List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

Let’s just say, hypothetically, we are more interested in McKercher than Curtin

Now when asked about Curtin (and not anybody else) is O’Brien going to talk him up or down whilst not naming anyone else. I’d suggest he’s more than happy to maintain the illusion we’re big on Curtin

I’ve said it before but O’Brien never telegraphs his intentions publicly and it’s often not until close to the draft when it becomes apparent to the likes of Twomey who we might take

Now when asked about Curtin (and not anybody else) is O’Brien going to talk him up or down whilst not naming anyone else. I’d suggest he’s more than happy to maintain the illusion we’re big on Curtin

I’ve said it before but O’Brien never telegraphs his intentions publicly and it’s often not until close to the draft when it becomes apparent to the likes of Twomey who we might take

I posted fairly early (around the mega trade time) last year that we were targeting Ginbey.

I think we've certainly got Reid at 1 on our draft board with McKercher at 2.

Look I didn't want to original say anything publicly but what Reid is saying publicly may not be what he has told at the very least one Victorian club. If we take Reid I'm not really concerned he'll leave in a few years because I do think he means what he says about being loyal to whomever takes him. But it certainly gives a Vic team a passage to trade for pick 1.

Eagles sneak in a Tassie visit to see McKercher, rate him as the best mid in the draft and regardless of the potential new Tassie team he has no go home concerns. So maybe they see the idea of getting 2 and a few more top 20 picks as a good enough deal. McKercher could very well become the best player from this draft.
I still want Harley BUT if we got 2, 15 and Norf's F1, I would be ok.

It could deliver us at 2 McKercher (like you I am keen on him), 15 Murphy or C Edwards or one of the many outside runners, 23 Delean or Zakostelsky (depending on Murphy), 37 Goad or Moir (assuming Duane Massey gives the all clear) and O'Driscoll or Hall on the way out.

Plus next year we likely get 2 of Smillie, O'Sullivan, Jagga, Draper

That will leave our future midfield to be : -
Ginbey, Hewett, McKercher, O'Sullivan and Jagga. Add to that Long, Chesser, Burgiel (not proven and I live in hope) and we have rebuilt our midfield engine beautifully. And players with real differentiated traits.

I posted fairly early (around the mega trade time) last year that we were targeting Ginbey.

I think we've certainly got Reid at 1 on our draft board with McKercher at 2.

Ginbey was the highest rated WA player in the draft

That wasn’t a stretch for us to be linked to him

If you find a link where O’Brien said anything definitive about us targeting him, then I’ll be impressed

At the time we were linked to Busslinger and Hewitt at our first pick.

ROB mentioned something along the lines of clubs have mentioned they will come back to us after the trade period, I am assuming that would be Melbourne and North. North will probably try and package up a couple of those picks in the teens to get into top 10 (maybe with GWS 7 for 15 and 17) and come back to us with a revised offer of 2 or 3 with 7. Where as with Melbourne you have to think they will need to involve a 3rd club like Adelaide and offer us something like 6,10 and 11

Norf cooled on him? Sounded like he was a lock for them

I think North with 2 and 3 have McKercher, Curtin and Duursma, now if they are going to pick two mids you probably take the two best mids.

ROB mentioned something along the lines of clubs have mentioned they will come back to us after the trade period, I am assuming that would be Melbourne and North. North will probably try and package up a couple of those picks in the teens to get into top 10 (maybe with GWS 7 for 15 and 17) and come back to us with a revised offer of 2 or 3 with 7. Where as with Melbourne you have to think they will need to throw in a WA player or involve a 3rd club like Adelaide and offer us 6,10 and 11

After trade period ends tomorrow it’s picks only so Melbourne won’t be able to include a player

Won’t know until 2025.

I’m not saying it’s working for them.

I am saying West Coast don’t have a monopoly of returning WA talent.

Just the good ones.

Didn't we just fly to Tas for one last catchup with McKercher?

And supposedly have not interviewed Curtin.

Now the picks have settled down a bit.

WCE
out #1
In 2,6,18

Melb
Out 6,11
In 3,17

North
Out 2,3,17,18
In 1,11

Would mean Melb are into Duursma and want to get ahead of Hawks.

Eagles go McKercher 2, Curtin 6 and Collard 18

Pretty much in line with my thinking.

I also believe a KPF has to be high on your list needs this year or next year.

Take Reid.

Target a KPD in the top 10.

Target a KPF either this year or next.

KP backs we need before a forward ATM.

Allen, Maric, J Williams, B Williams are all young tall forwards. Two are forward / rucks.

And there is McDonald and Busslinger coming up. My money is on Busslinger ahead of McDonald as the Dogs are stacked with talls and with JUH about to land a massive contract alongside Naughton and English the Dogs will struggle to hold onto all of their talls.

The club will know which one is more likely. So draft the other?

On the evidence he isnt in the top 5 mids in his draft either. We need the top shelf this time to balance the depth.

ROB mentioned something along the lines of clubs have mentioned they will come back to us after the trade period, I am assuming that would be Melbourne and North. North will probably try and package up a couple of those picks in the teens to get into top 10 (maybe with GWS 7 for 15 and 17) and come back to us with a revised offer of 2 or 3 with 7. Where as with Melbourne you have to think they will need to throw in a WA player or involve a 3rd club like Adelaide and offer us 6,10 and 11
Melbourne have no chance! Remember, the predicant has been set with Hawks offering 4, F1 and Brockman. Melbourne would have to "Kevin Costner" the deal and trade away their next 3 years future first!

Imo North is the only club and i reckon their desperate for him, dont forget the AFL has help them here with additional picks. So really it's going to cost them nothing, 3 was a gift, as was 19 & 20.

If they want Harley Reid (marquee player) then its quiet easy.

Pony up 2, 3 and 15 or 2, F1 and 15

They can then package up 17 and 18 for a top 10 if they want the additional top 10 pick

Your call Norf

Otherwise JTR

Look I didn't want to original say anything publicly but what Reid is saying publicly may not be what he has told at the very least one Victorian club. If we take Reid I'm not really concerned he'll leave in a few years because I do think he means what he says about being loyal to whomever takes him. But it certainly gives a Vic team a passage to trade for pick 1.

Eagles sneak in a Tassie visit to see McKercher, rate him as the best mid in the draft and regardless of the potential new Tassie team he has no go home concerns. So maybe they see the idea of getting 2 and a few more top 20 picks as a good enough deal. McKercher could very well become the best player from this draft.
I believe he WILL be the best player from this draft

Daily reminder to JTR. Don’t overcomplicate it.

I’d be taking Reid and 1 and trying to get his mate Demattia at 23. Give him the security of having a close mate moving West with him, along with Noah Long already at the club.

If Collard is a flight risk, let someone else draft him and pick him up in 12mths time for 70 cents on the dollar.

ROB mentioned something along the lines of clubs have mentioned they will come back to us after the trade period, I am assuming that would be Melbourne and North. North will probably try and package up a couple of those picks in the teens to get into top 10 (maybe with GWS 7 for 15 and 17) and come back to us with a revised offer of 2 or 3 with 7. Where as with Melbourne you have to think they will need to involve a 3rd club like Adelaide and offer us something like 6,10 and 11
I can't see Melbourne getting it done before the end of trade period, so that would likely rule out the the player option.

Melbourne could do something like 6,10 or 6,11 for pick 2 or 3. Then trade 2(3), F1 and 10(11) for pick 1 - with one of our 2nd or 3rd rounders going back.

It would wipe Melbourne out, but they seem heavily invested in Reid, so they might see it as worth it. North end up with 2(3), 6, 10(11) and 15,17,18 - which they could use to trade back up and have 3 top 10 picks.

West Coast ends up with 2(3), 10(11), F1. Could also try and trade up for this year, but would probably keep those picks.

I'd do it if we're into McKercher. Can pick up a quality tall at 10 and have something else for next year.