• B. Miller

Votes: 28 17.2%
  • K. McAuliffe (Sub)

Votes: 4 2.5%

Mate ... there was no intent for the first half of the 3rd quarter ... and that is where the game was lost ... don't candy coat it ... when the team is poor coming out of the half ... the head coach has failed ... I sat when Yze has been great ... this week he stank from team selection to game day coaching
Yes needed to pull the trigger early on the sub in the third. Selections were poor and amateurish.

What?

Ross was amazing…
and Dow…who has been asked to do a lot in the middle was quite good…what are you expecting?

Both are our future
What a future we have then.

If we go that way we may as well not play Dusty either since let’s face it
He’s probably not around for our next flag or even next year maybe

Just got to pick our best 22 every week, the kids will push them out but no point doing it prematurely otherwise we turn into west coast or north and destroy whatever we have left of our winning culture

Macca is not best-22. He has played 5 games and has zero goals or goal assists. He is almost league leading in both turnovers per disposal and clangers per disposal.

He started this game giving a stupid in the back free kick away to Steele and it got worse from there.

Honestly… tell me 2 good things McIntosh did all game today? I could provide the same question for each of the preceding 4 weeks.

He has 10 x score involvements and 6 x tackles
In 5 x full games of football.

So he’s basically zero offensive threat. And how often do we see Macca taking marks across half back or providing attacking run out of the D50? Almost never.

As for Pickett … just clanger after clanger… does more good things than Macca so it’s probably unfair to lump them together, but today there was getting caught HTB .. at least once or twice a game. The blazing kicks out of the full under zero pressure when we had the momentum of the game. The dropped chest mark that put himself under pressure and stopped a quick outlet and resulted in an eventual turnover. The little 20m kick out of full back that missed his target by miles….

I’m happy to play Pickett … just don’t play them both. Look at what’s happened with Brown getting opportunity over Grimes. With Campbell getting opportunities early with Mansell injured. Even Lefau today … not great but he did have 7 x score involvements in a very low scoring game and is improving.

Changes (assuming Mcaullife and Dow injured)

Out: Macca. Mcaullife Dow

Ins: Baker. Banks. Clarke

Sonsie can play more inside mid with Ross.

MRJ and Brown were stiff to miss out of my top 5.

Very impressed with what Yze has done to date.
If we had one of Lynch, Balta, Prestia or Hopper on the park for a full match we would’ve beaten Carlton and St Kilda and we would be looking far more promising with 3 wins.

We are playing the kids and are largely competitive for long chunks of the game.
A period of lapses or turnovers is what has cost us against Carlton, Port and Saints and you get that with a young side.

Our backline has been extremely solid.
Our midfield has upped the temp lately and are breaking even in the clearances.
Our forward line was looking functional when we had Lynch and Balta on the field and now we have neither at least Bolton, Mansell and MRJ and creating something when the ball does hit the deck.

We brought in Kosi as insurance for Lynch but he was largely disappointing today. I can deal with him bring the ball to ground but he got out marked and out positioned on a number of occasions today which really halted our momentum when going inside 50.
totally agree, our back line was awesome today, gee, we are doing it tough with injuries but how good were they?
Lynch and balta out are nearly impossible to cover, Miller, brown, there is a lot to get excited about.

totally agree, our back line was awesome today, gee, we are doing it tough with injuries but how good were they?
Lynch and balta out are nearly impossible to cover, Miller, brown, there is a lot to get excited about.

I don’t know why it always happens to us but imagine Carlton’s forward line without Curnow and McKay or Geelong’s without Hawkins and Cameron.

I’m stoked , reckon Yze has been great with a fair more atttractive game plan. .
Injuries have crippled us and forced the playing of kids who are showing their worth .
We’ve been in most games for large periods which gives indication the kids are up to it but run oughta puff.
We need to load up on kpp and * off louie .
Yea signs are great , players are playing for the coach ,we’re in every game young players coming on , ‘tis only structural holes that has cost us 2w ,,,kpp stock needs to be no 1 priority, and if I hear best available, I’ll spew up

Really enjoyed watching the game today. Not really concerned with the result as I didn't expect us to get the win over the Saints. What I did enjoy though was the continued good signs from the kids. Brown looked even better again as he settles into his role. Campbell continued his fine form and while he had a couple of errors good things happen more often than not, Maurice laid some crucial tackles that resulted in goals when we shouldn't have got them. Dow made a good start to the game before rolling his ankle when stepping on the footy, what was pleasing was that he got it re-strapped and returned to the game and still had some important touches before eventually being subbed out. Mansell didn't quite have the game that he had last week, but he showed some real strength over the footy and won contested footy that kept us in possession. McAuliffe in his limited appearance showed that he won't be overawed at the level with 4 disposals and 3 tackles, looking forward to seeing him getting more opportunities in the coming weeks.

Of the experienced guys, how good was it to see a fully fit Martin rolling around doing as he pleased, while Bolton played the type of game that we used to see Martin play at his peak. Nankervis was very strong again in the contest against Marshall and probably just won their battle overall. Taranto seems to have found his groove again and worked well in the middle alongside Ross who seems to be flourishing back in the middle of the ground like he did very early on in his career.

As for next week Baker will be welcomed back, but it will be a bit of a nervous wait for Vlastuin after his dangerous tackle against Butler in the 3rd quarter, it should only be a fine, but you just never know with the MRO. Dow may make way depending on how his ankle is after rolling it and with the bye the following week, giving him a couple of weeks to get it right may not be a bad thing. You'd have to wonder how much credits McIntosh has left before he gets the tap, while the Pickett roller coaster ride continues to frustrate as he goes from doing something good to doing something head scratching. I can also see a lot of discussion happening around the make up of the forward line. Koschitzke while not playing a great game certainly did what was asked of him in terms of competing inside F50 and giving Nankervis a break in the ruck. Would we be better off giving Ryan or Naismith a run alongside Koschitzke up forward and allowing them to be the back up to Nankervis while leaving Koschitzke forward permanently as it was quite obvious that we lost structure up forward when Koschitzke was up the ground and Lefau was left as the lone marking target.

FWIW I'd go with:

Out: Lefau Dow McIntosh
In: Ryan Baker Ralphsmith

B: Miller Young Broad
HB: Brown Vlastuin D.Rioli
C: Campbell Taranto Pickett
HF: Sonsie Mansell M.Rioli
F: Bolton Koschitzke Martin
R: Nankervis Ross Baker
INT: Short Graham McAuliffe Ryan Ralphsmith

In his 3rd game of footy Lefau had 7 score involvements, including a goal and a goal assist….have a look at what Cadman was doing in his first season in 2023. Lefau is doing an excellent job given his inexperience and lack of help around him. No way he gets dropped IMO.

He’s made a load of progress in a few weeks , can’t wait to see when he gets 10-20 games under the belt

We played so well early, what the hell went wrong?

No wonder Kosi was cheap, absolute spud.

Pickett and Kmac shouldn’t play again. Keep the kids in.

Dusty did some nice things but I wonder if his heart’s in it any more. I could be wrong.

My mate was at the game .. said Dusty was screaming at the runners to get him into the midfield when we’d lost momentum. Don’t turn into Karen Cornes and query his motivation when he’s just played his heart out in a close loss FFS. Leave the Dusty bashing to oppo fans and the media.

Sorry mate but I don’t think the kids were our biggest problem.

Correct Short couldn't hit the side of a barn. Pickett and Macca turnovers. Graham running like he had lead hanging off each leg.

But the kids made more than their fair share inside forward 50 that was my point and playing lefau and kosi was playing two down that's on the match committee. And Mansell is just a battler no poise with ball in hand.

Always hurts after a loss but gee there’s some good signs for the future. To keep showing this fight and hunger allows these youngsters to see what it takes to win.
Unfortunately the loss of both balta and lynch showed in the end, we just could not even break even on those long get out of jail kicks.
Tom Browne looks to have some talent, Campbell had a bit of a down game but has shown more than enough that he belongs at the level. Hard to gauge our smaller forward line when it was hard to get the ball to ground.
Reckon with Liam baker there kamikazing in with 3 min to go could be been a different outcome

Yze said in his presser that Kozi will hold his spot.

Yeah Adem the MC and your polish was what was lacking. Pissed off losing games bc of incompetence in selection and stupid game day coaching decisions. Should’ve had three wins this season and the MC has messed them up with selection and poor game day tactics. The excuses are over.

Going full glass half full, our season was mortally wounded with gibcus going down and ended with Lynch and Balta going down - so playing to win but ultimately losing is the best outcome for 2024

The good from the past fortnight

• Yze clearly has buy-in the way the team has applied itself the past 2 weeks
  • Brown has really impressed - elite kicking and defensive skills. I now understand playing Balta forward
  • MJ has found a role that maximises his niche attributes. Again, kudos Yze
  • Dusty & Bolton were clinical
  • we are likely looking at a top 5 and top 25 pick in the draft. We desperately need some top end talent injected into the side, which is just the panacea ahead of Tassie joining

All good signs, but I still go to bed tonight absolutely ******* furious
Don't go posting the good without putting in Ben Miller

That's what happens when you have s**t team selection.
Kosi is ******* soft!
Naismith or Ryan would have been better.
Sonsie made too many errors
Too much ball watching by the forwards
Campbell needs a spell after todays game
Graham is a plodder
Potting 2 kids and a guy playing his second game for us. Hmm...
Would’ve won if Yze started McAuliffe. He’s earned his spot more than any other player on the ******* team and you make him sub on his debut, sack him already stupid campaigner!
What a stupid comment.
Frustrating game, red time goals once again costing us.

Short, pickett, Graham and McIntosh never again.
Let's just drop all our senior players and at once and do what Melbourne did under Mark Neeld. That turned out well.
Sonsie was dog s**t in the last quarter.
Dusty should have had a shot instead of kicking it to a 1 on 2 contest.
So many brain fades it's ******* unbeleivable
Sonsie got in the right position a lot in the last quarter and made some mistakes. It happens and will happen again. By the way, second in pressure acts for us. Tried his heart out.
You can * your honourable losses.

We had this game and one qtr the 3rd we just coasted whilst Saints picked up the pace.

Lefau is not up to it seriously back to the reserves.
Sonsie who i like made crucial errors late in the last.
Mansell lol how many times did he just kick or handball to nowhere
Junior tried but overall was so so
Campbell who i also like made to many blunders

Kosi back to reserves does not work hard enough

Pickett omg way to many turnovers for my liking.
Literally potting all of our kids, most of which weren't even bad. Maurice and Mansell good. Campbell and Sonsie made errors but were in the right places. Lefau is out of his depth but competing hard and wouldn't be getting games if we had our full complement.
Campbells disposal and decision making…the jury is out for mine. Will give him time though.
Strange comment, he has shown exceptional poise through his first 5 games. Had a down game today disposal wise and it's no surprise it came on a ground the size of 10c piece.
Dow and Ross aren’t up to the level.
That’s ok.
They had a crack.
Ross is most certainly up to the level. Dow jury out but has showed promise.
I think Mansell is the least of our problems. Would feast if we had a half decent tall forward line imo
Agree. Mansell has been important for our connection between the arcs and is tough as nails.
how was maurice immense. bolton was immense. my daughter could have kicked riolis goals
Yeah I'm sure your daughter could've put one through from 52m against the wind. And tackled like she was shot out of a cannon for the entire game. Maurice is growing game on game.
Its a stupid comment sure but the members deserve an explanation as to why Graham comes back in underdone and plays in front of Kane. It was a stupid decision that makes no sense.
Equal high in tackles and in our top third for pressure acts. I'm not a fan boy but that's why he is in the team.
Also you know what's most sad of all is the realisation that Dusty was a one-off premiership streak hero. I thought he was a one man hero who carried a team, but he isn't. If he hasn't got the pack that gets it to him, he's nowhere to be seen.
In other words, you know nothing about football.
Mate ... there was no intent for the first half of the 3rd quarter ... and that is where the game was lost ... don't candy coat it ... when the team is poor coming out of the half ... the head coach has failed ... I sat when Yze has been great ... this week he stank from team selection to game day coaching
Oh, we conceded 3 goals in a row at the start of the 3rd quarter, 5 games into a rebuild. Boohoo. Maybe the opposition coach, known for making great in game adjustments, made some great in game adjustments? Nah it's all Yze's fault and he's stinking the joint up. We actually rallied well after that and probably got the game even with spurts of momentum. We almost ran over them in the last quarter and if it wasn't for a couple of St Kilda blokes long fingernails we may well be celebrating a win.

Player Thoughts
1. Vlastuin - incredibly frustrating game for Nick. Got the role that he likes being the free behind the ball, but conceded 5 frees against which undid a lot of good work.
4. Martin - a fit and firing Dusty is a wonderful thing to watch. Did as he pleased in the first half, to give us all a reminder of his best, however he wasn't able to finish off the full game. Still finished with 30 disposals.
5. Ross - getting his chance back in the centre square as a midfielder and doing a solid job with 24 disposals & 13 contested. Will be interesting to see how they use him as we get other back into the mix.
10. M.Rioli - seems like getting to 30 games experience has flicked the switch in Maurice that sees him believe that he belongs. Only had the 8 touches, but kicked 2 goals and set up a couple of more with brilliant run down tackles where he crunched opponents.
14. Taranto - back to somewhere near his best the last couple of weeks. 28 disposals 18 contested & 7 tackles is the kind of all around game that saw Taranto win the Jack Dyer last year.
15. Short - frustrating game yet again from Short. While he gets a heap of it, his ball use just isn't quite as damaging as it could be. Seems to be getting under a lot of his kicks, which sees them lacking the penetration we're used to.
17. D.Rioli - tried to get the rebounding game going off half back, but the ground just didn't allow him the ability to have the time and space that really allows him to be damaging.
20. Koschitzke - not a great game, but given the circumstances I thought he was solid enough in his role. We did him no favours bombing the ball on his head as that's not his strength. He kept presenting and making a contest where he could, but will be looking forward to playing on grounds that have more space for him to work in as a lead & mark key forward.
25. Nankervis - the captain had a big game against Marshall, while also getting back and taking a number of intercept marks in the Saints forward line. Only thing I'd be critical of with Nankervis was his lack of hit outs to advantage given his dominance in the hit out count.
27. Dow - had a solid first quarter before stepping on the footy and rolling his ankle. Fought on for another couple of quarters with limited impact. Depending on how his ankle recovers this week could possibly miss this week to allow him to take advantage of the bye to come back for ANZAC eve without limitation
28. McAuliffe - got his chance after Dow was subbed out and looked good enough before he too tweaked an ankle. It didn't look as bad as Dows though and Kane returned to finish the game. Would be good to see him get a full game next week against the Eagles.
29. Bolton - played the type of game we used to see Martin play at his peak. Believed that any time the ball came his way he'd win the contest and then hit the scoreboard. Finished the game with 19 disposals and 4.1. Could very much be on his way to an All Australian spot this year.
30. Brown - has quickly found his feet down back looking calm and composed with ball in hand. His ball use can really set up rebound opportunities as he takes on kicks others don't. Should be playing most of the games this year.
31. Mansell - not quite the same impact as he had last week, but still had some influence. Showed a strong body in the contest where he was able to wear contact and maintain possession of the footy. Forming a good partnership with Maurice as pressure forwards.
33. McIntosh - if it wasn't for the injury crisis I'm not sure he'd still be in the side. Not having a positive impact on the game with ball in hand, but his ability to be able to run up and down the wing for 4 quarters sees him remain in the side. Will want to find some form over the next few weeks before we start getting players back if he wants to remain in the seniors.
34. Graham - seems to have inherited whipping boy status this year, with may questioning his inclusion straight into the side, funny thing is, that a lot of those asking that question also seem to think that we'll get good compensation for him should he leave as a free agent. Free tip, you don't get good compensation for players who spend the year in the VFL. For better or worse Graham will be in the side for a lot of the season if healthy.
35. Broad - like Vlastuin a frustrating game for Broad. Held up well in the first half, but when the Saints got the game on their terms and were constantly bringing the ball into their forward line he struggled to impact the contest as he'd like to.
40. Sonsie - playing a role across HF which can be a feast or famine role depending on how well we win the ball up the ground. Could have easily finished the game with 3 goals and been a match winner late in the game. Another youngster who will play a lot of senior footy this year as he gets the chance to develop at the highest level.
42. Lefau - without Lynch and Balta there his rawness showed out even more. Doesn't quite get into the really dangerous positions he should be as a 2nd KPF to make the opposition wary of him. Has had a 3 game run, but should head back to the VFL to develop that understanding of how to play the role better.
44. Campbell - had a career high for disposals today, but didn't quite seem to have the same impact he did earlier in the season. A couple of errors where he got caught in possession or not giving the right option undone his good work. Getting more opportunities on the wing as the season unfolds which is a good sign for his development.
45. Young - had a good battle with King and probably broke even on the day, aided in part by Kings poor conversion. Don't mind Young as part of a KPD group with Miller and Gibcus moving forward.
46. Miller - making the most of his chances and will put himself in good position to secure his future one way or the other come seasons end. Hopefully we can get him re-signed as he seems to have finally found his role.
50. Pickett - like Kamdyn, Pickett seems to be holding his spot due to circumstances, but it's not the injury crisis playing it's part, but more the fact that he needs to play most of the year to get to the 100 game mark for future father/son considerations.