Prediction Round 2, 2023: Changes vs GWS

Dunno what's happened there, the photos in the West looked kinda worrying. Maybe it was McGovern being his usual drama queen. (Usually it's the arm/shoulder hanging limply)

If Rhino has seen Gov and said "Allright mate?" and he's replied "Yeah no worries" then it could be a bit false bravado.

So after watching the beagles game only 1 player (Hough) did enough to earn a promotion?

No, two of them did, potentially 3 in SPS but it was at a lot lower pace than AFL and I as stated was working on the assumption that everyone was fit and available and only had 1 spot for a defender.

I think Cole deserves more than 1 game before being dropped and don't think the club would drop Duggan or Hurn off of their performances on Saturday.

But hey, if a WAFL practice match isn't enough to sway the match committee to make more than my already large suggestion of 5 changes including dropping a senior player and playing a different midfield structure then **** knows what sort of extravagance i'm supposed to suggest.

What I would like to see for the rest of the year.

4 qtr effort. Matched midfield numbers at the fall of the ball. Not outnumbered on the spread from a contest.

Achieve all that and I don't care if we get flogged by 100 points.

And if the players can't achieve this, then tuen them over as quickly as possible.

No, two of them did, potentially 3 in SPS but it was at a lot lower pace than AFL and I as stated was working on the assumption that everyone was fit and available and only had 1 spot for a defender.

I think Cole deserves more than 1 game before being dropped and don't think the club would drop Duggan or Hurn off of their performances on Saturday.

But hey, if a WAFL practice match isn't enough to sway the match committee to make more than my already large suggestion of 5 changes including dropping a senior player and playing a different midfield structure then * knows what sort of extravagance i'm supposed to suggest.
You went to the WAFL practice match didn’t you Phil? Weren’t you going to post a report on the game? Maybe I missed it.

GWS be missing this week

Josh Kelly
Lachie Whitfield
Harry Perryman

Some big names there

Look forward to the lesser names filling their boots against Rest Coast

GWS be missing this week

Josh Kelly
Lachie Whitfield
Harry Perryman

Some big names there

Look forward to the lesser names filling their boots against Rest Coast

They didn’t mention Hayes at all. Wonder if it was just cramp or if they’re taking a leaf out of our book.

But hey, if a WAFL practice match isn't enough to sway the match committee to make more than my already large suggestion of 5 changes including dropping a senior player and playing a different midfield structure then * knows what sort of extravagance i'm supposed to suggest.
I would like to hear more about the WAFL game. Cadman kicked 6 in a VFL practice game. I wonder if thats enough to get him an upgrade?

you're wrong season 4 GIF by Black Sails

Its the tackles that we miss or don't even attempt that hurt us. I.e. Shuey deciding to shirtfront instead of tackle = north quickly transition to a goal

I’d be happier if lost the tackle count but won contested possessions - meant we’re first to the ball.

Tackling is for people who cannot get the ball.

When did we last win contested possessions?

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I’d be happier if lost the tackle count but won contested possessions - meant we’re first to the ball.

When our fastest players comes on as a superrrrsub for well over a qtr and finishes with one touch... we either have a pace or a desire problem. Safe bet its both.

Good point yet people froth over the tackle count, for some reason.

I mean, we got flogged by Richmond last year having around 100 tackles. just means you're second to the ball in most cases.

having a high tackle count is really inly worth it when you also have higher contested possessions also.

Does anyone think Foley should be getting a game? Has good skills, endurance, 2 way running and a competitor who could grow into one of those players always picked, because they always play there role and always get the job done without being one of the stars?
Keen to here people thoughts on him after 16 games last year.
Reckon he will displace Duggan at some point this year, through either form or injury.

I haven't read much of this thread but I'll continue on with what I've said over previous years, I just don't get what people see in Duggan.
He tries but so what...This is the Bigshow.

We need to try something different as GWS will win the ruck anyway.

Out - BBW, Duggan, Witherden
In - Culley, SPS and Clark (to play 2nd ruck - We'll lose hitouts anyway but he should win clearances around the ground and apply way more pressure)

I'd still like Ryan off the back of the square too.

I haven't read much of this thread but I'll continue on with what I've said over previous years, I just don't get what people see in Duggan.
He tries but so what...This is the Bigshow.

We need to try something different as GWS will win the ruck anyway.

Out - BBW, Duggan, Witherden
In - Culley, SPS and Clark (to play 2nd ruck - We'll lose hitouts anyway but he should win clearances around the ground and apply way more pressure)

I'd still like Ryan off the back of the square too.
Duggan has had some great years (last was 2020) and some ordinary ones. He was crap last year but had knee issues. I'm happy to give him a couple of games to see if he can get his form back, given he's had a fair few problems with his knee.