Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 4 - Freo v Blues Sat April 6th 4:20pm AEDT (AO)

Who will win and by how much?

• Freo by a goal or less

Votes: 8 10.7%
  • Carlton by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Freo by 7 - 20

Votes: 20 26.7%
  • Carlton by 7 - 20

Votes: 27 36.0%
  • Freo by a lot

Votes: 5 6.7%
  • Carlton by a lot

Votes: 12 16.0%
  • Draw

Votes: 3 4.0%

I agree it's undisciplined but the umpire needs to understand that there's a fair chance that it actually was touched and that's why the freo players were angry. He's not going to reverse his call obviously but allow them to blow off steam. after all, the Cottrell decision decided the match. he didn't need to put a nail in the coffin with a call like that. He should be stood down for a while I reckon.
Be as angry as you want, just not towards the ump.
No player has ever chucked a tanty and got an ump to change his call.
The missed touch call didn't decide the game. There was still time for Freo to win it and they'd dominated clearances all game. Shut up and get on with it. The Freo player put the nail in the coffin.

Apparently none of Carlton's are ever considered legit, so might as well stay consistent.
According to every non-Carlton supporter on here, only the Blues calls are up for discussion.
I didn’t have an issue with the touched ball scenario. Mine was more the lack of advantage when Tabs marked it on the wing and it had to go back. Not sure why that had to go all the way back.

Be as angry as you want, just not towards the ump.
No player has ever chucked a tanty and got an ump to change his call.
The missed touch call didn't decide the game. There was still time for Freo to win it and they'd dominated clearances all game. Shut up and get on with it. The Freo player put the nail in the coffin.

100% it’s on the ump.

On replay it looks like at least 2x players touched it - plus the response from everyone.

Come on mate. if the roles were reversed, surely you can understand? Not only was the Cottrell decision wrong but the dissent decision was simply not on in the moment. Not all moments are the same.
I'd be annoyed at the Cottrell call, but also understand that umps can't see everything. Especially something as slight as a deflection off an arm.
I'd be pissed at my players for the dissent call when the game was still on the line.
Dissent is a pretty basic thing. Play to the whistle. You can't change calls after the fact. Shut up and get on with it.
Luckily, our players haven't given many away since it came in, but when they have, I've never once blamed an umpire.

I agree it's undisciplined but the umpire needs to understand that there's a fair chance that it actually was touched and that's why the freo players were angry. He's not going to reverse his call obviously but allow them to blow off steam. after all, the Cottrell decision decided the match. he didn't need to put a nail in the coffin with a call like that. He should be stood down for a while I reckon.
True, let them abuse the **** out of the umpires because they’re angry. It’s fine to abuse umpires if they’re angry!

Hmm i always thought under the laws of game where 1 ump is of the opinion its touched and 1 is of the opinion its a mark, a ball up should be called.
Where's the evidence that one of the umps called touched? Not saying it didn't happen but I've yet to see/hear it.
And if he did, where's the evidence that he made that call known to the controlling umpire, so they could confer?

blue seem to get the frees near the end which helps them get a lucky win
Generally speaking I have never understood this point of view. If one team gets multiple goals from incorrect free kicks in Q1-Q3 and then the other gets one bad call in the last why is that worse? The game may only be close at the end because of those early decisions. The hyperfocus on decisions in the last minutes whilst ignoring every bad decision before it is crazy imo

*This is a general example - not what happened in the game today

Footy can be a hard watch sometimes, the umpire blew it with that call for every fan watching. It's hard to imagine a more thankless task than being an AFL footy umpire. At least 50 percent of the calls they make are going to upset somebody. And the moment you blow a call like the one we saw tonight, the last 100 calls you got exactly right mean jack s**t. What we saw is not good for the game.

I agree.
Very overrated at the moment. Reliance on Curnow is extreme.
They lack dynamism around the forward line.

GWS will have their way with them in a few weeks time.
McKay doesn't exist in your current dimension? He's been the better forward this year.

Credit to the Blues - just that much more composure in the clinches in what was a pretty toughly fought game.

Hope they can draw Alex Whetton and his hurt feelings for the rest of the year; they'll definitely be needing them!
Credit to the Blues... blames the umps...

I agree.
Very overrated at the moment. Reliance on Curnow is extreme.
They lack dynamism around the forward line.

GWS will have their way with them in a few weeks time.
Yes, we are missing Silvagni, Motlop, Martin and Cuningham with 3 of those playing if fit.

I don’t know how good we are, I do think GWS are the team to beat but I don’t think you are acknowledging the absence of Walsh and Doc, as well as our better smalls in Motlop and Martin. Big losses for any team to wear, your team missed finals largely through player unavailability last year.

Is that what it seems like? What's that based on? What was said tonight?
There was literally one paid the other day where the player said something like 'he wasn't ******* looking' and that was fine. It was only paid after the player told the ump to watch the replay, which was made perfectly clear that this would be dissent.
The umps actually let the players get away with more now than they did when the rule first came in. Sometimes players like to test the limits of what they can and can't get away with. Sometimes they feel like they need to get their point across, regardless of the penalty.
Same thing happens in basketball. Players (and coaches) known what they can get away with, but sometimes they're happy to get a tech or get ejected in order to get a point across.
Weird rant.
My observation was based on all of the dissent calls & non-calls I've witnessed since the rule was introduced.
Some umpires will invoke the rule if a player points at the replay on the big screen, others don't. Some umpires call dissent if a player raises their voice at them, others will just ignore it.
The rule should be 100% either way.

Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 4 - Freo v Blues Sat April 6th 4:20pm AEDT (AO)