Autopsy Roast, Toast vs Bulldogs & Changes for Freo

Best on ground vs Bulldogs

Although it's obviously disappointing to lose, this is the first time all season I've felt we actually have a finals caliber team, especially after last weeks pitiful effort.

I agree, the Tigers of old would have dropped off in the last quarter, they didn't they kept coming. Definitely a genuine finals contender this year Tigers.

I thought Dusty was brilliant, the equal of Danger without being a show pony.

Finally, just an observation but I though Jack in the last quarter was the difference between a win and a loss for the Tigers. Good luck for the rest of the year.

There was a free against Jack where he went up for a mark but IIRC he was in front of a defender? What was the free for?
Late in the third qtr for shepperding in a 1 on 1 in which he used his hips, umps at that stage were in a free frenzy to the dogs.

Fun fact or sad fact: the 3 umpires last night were the same 3 who tried their hardest to get the dogs the win v GWS last week, they have delivered a 51-31 advantage to the dogs in 2 games, coincidently those 3 umpires along with Schmitt have umpired the most dog games in the bullflogs last 11 games.

Late in the third qtr for shepperding in a 1 on 1 in which he used his hips, umps at that stage were in a free frenzy to the dogs.

Fun fact or sad fact: the 3 umpires last night were the same 3 who tried their hardest to get the dogs the win v GWS last week, they have delivered a 51-31 advantage to the dogs in 2 games, coincidently those 3 umpires along with Schmitt have umpired the most dog games in the bullflogs last 11 games.
So if he was planted on the ground and the defender was behind him and jack stuck his arse into the defender to make room for the mark what's the difference? I can't believe people actually bet money they've worked for on this sport when you have campaigners like that ump officiating. It's a ****ing fraud.

Key moment for me was midway through the last quarter when Johannisen was on the ground in the middle of the ground and was surrounded by two Richmond players but was allowed to handball it to a teammate; it's not like he was going anywhere - one of the Richmond players should have covered the Footscray player who was on his feet
We do it all the time.Sometimes 3 and all it takes is the ball to get out and bang.This was why the good sides are so good.They have confidence in their team mate that at least he,ll get a ballup out of it.Until we start doing the same against the better sides the more it will stay the same.

Yep i completely agree. Its still disappointing to lose a close one like that but we have exceeded everyones expectations this year and I like the new gameplan. Neil Balme seems to know what he is doing, the trading was great in the offseason. The future looks pretty good considering how many young guys we had out there last night and they had a good crack against a premiership side. We were missing Vlastuin for most of the game, plus conca, prestia, nank, and we have only one forward so you cant really complain about the performance.
Vlastuin going down so early was costly.

That 1 decision didn't cost us the game, the ball went OOB. It would've been a throw in.
Agreed. Lambert and Martin both missed shots on goal and Lamberts strange bomb from the 50 on the boundary to about 45 out directly in front that got turned over immediately were all costly.

I reckon that was a miskick by Lambert. Either way he's too slow releasing the ball, Caddy is another.

Yep i completely agree. Its still disappointing to lose a close one like that but we have exceeded everyones expectations this year and I like the new gameplan. Neil Balme seems to know what he is doing, the trading was great in the offseason. The future looks pretty good considering how many young guys we had out there last night and they had a good crack against a premiership side. We were missing Vlastuin for most of the game, plus conca, prestia, nank, and we have only one forward so you cant really complain about the performance.

Injuries don't count.
They didn't count for Melbourne when they lost two blokes against us as many people went to great lengths to point out, so they cannot be used as an excuse for us.
Besides, the Dogs have a plethora of injuries themselves.

John laroquette steels the show
4573805_std.jpg

Just dissecting a post i got from a bullflog poster yesterday in the preview thread

The u
mpires are not meeting now to work out how many free kicks they will give to the Bulldogs.
Off course they are not meeting it just comes naturally to them.

They will call it the way they see it. Like they do every week.
Yeah in the bullflogs favour.

what the umpires do wont mean shit.

like i said to the flog who wrote this to me, get your ******* hand off it pal.

This is what i said on monday in the preview thread,

The only thing more certain than death and taxes in this game is that the bullflogs will win the free kick count 26-14 and most of them will be in favourable positions and that's not counting the rapid fire 4-5 frees to help turn the tide when it looks like the tigers are getting on top.
****en robbed

if they umpired properly last night we win even though we fizzled out after the 1st quarter

if we miss the 4 by a game then i'll take a dump outside afl house. lose to freo next week and the season is pretty much in the shitter

thanks umps

View attachment 367535 HTB dustin Martin, free kick foostcray ,, what a ****en rort
Thought the same thing when I was watching Gameday and they were all chugging on the Bont man glue. The set up was "can anyone ever tackle Dusty?" while the Bont is sitting there in the guests chair and they then roll the vision. Blind Freddy can see that the contact is high and is therefore yet another missed free kick to us. I understand that this can be missed in real time at the game, but for f..k sake some channel 7 editor has highlighted that as a good passage of play to stroke the Bont. Give it rest you muppets. This free kick discrepancy needs to be addressed.

Umpiring was average all night and the decision at the end was bad but we cannot blame that as what lost us the game. If it hadn't been called deliberate it would have been a throw in and they smashed us at clearances all night so they most likely would have won the ball away from there anyway.
Lost the game as we had too many passengers who just coast through the game. The bottom 6 players were the reason we lost.
Missing Prestia, Griffiths, Nankervis, Conca and losing Vlastuin early didn't help as he was playing well.

Elton - Geez he just isn't AFL standard. Has this guy ever even had a good game in the VFL? Just a big solid adonis with 0 footy skills or smarts.
C Ellis- He's a good kick apparently, what else? Doesn't seem to have an appetite for the contest. Crossroads. Either make the decision to keep him in the 1's for 3-4 weeks to develop or tell him he isn't getting another game until he has several weeks of good form in the VFL.
Castagna- needs a spell
Rioli- like having him in the side because he makes the opposition nervous when he's near them but probably needs a rest.
Soldo- did a couple of nice things but got smashed in the ruck by Boyd, Dogs roved to his taps all night.
Lambert - again did some nice things but he made a few bad decisions and also just seems to coast and goes unsighted when the going gets tough. Don't know why he's being played ahead of Miles.

We desperately need to do something with the KPP situation. Give Garth a game and move Astbury up forward, or keep Soldo in another week and play Nank up forward, or give Moore a game. Jack needs help. Surely Garth or Moore can't do any worse than Elton?

Positives? Butler continues to get involved and kick goals. Astbury had a good game and Grimes is very underrated in my opinion. Riewoldt had a blinder and I thought Cotchin stood up in the last and really wanted the game, had some really good tackles too, just didn't have many mates out there.

Would've taken 5-2 at the start of the year. Hope to bounce back against Freo.

Autopsy Roast, Toast vs Bulldogs & Changes for Freo