And I know we get annoyed when we hear of our guys requiring surgery during the off-season and delays to start the next season, but damn I'm glad I haven't read a story like this happening
At times it seems like their social media team signed the AFL etiquette book but without actually having read it:
Can you say trade manipulation...
And I know we get annoyed when we hear of our guys requiring surgery during the off-season and delays to start the next season, but damn I'm glad I haven't read a story like this happening
No current season stats available
No different to when Melbourne were on the bottom or the 'handouts' sydney got when they lost 40 something games in a row in the 90s. We dont have relegation its not the EPL.
I dont know how old you are but not that long ago they were the 'team of the 90s' and geelong were 7 million in debt. All teams go through cycles.
100%What are you talking about?
I'm 34, and saw North and Carey in his prime at a young age.
This has nothing to do with comparing eras, and everything to do with the remaining vestiges of the integrity of the comp being torn apart.
Have you seen their board, their supporters, their club, their coaches? They all think it's their god given right to be handed all this assistance - because they f*cked up their club WILLINGLY - so they could 'burn it all down and start again.'
Sam 'knees' Mitchell did that with Hawthorn, and he had them playing competitive footy in the following season. I hate the guy and the club, but I respect them immensely.
It was a different time 30 years ago. Clubs didn't have the AFL assistance they get these days, priority picks were automatic, and the league as a whole was in serious trouble multiple times with many clubs. Difference is, none of these clubs WILLINGLY chose this path.
North destroyed their club and culture when they let Petrie, Boomer and Dal Santo go. They then go and destroy it again when they f*ck it all up and get rid of all their senior players a few years back...now they have the audacity to ask for Priority picks two years in a row - because they wanted to rebuild from scratch?
You're missing the wider point I'm making. If we allow clubs, via mismanagement, to do complete rebuilds...and then run to the AFL when they're not competitive for 4 years as a predictable result of a horribly run club with a pathetic culture - what example are we setting for the future?
'Oh you're mid-table, bottom out and we'll give you all the picks you need because we want you to be competitive.' Any club can now point to this situation moving forward, and do the same. It's a shambolic mess, and it's all of the North Melbourne Football Club's creation.
They're a pathetic organization and a drain on the league. Replace them with Tassie and be done with it.
A great mate of mine played for Norf in the '75 GF and I reckon even he would agree.What are you talking about?
This has nothing to do with comparing eras, and everything to do with the remaining vestiges of the integrity of the comp being torn apart.
Have you seen their board, their supporters, their club, their coaches? They all think it's their god given right to be handed all this assistance - because they f*cked up their club WILLINGLY - so they could 'burn it all down and start again.'
Sam 'knees' Mitchell did that with Hawthorn, and he had them playing competitive footy in the following season. I hate the guy and the club, but I respect them immensely.
It was a different time 30 years ago. Clubs didn't have the AFL assistance they get these days, priority picks were automatic, and the league as a whole was in serious trouble multiple times with many clubs. Difference is, none of these clubs WILLINGLY chose this path.
North destroyed their club and culture when they let Petrie, Boomer and Dal Santo go. They then go and destroy it again when they f*ck it all up and get rid of all their senior players a few years back...now they have the audacity to ask for Priority picks two years in a row - because they wanted to rebuild from scratch?
You're missing the wider point I'm making. If we allow clubs, via mismanagement, to do complete rebuilds...and then run to the AFL when they're not competitive for 4 years as a predictable result of a horribly run club with a pathetic culture - what example are we setting for the future?
'Oh you're mid-table, bottom out and we'll give you all the picks you need because we want you to be competitive.' Any club can now point to this situation moving forward, and do the same. It's a shambolic mess, and it's all of the North Melbourne Football Club's creation.
They're a pathetic organization and a drain on the league. Replace them with Tassie and be done with it.
What are you talking about?
Didn't David Spriggs injure himself in the off season. What did he do
As a kid I had the #6 on my jumper for Spriggsy... Came in handy when we picked up Ottens. Went down to one of the pre-season training sessions and hung my jumper over the fence for the big Pill to sign, he goes "jeez I think you're the first one with my number mate!"In November 2001, the young Geelong midfielder made a fateful decision to jump from a ledge at a Lorne pub late at night. He proceeded to land awkwardly on the beach, badly injure his knee and miss the entire 2002 season. The promising Cat was never the same and played only another 21 games for the club before being delisted at the end of 2004.
No current season stats available
Didn't Spriggs end up there? How many have gone from Sydney to Geelong?One of several former Cats who ended up at Sydney and accomplished absolutely nothing, alongside such luminaries as Henry Playfair, Leigh Brockman, and Paul "torture" Chambers.