Review Dees v Carlton: the Good, the Bad and the Fugly

The past 10 or so years are still too fresh in my memory for me to take 4 points for granted.
Yup.

My old man started saying that it's an important percentage game, I told him that we were saying that in Round 2 last year and look how it went.

I thought hogan was alright. He competed hard and kept at it all day. Didn't clunk his marks but he was far from our worst.

Was going to say this, sure he didn't have a great day, but he contested a lot of high balls and created a lot of crumbs. Also was working a lot up the wings as well to try and create something. Just wasn't his day to shine today.

I thought hogan was alright. He competed hard and kept at it all day. Didn't clunk his marks but he was far from our worst.
Yep, on DL they are crucifying him. But its exactly the same as when we played Carlton the end of the 2016 season. We had minimal structure and delivery was bad he cant do anything about that.

Not looking to offend anyone because I know we all expect a bit more from ourselves this year, but are we being a bit too negative over this game? After all we won, which isn't exactly a luxury we've had over the past decade. It wasn't pretty, but honestly I don't care, we are 2-0, when was the last time we even did that? I'm excited!

Yep, on DL they are crucifying him. But its exactly the same as when we played Carlton the end of the 2016 season. We had minimal structure and delivery was bad he cant do anything about that.

Hogan was in space in the wing area numerous times today. And was ignored quite a few times. Some demonland posters have nfi

Not looking to offend anyone because I know we all expect a bit more from ourselves this year, but are we being a bit too negative over this game? After all we won, which isn't exactly a luxury we've had over the past decade. It wasn't pretty, but honestly I don't care, we are 2-0, when was the last time we even did that? I'm excited!
Its fantastic that we won BUT it was Carlton, we made it tough and played very poorly. Any other side in the league except maybe GC, Bris and Freo we would have lost.

I literally can't read that site during the season proper. The only good bits now is when Trav 20 starts up WW3 in the training threads.

Its fantastic that we won BUT it was Carlton, we made it tough and played very poorly. Any other side in the league except maybe GC, Bris and Freo we would have lost.

This is my point though, we were like Carlton not long ago, even last year multiple times, we are getting ahead of ourselves if we think we should suddenly be beating up teams on a weekly basis

Looks like Lewis and Hogan will get ca weeks each.

Lewis can't even be cited for that - surely? He barely made any contact, and Cripps went down like a two dollar hooker.

schmuttts player ratings Round 2:

Brayshaw - I'm a big Gus fan but struggled to get into the game and missed a goal I think he should be kicking. Also couple disposals errors. 3/10

Garlett - Continues his fine form, like the Saints he has played a couple stinker against the Blues since he came over but was very good today. 8/10

Gawn - Nil all draw with Kreuzer today, don't think either ruck had much of an influence. 5/10

Hannan - Love Mitchy but despite several near-screamers he didn't do a whole lot, will be in the gun at selection. 3/10

Harmes - Poor decision making stuck out in defence but did some good things up forward in the last, think he has to play forward at AFL level. 5/10

Hogan - Worked up the ground well but just couldn't get anything going inside 50. Not sure what was going on with the forward structure, either Jesse was being lazy not pushing in or it was a coaching directive not to play as deep as last week. Still, as I said earlier he still split every contest and created goals by drawing defenders attention to him. 5/10

Hunt - Couple nice runs but thought he was pretty quiet throughout the day. 5/10

Jetta - Solid as a rock like last week. Is one of our better kicks transitioning the ball, doesn't have the distance but spears some really nice 25-30m passes through the middle. 7/10

Jones - Couple nice goals, wasn't as good as last week but still cracked in as usual. 7/10

Lewis - Curnow tagged him today and at his age you'd expect him to struggle with that (But it should free up others). I do love his unsociable side now he plays for us though. 5/10

Tmac - Very solid today, took 3-4 really important marks down back, the usual solid 1%ers and no glaring errors. 7/10

OMac - Definitely an improvement on last week, defended really well. 6/10

Melksham - Now everyone knows why the Bombers were happy to see him go. Makes some really bad decisions both with ball in hand and also when defending. His dash and kicking can look great but it isn't consistent enough and I think he'll be forced out of the side when Hibberd is back. 5/10

ANB - Like Hannan is in the gun, I feel bad for all the neutrals who got sucked into trading him in to their Supercoach teams. 5 tackles is good but aside from that he really didn't do much. 4/10

Oliver - I reckon he is just about already our best mid outside Jones, and that isn't a slight on the others. **** his ball handling is ridiculous. 9/10

Petracca - I thought he worked his way into the game, he didn't stand out but kicked an important goal and his overhead marking is exceptional for his size. 6/10

Salem - Best game for the club, beautiful skills and marked the ball very well today. Soft players don't mark the ball the way he does hint hint. 9/10

Stretch - Was too inside today as someone said in the match thread, but he also went at 86% DE. 6/10

Tyson - **** he can look so good at times and also look so shit. Credit to him, had a much better last quarter. 6/10

Viney - Pretty poor today IMO. 22 disposals, only 6 contested and he went at 59% DE. I've got faith he'll turn it around soon because he is driven like no other, playing on his best buddy in Selwood this week would be a good start. 5/10

Watts - Some really poor clangers early in the game (Dropped three chest marks from my count) but lifted when we really needed him. Authoritative Jack was back in the last quarter, need more of that. 6/10

Weideman - Nice contested mark early, competed and kicked a couple. I'll go out on a limb and say he is a better mark than Hogan, he may find it a lot tougher this week with Jesse potentially missing though. 6/10

Lewis can't even be cited for that - surely? He barely made any contact, and Cripps went down like a two dollar hooker.
Sorry for the intrusion, was an odd one. Didn't look like much but Cripps is tough and doesn't go down often so really unsure about it. I thought Ed Curnow did a good job tagging Lewis today but geez, when he gets tagged he suddenly turns into a blocking machine. Just compliments your midfield very nicely.

From afl.com:

BEST
Melbourne:
Salem, Tyson, Oliver, Watts, Garlett, Jones, Harmes
Carlton: Wright, Murphy, Cripps, Docherty, Gibbs, Curnow

Just about right I reckon. Would definitely put Jetta in for Harmes though.

I didn't even see the game had other things on, but from what I could see,

Harmes was good (he cracked The ton on supercoach) and to all the people hating on Christian Salem thats how well can play. Let's hope we see him on the park doing that all the time.

Another day at the office from Oliver.

Only giving my personal thought on the Hogan Hit in the goal square. I thought it was Low impact. He will get a fine

I was angry watching that for the first 3 quarters. As someone mentioned Carlton did to us what we used to do to teams. Sit back and wait for errors and bring the opposition down to the level and **** did it work

Good- 2 wins to start the season is brilliant, just a little more vindication in what the clubs doing
Oliver makes our other midfielders look sloppy and indecisive at stoppages. I already have complete faith that when someone passes a ball to him he won't drop it. Would have to have close to the cleanest hands in the AFL
Jack Watts last quarter, I thought he was really soft in his marking attempts in the first 3 but he stood up in the last and made a difference
Coming from behind, in previous years we would have crumbled but that's 2 weeks in a row we have done it
Garletts 2 goals were so valuable, hopefully he keeps it up

Ugly- seriously someone needs to tell our players to stop kicking off one step. The amount of kicks that were turned over after a mark because everyone tried to stab a pass off one step was atrocious. It's a bloody basic skill to get your momentum through the ball

Dom Tyson was horrible, slow with the footy and time and time again his kicking is shit. 30 disposals? Who gives a crap only about 5 were useful.
Jack Viney seems lost now that Oliver is the man at stoppages. He doesn't have a great outside game and he relied on Gawn feeding him the footy last year. Needs to add more strings to his bow to become elite
I honestly couldn't think of any forward 50 stoppages in the first 3 quarters. When we were turning it over so much plan B should have been to lock it in the 50 and use forward pressure against the young blues defence. Instead we just turned it over time and time again

A bunch of blokes didn't have any real impact, reckon Hannan, Melksham and ANB should all be dropped for Kent Vince and Hibberd if fit

Also want to add Brayshaw looks lost on the field still. I don't like the role goody has him playing but he looks slow in the midfield in the stoppages.

Honestly I'd love to see him play in the back line. He's a good user on both sides and can take a mark and lay a tackle. Play on the HBF and get the ball in his hands more often
Then you can play Harmes forward where he is much better

Good:
-Salem, have been waiting for that for ages. He still looked a little tender in the contest, but I'm hoping that will get better with time.
-Weid i thought was contesting and moving to the right places.
-Clarry filled up my betting account and mostly used it well
-Jeffy being the seagull he is and snapping goal of the week contenders
-Horse was trying, but still not convenced he's really AFL quality
- OMac did his job. Won't win the brownlow, but didn't have a clanger all day, which was rare.
- Max competed hard when not rucking.

Bad:
-ANB i didn't see all game
-Carlton throwing 2 back made it a real grind. I thought they had the right idea, pushing forward slowly with short passes. Problem was that they didn't have the courage to go that pass a lot of the time. What they did was better than hoofing it forward for the 2 spare men to clean up. When the opposition have 2 men back, its not going to be easy to kick over 80 points, so I think our offense was actually pretty good and well executed, it was just the rebound through the middle on turnover where the mids didn't work hard enough. A few very kind bounces in the D50 helped them to at least 3 of their goals.
- Kicking to Jeffy vs 3 guys. A symptom of above, but needed more run and carry. Still have a semi from watching Hunt's run along the boundary.
- i'll parrot others and say viney looked slow and lost without ramming his head against oppositions at the bottom of the pack. Clarry isn't as tough but he's cleaner getting it out.

Ugly
- Carlton delusional fans
- leaving Casboult 1 out
- Tyson.... I've never seen a worse 30 touch game. His kicking is a true liability
- Ugly footy to watch
- Hogan belting people

Tyson was great in the last quarter but garbage before then. His 20~ disposals or whatever he had in the first three quarters had a net negative impact on the team.

He'll improve, but he's gotta stop getting injured as he's always really poor when he returns!

Also want to add Brayshaw looks lost on the field still. I don't like the role goody has him playing but he looks slow in the midfield in the stoppages.

Agreed. I don't know if the backline is the best spot but he just isn't doing much, but I'm not sure it's his form/fault.

'Land isn't happy unless we win by 200.

The worst. It was embarrassing and that's saying something given the game we'd just played.
If he had any sense he'd have bent his ******* trumpet into a crook and tried to strangle melkshakes with it
I think the focus should be on on how much worse we are without the Bern, not on Don's inclusion. The team looked average for the most part, to single him out is pretty average.

Clayton Oliver is a jet. He is so much better than I thought he was going to be when first drafted. A real pleasure to watch him go to work yesterday, so composed with ball in hand and very neat disposal. I feel like he is going to be one of those players that is almost impossible to beat one on one.

Salem was great. Such a nice kick on him, really made every possession count. Was good defensively also.

I knew Garlett was a steal for you guys when we were forced to let him go. Sure he makes some mistakes and has some bad games but he's just a flat out goal kicker.

Liked what I saw from Weideman. Quite strong for a young key forward and defensive pressure was there too. Looks a strong mark and a good kick. Really nice foundation for him.

I think Hogan has played better games but it's a testament to him that a 21 possession 10 mark game is one of his average performances. He's still always a real presence and threat.

Hunt's dash off HB was great to watch. Quick and powerful! An absolute weapon back there.

Anyway sorry for the intrusion, good win yesterday and good luck for the rest of the season.

Good:
- Winning ugly is better than losing pretty.
- Oliver continues to rise. Won't be under rated for much longer in the football world.
- TMac and Jetta had great games and are crucial to our backline. We'd be lost without either tbh.
- Jeffy. Great start to the season. Needed someone to stand up in the F50, and he did it.
- Salem dominating like we know he can. Need that more often and it will be huge for us.

Bad:
- Goodwin. Was very slow to react to Bolton's tactics. We went more man on man in the last quarter and look what happened!
- Watts attempts at chest marking! Get the dukes out Jack! As soon as he started to do that in the last, he took a few marks!
- Viney. Just looks off the pace atm. Looked to be tagging Cripps at certain stages and he lowered his colours again this week I feel.
- Our inability to find a way through the flood. Part coaching, part player problem. Showed we just don't quite have the skill level to do it.

Ugly:
- Melksham. Been happy to watch and see with him. But he was awful. When Hibberd is fit, GTFO Milkshakes!
- Forward structure. was terrible today. So many more possessions, and yet had no structure going forward. Should have gone man on man earlier.
- Lewis and Hogan. Both are likely to get a week IMO. Just stupid unnecessary acts that now leave us vulnerable against a good team in Geelong.
- Carlton. The style they played showed where they are at. I feel they got on top of us for 2 quarters yet still played too defensive. With Murphy, Gibbs, Cripps, Simpson and Kruezer still playing well, they should have gone for our throats instead of playing this ugly defensive style. Had us on the ropes and couldn't give that knock out blow. Love watching Cripps go about it though but he needs more help in the middle.

Good
Jeffy!!
Clarry.
Wattsy's left foot.
Beating a side who clearly got themselves up for this one.
Weid growing weekly.
Vince and Kent back in the side next week with Hibbo not far away so we can flick his mate Melkshite.

Bad
Not snuffing them out early when we had all the ball and overused it like a pack of arrogant bastards.
Hoges and Lewis tapping blokes just hard enough to earn a week each.
Our inability to breakthrough their well organised defence.

Fugly
The Carlton banner.
Matthew 'Crater Face' Kreuzer

Review Dees v Carlton: the Good, the Bad and the Fugly