now, due to injuries, but they will NEVER be best 22 while we have a full list. They were getting spots ahead of youth like Ross and Stack, who have the potential to actually be in our best 22 all the time. There's no point keeping players whose only purpose is to help you tread water when things are going bad.

Well we did

Did you expect them to all jump in and be Brownlow medalists in their first season?
This thread is about who we can bring into increase the depth of our midfield for this year. Recruiting 2 or 3 kids this year does not do that and claiming that it has increased our depth as many have is farcical.

Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS, Rd 3 2019, & changes for Port