Autopsy Round 13, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs North Melbourne

Ginbey came into frame for selection anywhere from Gold Coasts pick at 5 (6 on draft night) to our pick 8 (9 on draft night).

Ginbey is currently tracking to be a B+ type player, similar to Crisp.

We’ve had 3 drafts now to recruit talent, and the only genuine guns we’ve unearthed is Harley and Hough.

Hewett showed he has upside to be included in that group, and Maric has genuine skill but after that it is pretty slim pickings.

It’s genuinely ok to question the list build and talent acquisition over the last few years, when majority of our young players would struggle to get a game in most WAFL teams.
Gold Coast only were considering ginbey because he was likely happy to move.

Literally no one pre draft thought he was anywhere close to wardlaw and sheezel.

We can certainly question the build but we have only had four top 20 picks so far. Nowhere near enough to rejuvenate.

Selecting ginbey and Hewett over sheezel is one of our least questionable decisions.

Culley wasn’t the issue, and neither was Hutchinson.

There was a spot up for grabs and both earned their selection.

The issue is very much that the bar for selection in our team is so low it’s in the gutter.
Culley clearly was an issue yesterday. What game were you watching? In the first half when he played in the middle we got the worst midfield slaughter of the year.

Hutchinson was alright but a small clearly should have been selected. Way too tall up forward.

Ginbey came into frame for selection anywhere from Gold Coasts pick at 5 (6 on draft night) to our pick 8 (9 on draft night).

Ginbey is currently tracking to be a B+ type player, similar to Crisp.

We’ve had 3 drafts now to recruit talent, and the only genuine guns we’ve unearthed is Harley and Hough.

Hewett showed he has upside to be included in that group, and Maric has genuine skill but after that it is pretty slim pickings.

It’s genuinely ok to question the list build and talent acquisition over the last few years, when majority of our young players would struggle to get a game in most WAFL teams.
Maybe that’s got more to do with our development program or lack thereof than anything else😟!

Gold Coast only were considering ginbey because he was likely happy to move.

Literally no one pre draft thought he was anywhere close to wardlaw and sheezel.

We can certainly question the build but we have only had four top 20 picks so far. Nowhere near enough to rejuvenate.

Selecting ginbey and Hewett over sheezel is one of our least questionable decisions.

I’m not questioning the decision.

It’s a no-brainer why we did it.

But, If Ginbey is our 2nd most valuable asset under 21 we’re in big strife.

3 drafts and we have Harley, Hough, Ginbey as 3 successful players from a dozen or so picks.

It’s pretty dire reading at this point in time.

Culley I thought was better than probably the consensus on here (I'm biased I like him!) but for someone just as slow as Sheed he stuck some big tackles, competed in the air and had a presence in his first game back at AFL level after an ACL - happy enough.

Biased? Not at all.

1717895770816.png
Awkward Bye Bye GIF

FWIW i also liked Culleys game and believe he offers more than both Sheed and Gaff.

I’m not questioning the decision.

It’s a no-brainer why we did it.

But, If Ginbey is our 2nd most valuable asset under 21 we’re in big strife.

3 drafts and we have Harley, Hough, Ginbey as 3 successful players from a dozen or so picks.

It’s pretty dire reading at this point in time.
We havnt really had many picks so far tho. Hewett, bazzo and Burgiel being perpetually injured isn’t the list managers fault either.

Where did I mention the list manager?

I’m not putting blame on any particular person, just pointing out that if you lined up players we have drafted since 2021 the only ones who get a tick are Harley, Ginbey and Hough. You could add Maric, but he’s an msd pick. Long was good, but 10D games as a half forward is hardly impactful.

3 ticks out of a dozen or so picks over 3 drafts.

At the same time, Melbourne has finished top 4 every year, added Van Rooyen, McVee, Tholstrup, Windsor to their best lineup.

Melbourne have added more talent through the draft than we have.

That’s quite something.

Eh. We had direct comparison between Ginbey and his direct peers in Sheezel and Wardlaw.

Ginbey showed flashed of some really good footy. Sheezel and Wardlaw played key roles their team.

I think that’s the difference most are pointing to, and it’s a valid point.

We’re talking about two guys who (reportedly) told interstate clubs point blank that they didn’t want to leave Victoria, right?

Don’t blame the recruiters in the instance. I would prefer a player who wants to be here, as opposed to someone sooking it up JHF style & potentially causing issues internally, even if they don’t quite have as much natural talent.

We’re talking about two guys who (reportedly) told interstate clubs point blank that they didn’t want to leave Victoria, right?

Don’t blame the recruiters in the instance. I would prefer a player who wants to be here, as opposed to someone sooking it up JHF style & potentially causing issues internally, even if they don’t quite have as much natural talent.

I’m not casting aspersions on anyone.

Just pointing out that being down bottom is meant to mean you bring talent in to your team.

Other than Harley, Ginbey and Hough we haven’t really added much talent from draft at all.

Neg- watched the last 2 minutes of hawks vs gws as the eagles ran out on the ground. Left a bad taste in the mouth. Witnessed the last 2 minutes of the game after the shitshow of the first 3 quarters. Sat in silence and vowed to boycott the rest of the round. Got home, flicked on the last 5 minutes of the suns game and told the 13 year old, to watch out for the game changing horrendous umpiring decision for the saints. Just left me disillusioned with the competition.

Pos- beast mode Yeo for a quarter was fun I guess

Can't wait to hear simmos praise for sheed in the presser with his massive 16 disposal effort. He really is an absolute cancer on this team. Just can't seem to get rid of him.

Same.

Unfortunately hard to see anyone in the WAFL pushing him outt.

Sheed will probably come out when Harley and Kelly come back.

Where did I mention the list manager?

I’m not putting blame on any particular person, just pointing out that if you lined up players we have drafted since 2021 the only ones who get a tick are Harley, Ginbey and Hough. You could add Maric, but he’s an msd pick. Long was good, but 10D games as a half forward is hardly impactful.

3 ticks out of a dozen or so picks over 3 drafts.

At the same time, Melbourne has finished top 4 every year, added Van Rooyen, McVee, Tholstrup, Windsor to their best lineup.

Melbourne have added more talent through the draft than we have.

That’s quite something.
I strongly question Melbourne adding more talent. That’s just rubbish.

Tholstrup has played one game hahaha.

I strongly question Melbourne adding more talent. That’s just rubbish.

Clearly Harley tilts the scales, but that’s a once in a decade kind of luck to have the pick to get that player.

When you have pick 1 and a generational talent, that’s not a recruiting/list management find, it’s a no-brainer.

Our list build is completely faltering and it’s time we acknowledge it.

Clearly Harley tilts the scales, but that’s a once in a decade kind of luck to have the pick to get that player.

When you have pick 1 and a generational talent, that’s not a recruiting/list management find, it’s a no-brainer.

Our list build is completely faltering and it’s time we acknowledge it.
Mate you used tholstrup as an example as to why Melbourne has added more talent. He has played one game.

Of the 12 kids we have added over the last three years there are no obvious poor picks. The most questionable one is Chesser. Who else has been questionable?

Two teams butchering it all day then an umpire deciding it with an absolute howler. The game proved there is not enough talent coming through grassroots footy to sustain 18 teams let alone another.
Should be three less teams in Vic, Tassie in, GWS to Canberra, Suns merge with Southport. 16 team comp for another 30+ years until Darwin and Cairns populations double/triple. That abysmal game yesterday proved there’s a talent issue.

From what I have seen so far I would prefer having ginbey and hewett over sheezel. This is reliant on hewett getting on the park.

Ginbeys output has probably been 70% of sheezel / wardlaw this year which is fine.
That's the key for me, if he gets and stays fit Hewett has the potential to be better than Ginbey

Mate you used tholstrup as an example as to why Melbourne has added more talent. He has played one game.

Of the 12 kids we have added over the last three years there are no obvious poor picks. The most questionable one is Chesser. Who else has been questionable?

Which ones do you give a tick for their development up to this point?

Harley, Hough, Ginbey.

Hewett is injured but he could be part of that group too.

We should be genuinely concerned about the lack of talent pushing up from WAFL.

Culley clearly was an issue yesterday. What game were you watching? In the first half when he played in the middle we got the worst midfield slaughter of the year.

Hutchinson was alright but a small clearly should have been selected. Way too tall up forward.
When you have slow players like sheed and culley in the centre you are always going to struggle .

Its why we did better once ryan went in there
Missing Kelly who is not quick but not slow either and Reid who is dynamic.

Its a shame Hewett is injured he moves through stoppage at pace like kerr did . Hewett is most definitely a centre square mid .

At this point do we just make sure Hewett is right for a pre season or hope he can get a couple of games to light the fire before pre season ?

Which ones do you give a tick for their development up to this point?

Harley, Hough, Ginbey.

Hewett is injured but he could be part of that group too.

We should be genuinely concerned about the lack of talent pushing up from WAFL.
Vast majority of them have been picked in the last 18 months. How quick do you expect players to develop? Quite a few have been injured.

You are the one claiming the drafting has been poor. So which picks do you think have not been as good as they should?

Autopsy Round 13, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs North Melbourne