Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS, Rd 3 2019, & changes for Port

Best players vs GWS

Unfortunately haven’t been to a game this season due to work but have watched them all. Honestly think we lack hunger and intensity. We are getting into good spots but butchering possession. We are allowing far to much space when the ball transitions from our F50. A few players need to grit the teeth and do some ugly stuff to help change the rut they’re in.
Changes for next week
OUTS: Short (Inj)
Castagna/Butler (one needs to be dropped both create great play but don’t do enough and are making big mistakes)
Ellis (needs confidence and fast won’t bad mouth him but Jesus mate your possession by foot and hand is terrible)
Graham (really slow start believe he’s a better run with player clearly hasn’t been given a role and can’t find the footy.
INS: Houli (I hope he’s ready)
Caddy (will add some forward and on ball smarts)
Ross (debut done enough in VFL and had 10 tackles)
Grimes (missed him badly)
I know we have injuries but that can’t be our excuse.

The problems are a lot more than just no Rance and Riewoldt. Pretty much everyone is severely out of form. Prestia, Ellis, Castagna and Buttler were shocking. Everyone in the team seems to be missing easy targets that they were hitting in 2017 and 18, and that was an issue that was visible in the JLT so nothing to do with the injuries. The pressure just isn't at the level it used to be at either. I think we have to admit that this acutally isn't a talented side but was successful due to a handful of elite players, a good system and a team that worked extremely hard. The midfield is also a massive joke at the moment, Dusty has shown a weakness against the tag and is now going to be copping a hard tag every week.

Ffs you lot
We have our best players going down left and right
We lack a bit of polish
We were playing against one of the best teams in the league
We were in the game until really late despite kicking ourselves out of it.
Annoying that we threw it in late but geez once the side starts to settle we are GOING to be good again.
in reality what we are seeing is we usdd to have the talent to overcome incredibly biased umpiring and right now we dont.

GWS over there is very tough, when 4 out of your back 6 are down it's nearly impossible, some players skill level just needs to improve.

Was always going to be a tough start to the season, it's 22 games for a reason.

Genuinely feel like there wasn’t a lack of effort tonight. Skill errors in crucial moments cost us the game. We were right in it until the end. Slot in quality players and a wealth of experience like Reiwoldt, Caddy, Grimes, Houli, Grigg and Short and we win this game tonight.

While the outs hurt that's making exuses we haven't look right from preseason those skill errors and kicking are basic stuff non negotiable.Our game plan is not stacking up either or we can't execute it no more.

The forward line is horribly out of form and Astbury and Garthwaite both too slow together.

Out Markov, Butler, Castagna, Ellis, Short (inj), Garthwaite
In Houli, Bolton, Caddy, Ross, Naish, Grimes
Fair dinkum he’s More of lumbering dinosaur than Adam Pattinson was
Made Cameron look like Usain bolt on that goal where he Ran off him

Feels a bit shit doesn't it...

Don't know what has happened to Dusty and Lambert but the drop off in form from the last two seasons in all 3 games this year has been massive.

But there are a whole stack of positives though ... A load of young guys showing that the future isn't too bad at all... Rioli, Higgins, Graham, Balta, Garthwaite and Stack all showed quite a bit when you consider we have what 6-7 best 22 out against a team that's considered top 4 material and always going to be favoured by the umpires on their home patch.

Plus Lynch is starting to develop some fitness/form...we're getting 3-4 goals a game from him whilst he's still a long way off peak performance.

On POT-LX1 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Graham was shite
Dropped some easy marks that led to goals the other way

Most talented team?????
They must be how do you explain a player with one hand kicking 7 goals I mean that is talent in its self. In all seriousness, they looked quite crappy to me it just goes to show how bad we were.

Lambert tried hard.
What is insane is that GWS had only three more inside-50s, 58 to 55.
Our midfielders are working hard to achieve supply.
Some of the smaller forwards must face demotion.
Allowing Whitfield 42 disposals is insane too.
The kicking into our forward 50 was the worst part of our game today. We rarely could hit a target and even when we brought the ball to the ground the smalls weren't able to crumb or apply pressure

Garth clearly isn't fully fit. I'm not gonna judge him on that game. Balta got torched by Cameron as well in the last but he looked absolutely stuffed.
Garth and Balta are different types of players anyway, Garth looks like a pure stopper while Balta is more of the type we need atm

or martins team mates to crack in and try and hurt deboar

And this what shits me the most about Ellis' game. He had an opportunity to bury De Boer over the boundary line I think in the third. Instead he basically arse cradled him over the line to make sure he didn't hurt him.

The guy has been humping and scragging our best player all day and you basically caress him over the line when he's holding the ball.

You're not a team player, or contributing to a team culture of protecting one another. I've been a fan in the past, but you offer too little for a senior player.

Nank on the other hand buried the little campaigner in a great tackle without giving away a free. More of those please.

its hard to break a tag like that from a little rat

why isnt the moron coach instructing martin to tag someone good from the other team and / or martins team mates to crack in and try and hurt deboar
Moron coach?
FK me doesn't take long.

stoked with stacky ..thought he was great. we need to play ross and rcd and blood them as quick as possible...unfortunately dimma will go into self preservation mode and think that bellis is our best option🤯🤪

I think the effort was there, but the skill execution was very poor for this level. Again, our mids were dominated. Cotchin and Martin were very poor by their standards. Prestia's foot disposal was U10's standard. Graham was just as bad. Only Lambert and Edwards were effective in the midfield. That puts pressure on the defense, which is already decimated. Too many passengers, and it is time the riot act was read to Ellis, Butler, Castagna and Graham. You may have premiership medallions, but if you want to coast around basking in former glories, then step aside for someone who wants it.

Tom Lynch can only get better, and Sydney Stack's debut was enormous.

I think the coaches need to evolve and stop thinking we can play the "Richmond way" of 2017. We have been found out. How Whitfield can run around gathering possessions at will like this afternoon without a tag is negligent. No respect to the opposition at all. While their dirty tagger does the job on Dusty. Midfield coaching / setup and form has been pathetic this year.

Out - Ellis, Markov, Butler, Castagna, Graham (omit) and Short (Inj)
In - Houli, Grimes, Caddy, Baker, Bolton and Naish

Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS, Rd 3 2019, & changes for Port