Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Positives and Negatives vs GWS

Will write at length later on.

Some short thoughts.
  • A win is a win, and after the last two years I'm happy with that.
  • Keeping the numbers even in the middle enabled the club to release the shackles in terms of ball movement, and attacking output followed as a result.
  • Pressing the non-key defence very high up the ground allowed a forward-half turnover game to function in a way that we as fans have not seen from West Coast in a very long time.
  • Hands in close and around packs were cleaner than they have been for some time as well.
  • Unable to maintain the level of intensity of through the second half.
  • Waterman gets to play as the second ruck for the rest of year.
  • Hunt's work rate is incredible.
  • Ryan is back to AA form.
  • Jones played his best ever game.
  • Petrevski-Seton put on display the amount of talent that still resides within him.
  • Williams was much improved this week, against decent opposition in Flynn.
  • Ginbey had the most tackles for the club and the second-most on the ground.
  • Gaff has lost all confidence with using his non-preferred foot - many times a straightforward kick on the right was refused in favour of a contorted kick over the shoulder on his left.
  • Hogan got on top of the key defence and could have had a bag if he kicked straight.
  • Some unheralded defensive assignments. Ginbey in his second game goes to Green and does enough to prevent him from taking over as he did against Adelaide a week before; and Witherden spent much of the day keeping Greene under control when he roamed.

Overall a very encouraging day of football, with far more positives than negatives.

I reckon Barrass is carrying something or is sore. After nearly every play in his area he hunches over with hands on hips. Very noticeable at the ground

+ve liked Simmos presser, he sounded a little angsty which I didn't mind

-ve not having the journos miked so we can clearly hear their questions. How is that still a thing?

Imagine if we beat them next week....
Wwe Raw GIF

Us stutting into work on a monday morning if we rolled the shockers.

+ A win is so sweet and big fat cherry on top of last night.
Waterman was great, should of had 5. Kelly, SPS, Ryan were good. Jones was good could have been exceptional if he didn't waste 4 entries in a row in the 3rd qtr. He tries to kick bullets down peoples throat instead of kicking to advantage, hopefully something he can build into his game.
Thought Bailey was ok, held his own in the ruck gave a hand when it was on the deck.
Probably best game I've seen Witherden play and Duggan was solid.
Won't dwell on the negatives other than to say Gaff needs to look for a handball instead of running around in circles and booting a 15m floater.
He still knows where to go to get the ball but his role needs to change, give the ball to the better users.
Nearly forgot Longy, his first half was exciting and Ginbey looks like the great white bull we have been looking for.

Positives
JJ (in particular) and Shuey providing run and drive

Ginbey & Long - both just look at the level, loved Long ignoring Sheed calling for the handball receive and lacing Cripps

Ryan - said it last week, we aren't winning many games if he's having a quiet one

Negatives
We don't win this game if Whitfield and Kelly available

Being outscored by the Giants in the last coming of horrendous conditions last week

Speed and Gaff are worrying me. This is made worse knowing that one of the younger players goes out once Yeo is fit

McGovern and Barass - yes McGovern is getting intercepts but Hogan looked unstoppable at times and Larkey got hold of us last week. Bit worried about what Geelong, Richmond and Carlton key forwards will do to us if these guys don't clamp down a bit more.

Fck yes! That was awesome. The first game in 18 months where I felt comfortable we would win once the team got on top. Looked like a completely different side. It was amazing to hear the crowd getting up and about at the stadium again.

How funny was that deliberate rushed behind call against us? I was fuming at that bald umpire and hurling abuse, only to realise later that their were two baldies and I couldn't tell which one dogged us.

Same. From where I sit in the top tier they looked like clones so I abused them both all game just to be sure.

+'s:

Jamaine Jones' best game for the club. Was in everything, defensively solid and great attacking plays too.

Samo P...that's what we were looking for. The man has arrived.

Jayden Hunt. 2 goals and doing exactly what we have asked of him. Great addition to the side

Noah Long. First half immense, continues to impress. Didn't get his reward with a score but from what I could see a couple of score involvements. Still clean around the contest and great decision making.

Ryan. Did Ryan things.

MY WATERBOY WHO COULD EVER DOUBT HIM. I'm looking at you, Goroyals22

The salted meat sandwich, Reuben Ginbey...solid. Did some nice things, 17 disposals. Saw at least a clearance or two. Took a nice grab. Will be better for the run.

Elijah "tackle bag" Hewett...welcome to the big time son. Would like to have seen him given the opportunity to work his way into the game over more than a quarter but who do you sub off after a performance like that?

Chesser. Invisible again. Probably give him another game or two before sending him WAFL wise but I could argue the opposite just as easily. Was better than last week though.

Cripps. Reliable Jamie Cripps. Love you mate.

Liam "I'll run through you c**t" Duggan. Nice job. Let's see more of that.

Andrew Gaff. Couple of frustrating round the body kicks but his detractors will be hard pressed to find much to winge about this week.

Shuey. He's back...perhaps not with a vengeance but hey I'll take it.

Tim Kelly. Where has this been lately? Huge reason for our win.

OA...keep blowing off the rust. We'll need ya.

Darling. Workman like game without much reward.

Definitely have left some people out here but these are the players that spring to mind immediately after watching the game.

Plenty to mull over, I look forward to writing the match preview for the derby next week...

UP THE FARKEN COASTERS

On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Fck yes! That was awesome. The first game in 18 months where I felt comfortable we would win once the team got on top. Looked like a completely different side. It was amazing to hear the crowd getting up and about at the stadium again.

No. 15 whoever he was. Wasn't the only soft free kick he gave them close to goal. He gave us a couple as well but he's still a dick.

+ Noah Schlonggg. Glad he got some minutes. 100% DE, most goal assists on the ground (2)

+ Ginbey with 17D, 10 contested (5th most on the ground), 6 tackles (2nd most on the ground), 18 pressure acts (2nd most for wce). He also killed a man.

+JJ was absolutely electric. Surely the best game of that blokes career.

+ I think Kelly has been a disappointment at WCE for the most part, but his first half was insane and overall game very good. Got on the move at stoppages and wasn't flat footed. Looked quicker than he has on other games, and also hit the scoreboard ❤️.

+ Waterman is a total kent. Nothing new.

+ Liked Hunts game. 22 touches, 2 goals in a variety of different roles.

- Gaff. What a man. 22D, a whopping 4 contested, 0 tackles, 4 turnovers. Then there's all the hack kicks and other helicopter kicks he does that still get marked as effective even though it totally cooks the team.

- Chesser. All the same reasons as last week. Shouldn't have played. Would be better for him to just get through practice games at WAFL level and build... something.

- Allen rusty and unclean. Kicked 2 snags but I reckon he fluffed 3 or 4 goal scoring opportunities straight up.

- Barrass was surprisingly awful. 8 touches, 1 mark today. Yikes.

- Hewett had to wait a whole game for his opportunity, then his first touch could've been amazing but unfortunately gets unlucky and pinged. Wish we could have found him the ball more in the 4th.

Just got back from the game, boy what an afternoon!! Felt like a proper old fashioned day out to watch the Eagles in Perth.

Hewett was really getting into being an AFL player, signing autographs and high fiving fans on his own while the coaches were waving at him to get back with everyone else as they left the ground. A real character, that one.

So good to watch the players finally get some reward for effort, it all clicked. The run from Jones, Hunt & co was exactly what I was hoping to see.

At the ground watching SPS was bloody good. So composed, and seemed to always be in a good position to receive and kick beautiful passes. If he can keep linking up like that we look much more damaging.

Up the Coasters!!

Positives
Ball movement and the running how good was it seeing that run from behind.
Jones was awesome has to have locked up his spot off halfback
SPS best game for the club (not hard) clean hands, good decision making.
Long what a steal
Defensive pressure was really good.
First quarter from Bailey and TK. Really showed intent. Thought TK had a very good game.
Ginbey
Jake was great. How good was it having a pinch hit ruckman whm can impact the game other ways.

Big negative, Gaff he was deplorable, why did he have 12 CBAs.

Negative Barass and Gov were utter dross. Odd winning a game without ine of them contributing much.

Leaving their man looked better from a lot of the players? More commitment or something? Idk, they just got there in time to impact contests.
I think a lot of it came from better pressure at the ball carrier. Cripps, Hunt, Ryan immense in particular. Often times just made that handball over the top that little bit loopier, made them wait under kicks a little longer, and allowed the defender time to actually get there and impact.

GWS still had a few passages of very easily checkering their way over the top and down the ground, but we also generated some goals from their attempts to do so by making that handball hang in the air that little bit longer an the defender stepping up getting there to impact. Good sign.

One thing I thought was notable was that Longy had the courage to look for the best option a couple of times and not just handball to Sheed/ Gaff who were calling for the cheap 2m handball. Would have been easy for a second gamer to get sucked into that trap.
“* Off Dom”

Noah Long Rnd 3 V GWS March 26th 2023
“* off Andrew”

Noah Long Rnd 3 v GWS March 26th 2023

Kids going a long way.

1679837651128.jpeg

Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Positives and Negatives vs GWS