List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
If Smillie is no flight risk I think hed be a good fit.
Ginbey moving to half back opens up another spot for a big contested inside mid. If he can be something remotely like Patrick Cripps thatd be a huge win.

I dont think we need a Draper type necessarily, once we start winning more clearances and get better at holding the ball the possession numbers will rise.
If we could have Reid, Smillie and Hall for example all averaging mid 20s touches in 3 years time as our 3 top mids thatd be completely fine.
Draper then Smillie are who I want, I think one of those guys will still be there at our pick

Ginbey moving to half back opens up another spot for a big contested inside mid. If he can be something remotely like Patrick Cripps thatd be a huge win.

I dont think we need a Draper type necessarily, once we start winning more clearances and get better at holding the ball the possession numbers will rise.
If we could have Reid, Smillie and Hall for example all averaging mid 20s touches in 3 years time as our 3 top mids thatd be completely fine.
No absolutely not. Smillie has zero runs on the board. He dropped his bundle in national champs and hasn't played VFL.

Jagga and draper are so far ahead of smillie its not funny. Smillie is too risky.

No absolutely not. Smillie has zero runs on the board. He dropped his bundle in national champs and hasn't played VFL.

Jagga and draper are so far ahead of smillie its not funny. Smillie is too risky
Its not inconceivable that Jagga and Draper arent available at our pick...

Just because I said hes a good fit doesnt mean I want him as my first choice. Just chill a bit mate

Its not inconceivable that Jagga and Draper arent available at our pick...

Just because I said hes a good fit doesnt mean I want him as my first choice
Then FOS. They have similar runs on the board.

Fos under-age performance is between the smillie bottom and draft year performance.

Or split. But preference is FOS then Split (Murphy Reid pending testing)

Then FOS.

His under-age performance is between the smillie bottom and draft year performance.

Or split. But preference is FOS then Split (Murphy Reid)
Im seeing this talk that FOS seems to project more as a half back than a mid.
Smillie fills a similar role as a full time mid that Draper does, a bit less accumulation but better at the contest

The reality is all the tier 2 mids: Lindsay, Lalor, Christian Moraes, Murphy reid and Harvey Langford placement is decided based on combine results

Out of the lot not knowing their combine I have Murphy Reid at the top due to class. But again its dependent on combine.

The tier 2 mids all have the same run on the boards. Exceptional Nat champs no men's games. And playing in league with other kids (coats and private school footy)

I disagree

We absolutely need a Draper type and several of them, none of our guys can get to contest after contest, nor do they run both ways.

Smillie emphasises everything wrong with our current midfielders, he’s a poor kick albeit a penetrating one, he’s incredibly lazy off the ball, he doesn’t get involved in link up plays and the idea of him is a lot better than what he actually is.

Mids who have that inside / outside blend with good foot skills and adequate pace are exactly what we need.

I disagree

We absolutely need a Draper type and several of them, none of our guys can get to contest after contest, nor do they run both ways.

Smillie emphasises everything wrong with our current midfielders, he’s a poor kick albeit a penetrating one, he’s incredibly lazy off the ball, he doesn’t get involved in link up plays and the idea of him is a lot better than what he actually is.

Mids who have that inside / outside blend with good foot skills and adequate pace are exactly what we need.
My first preference isnt to get Smillie. I just said hed be a decent fit, hes different to what we have. If we ended up with Smillie id be ok with it.

My first choice is to trade pick 3 back for 2 picks, even if we get pick 10 for Barrass. 3 picks in the 8-14 area would be my choice. Get Travaglia, Lindsay and Langford in and cover all bases. 2 blokes who can sit on a wing/half back and a mid.

Pretty much how I see it, we might go FOS instead but flip a coin.

Crows finish the job here against the Dogs and win the Showdown, I reckon the trade won’t happen. Not sure North would want to slide down to 5 and maybe even 6 from pick 2. Would have to be juicy offer
If that happens, it’s likely we would get a juicy offer. And, I would like to make them pay for it.

My only knock on Smilie is, he is a man amongst boys.

Unsure if he has played seniors in the VFL and how well he stacked up. But against his own draft class. He just seems to big too strong.

FOS will be a HB at the next level.

Smith is well ahead of his development in comparison to others in this draft class. Do not want. Slim frame, short, poor kick.
Smith is 1cm shorter than O'Sullivan and Hotton, the same height as Gross, 1cm taller than Reid and Draper, 2cm taller than Ashcroft and 3cm taller than Lombard.
I get that 181cm may not be particularly tall, however, compared to his cohort (save for Smillie and Langford) they are all about the same height and the same concern must be levelled at them as well.

Umm think you read that wrong. I said Levi is as obvious as a pick 1 as Harley Reid was last year.... Not comparing them to each other

Ashcroft is miles ahead of Smith/FOS/Draper im afraid
Either way I disagree. He is a safe option, but I don't think he is the best option.
Besides opinions are varying regularly on here. Last week everyone was decrying Draper as the "obvious" no. 1 pick.