AFL Toast RND 6: Win Against The Crows

They actually are on bigfooty at least. I guess there's not much to complain about given that they were smashed in most facets almost all game save for a little in the second and third.
Yeah, there are a few saying they were robbed but many acknowledging we were the superior team by a long way.

If our forward line was geelong's that is a 100+ win.

rankine didn’t really do much for the first half but duz started on him.

rachele was his own worst enemy, arguably lost them the game in the last 10 minutes

soligo (and dawson) just played better than we were able to, i think caldwell moved to a defensive role on dawson towards the end of the third and it quelled his influence but soligo appeared to have no direct opponent
Soligo is very hard to stop in close. Very strong and clean hands over the ball and has some of the best footwork in the phone box.

Defense won that game for us last night. Hasn't been mentioned but tsatas as a sub was a bad call, nearly cost us the game with a no look 20m snap in adelaides 50m that luckily went to noone. If Scott's going to play him I reckon he needs to be started, to come on in the last 10 minutes with that kind of intensity is a lot of pressure on the kid. Needed time to work his way into the game.

Speaking of no look snaps, really wish a couple players would lower their eyes out of the packs. Was pretty frantic so can't be too harsh, a tough win. Even though he is down on form you can't drop Draper for Collingwood gotta back him in for a big game like that, will be some tough calls this week on the team.

Fox headline this morning focused on Draper "taking the piss" because he apparently reenacted his "flop". Then they include this from Lyon; “It’s unfair to isolate it into one incident at the end. But it looks to me like he fell on it and then hooked it back in.”

The whole article literally isolates the game to this incident. No mention at all of the ball being knocked under him.
I find the commentary on Draper's actions after the game quite amusing. There is vision of him showing others how he laid on the ground with his arms out and that is somehow "taking the piss". Why wasnt he merely explaining what happened?

Can’t remember too many games in recent years where we come back twice in a game like that. 19 down in third and they’d kicked seven straight. Huge effort last 10-15 mins of that quarter to get back in front.

Then that last quarter when they got 7 up. Just ground it out and maintained the pressure, not pretty but great stuff. Defensive structure terrific for first time in years. Closer to a brand required for finals in a long time

Did our best to throw it away at times with some baffling decision making and skill errors. Our pressure and intent was excellent across the game but we struggled to make it count. We also gifted them goals through basic errors or blatant free kicks

Durham backed up with another excellent game. Merrett, Caldwell, Jones as well.
Parish was pretty quiet, Langford struggled and Draper looked completely lost at times.

You'd almost want to suggest match fixing in the last minute or so. Martin's kick to the boundary for a deliberate OOB was very odd. And then our design making kicking in from full back with 20 seconds left on the clock where 2 marks would have ran out time...

Umpiring was poor all game. We got the rub at times but they were noticeable in a negative way all night and there was no consistency across the ground.

We already knew he was a flog but Tex really reinforced his reputation last night...

I find the commentary on Draper's actions after the game quite amusing. There is vision of him showing others how he laid on the ground with his arms out and that is somehow "taking the piss". Why wasnt he merely explaining what happened?
Fox is also casually using the word 'diving' to describe Draper's action. Did he dive or fall?

How long did we actually hold on for? Five minutes under extreme heat? Controversial finish or not, that takes some serious mental fortitude under serious pressure.

Interstate wins are rare for this footy club, so I’m enjoying this.

Was pure torture that last 5 minutes, loved it.

Fox is also casually using the word 'diving' to describe Draper's action. Did he dive or fall?
plus he was already on the ground and the ball was knocked under him. Then the siren went shortly after before he had reasonable time to dispose of it.

Funny how they also forget the free against Langford at half time which was a shocker

plus he was already on the ground and the ball was knocked under him. Then the siren went shortly after before he had reasonable time to dispose of it.

Funny how they also forget the free against Langford at half time which was a shocker
I didn't watch the game. I'm just mindful that it's in Fox's best interests to maintain the oppo rage.

I'd be interested in seeing how Adelaide's pressure ratings looked, they had significantly less tackles than us but it looked like we never really had much space to work with and I think that impacted the quality of our inside 50s.

We also never seemed to have a good matchup or a free player inside 50, were they playing a spare back or something? Might have been why they struggled to get the ball up their end.

I think the most important thing for the side is that we didn't give up when they slammed on a bunch of goals in a row, in previous years that would have blown out as we limped to the final siren. This side cracks in for the entire game so we're always in with a sniff.

We were all over them for most of the game and they were flooding their D fifty.

I actually think there is enough reasonable doubt for the umpire to look at it and not pay it purely because a big, chunky idiot basically lying on the ground in a contested situation with the express intention to disrupt the contest with his body but have no interest in the ball is not something they’ve seen before because no one is stupid enough to do it.

It doesn’t have the regular trappings of something they pay because he didn’t dive on it, or drag it in or stop it getting out.

It honestly looks like Draper saw the contest coming his way and thought the best way for me to stop Tex’s momentum if for me to get in his path and get low so he has to go over or around me and get caught. That part is exactly what happens but then he kinda glitches when he has to play the ball.

Pretty funny.
This is some next level mental juxtaposition of that last play. It’s so crazy it’s almost believable in the Draper-sphere. I’m adopting it from here on…

Draper play is a feature not a fault.

This is some next level mental juxtaposition of that last play. It’s so crazy it’s almost believable in the Draper-sphere. I’m adopting it from here on…

Draper play is a feature not a fault.

So the best way to look at it is the alley oop scene in Semi Pro, they do the alley oop for the first time, everyone’s jaw hits the ground and Father Pat calls a foul because he’s never seen that before and it scares him.

Not sure you can pay holding the ball against a player that’s not holding the ball, never had any intention of getting the ball or doing anything apart from essentially conduct a sit in in the middle of the contest to make it more difficult for everyone around him.

If it’s stupid and it works, it’s not stupid.

Obviously understanding why guys like Heppell and Jake Kelly continue to get picked, Scott trusts them to do what is asked.

Feel last night may be a real turning point in finding out the guys who Scott trusts and who he doesn't as we battled hard right to the end.

I wonder if we really see some surprising calls come years end on some guys who have been important players for us over the years who aren't the main bean moving forward.

regardless of where the Crows are at coming back from being down in the third is not an easy task, esp as we wasted so many opportunities earlier in the game. Would have been easy to drop our heads.

Every bit a Collingwood type win. Pies won heaps of games off dubious non calls but silence there.

Lost count how many times the Crows threw the ball.

Our defensive pressure was off the charts which was nice to see. Skills & fwd entries still a work in progress. improve 10% and we win that one by 30+.

I feel a lot more philosophical about watching us this year, probably because I don't see us as a serious contender so just want to see improvement and progress after so many false starts. So I was actually thinking it might be a good thing when Adelaide came back because the team needed that test. Huge effort to arrest the momentum and hit back on the road.

AFL Toast RND 6: Win Against The Crows