Autopsy Roast & toast vs Suns & changes for West Coast round 8

Best vs Suns

A bunch of peA hearts expecting the new recruits to do all the work. What I saw where players laying half ass tackles and running forward when the ball was a 50/50. How about you lads run forward when we have possession of the ball. Our skills are terrible in perfect conditions we are slipping and unable to picke up the ball cleany.

Yep. Borderline reckon the players have given up and quit on the coach.

Stats don't lie. Look at them. Every week outside mids and flankers are having career games on us.

We don't man up. We don't chase or tackle anymore. We are witches hats
We can't chase or tackle, as we are as slow as treacle.

Cumberland should be the first dropped . Giggling to a players comment when lining up to his first shot on goal shows exactly where the kid is at .
Does selfish acts often and appears to have a massive unhealthy ego .
Clearly not a Richmond man

Season officially over. Sitting on the wing the lack of cohesion was all too evident. We do not play this ground well and the manner in which the ball was delivered into the forward line was poor, still the forward line did not help with its positioning and inability to create contests and bring the ball to the ground. I don't remember any crumbing goals, forward line was totally dysfunctional. Yet despite all its inadequacies, had Richmond not given away cheap goals they may well have pinched it.The team looks flat, the tackling lacks intent and we look slow and unfit. From being the benchmark team a few years ago in so many areas like in conditioning we're now one of the worst. We look rusty and underdone, see goal kicking. Enough of Miller already, totally ineffectual and however bad he was he was overshadowed by Sonsie who I see on the replay was -5 ranking points at half-time and one of the worst individual performances I've seen.
pretty sad when we can look at a game and think it was one would we could have pinched. If we were any good we would not be in those positions. We should be smashing some of these sides, but sadly we are an absolute rabble at the moment. Our forward entries have been terrible for the last few seasons, with the good work of Lynch papering over the cracks. With him out, Jack as slow as, Cotch as slow as, Dusty a shadow of his former self, Bolton MIA, we have no defensive forward pressure, and no crumbers. Our player development is non-existent.

His skills aren't the problem. His issue is that he doesn't attack the ball in the air. He's aerially soft (if that's a thing).
Reminds me of CCJ, and also Cholly while he was with us. Big units that could never impose themselves on a contest, let alone a game. Play soft, and a complete waste of their physiques.

Not paying the deliberate rushed behind when the suns player punched it through and there was no Richmond player within 20m was worse. Just straight up corruption by all four maggots.
Not the reason we lost and why did he try to dribble it from almost 50 out? Kick of a man devoid of confidence and not giving a **** anymore

Losing sucks... Things always look better than they are when you're hot and things always look dire when you're losing.

We're definitely in a rut... We're not as bad as we're showing, something has gone awry this pre season. Strength and conditioning + gameplan tinkering. It's time for dimma and co to catch up with the rest of the comp and its tactics.
The team wouldn't be nearly as bad if they just hit their targets. The poor discipline is also costly. Fix these two areas and we'd be in the 8

To me - aside from the appalling disposal whether it's to a team mate or shooting at goal - the main thing is the complete lack of pressure on the opposition. And not just forward line pressure, but all over the ground. Since the start of the 2021 season, we have displayed an innate ability to not man up at any stage when the opposition have the ball. No chasing, no tackling, just lazy disinterested players 'guarding space'.

Pity nobody's looked after the space between our football department's ears since the last flag.

Cotchin , nil contribution
jack oppo had near 30p
macca crap
pickett refuses to compete above his head
grimes gawwwwn
dusty a game is more like circuit training session , nil impact on game
miller only solid footy I’ve seen as a defender , clueless anywhere else
I haven’t mentioned youngsters , most didn’t contribute
it’s a wonder we got close

The selection for this game really pisses me off. Because for the first time in a long time we looked good last week. We matched it with the premiership favourites everywhere apart from the ruck which was always gonna happen.

So Dimma decides to completely change it up this week. Why would you play a 4th tall defender + Vlastuin? Broad coming back in for Young seemed a simple move and an upgrade. Now if you want to play the younger player fine, Then make a tough call and play Broad or Vlastuin in the VFL. Dimma never does this, cant wait til Gibcus is back and we go to 6 tall defenders again.....

Then there is the Soldo decision. Pretty straight forward if he is fit to run out a whole game, fine he comes in for Miller, pretty simple decision and an upgrade. If they were worried he couldnt run out the game, play him in the VFL and go with last weeks setup. Don't play 3 ruckmen then get absolutely abused in the ruck anyway!!

Then there is dropping Mansell. I dont rate him, but we play him every week, only to drop him the week we lose our only other small forward in MRJ. WTF. We also drop Judson as well so go with a completely different forward setup than the one that looked ok last week. I didn't mind trying Baker as a small forward again, it didnt really work though.

Im not a fan of Ross, but didnt hate him coming in for Prestia as a like for like swap. However its pretty clear Ross will never complement Hopper and Taranto in the middle as its way too slow, so once we signed those 2 he's done unfortunetly.

Next week I would bring in Hugo, Mansell and MRJ if he's fit. Yeah they turn it over, but so do our slower players. Atleast playing with speed and run will get a high scoring game and be entertaining. The only times we looked like a competent AFL team today was when Bolton got the ball in the middle of the ground.
Agree with most of your points banzai. But bringing in the likes of Mansell and HRS again, when they continually disappoint big time, is not the answer sadly. No point in the rinse and repeat method, as the result will be the same. Our depth is just not there at the moment. Agree we need to have Bolton in the middle. He isn't providing enough when up forward. He needs to be able to show that burst of speed out of the centre, rather than being crowded up and wasted if spending most of his time up forward.

To me - aside from the appalling disposal whether it's to a team mate or shooting at goal - the main thing is the complete lack of pressure on the opposition. And not just forward line pressure, but all over the ground. Since the start of the 2021 season, we have displayed an innate ability to not man up at any stage when the opposition have the ball. No chasing, no tackling, just lazy disinterested players 'guarding space'.

Pity nobody's looked after the space between our football department's ears since the last flag.
And when they do tackle they don’t stick. Opposition end up getting and handball out while the crowd cries for holding the ball, but you aren’t going to get it when they dispose of it.

After yesterdays game practically every player on the list has to be put under the microscope as that loss was just unacceptable. Yep from Dusty down to rusty Mate’ Colina. Also whole of FD needs overhauling and even Balmey maybe becoming a bit complacent also drinking all that bath water. Possible not the same man after his health scare last year. Just everything has fallen apart over the past 18 months.

Our supporters can be ridiculed.

No hunger.
Going through the motions.

23k with a membership of 100k and noone can be bothered to fit a few hours in supporting the Tigers.

We filled this stadium in the dynasty years.

I no doubt reckon we could have won with some Tiger Army assistance.

Our supporters can be ridiculed.

No hunger.
Going through the motions.

23k with a membership of 100k and noone can be bothered to fit a few hours in supporting the Tigers.

We filled this stadium in the dynasty years.

I no doubt reckon we could have won with some Tiger Army assistance.

We used to have the most hungry supporter base in the league, now after 3 flags that hunger is gone. Very sad.

Leadership team need a spray

leadership as a collective has been lacking throughout the year

when Sammy Ryan slotted the goal in the last to give us hope, he was yelling at all players around him saying CMON CMON!…not much love coming back

moments later, Soldo has a set shot 39 m in front ( for some reason can’t cope with the pressure if it all) ….taranto stupidly calls for it in the pocket near the boundary line….we know what happened ffs…whole side decides to pack it in (again)

I’d say it’s really only been Baker, Rioli that have both shown grit consistently throughout 23…