List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

Sounds like ROB understands the script. We will keep the pick unless there’s an absurd offer made.

I reckon the script should be more solid on "we are taking no.1 pick to the draft" and then if someone wants to offer us anything for it we don't get the offers that are "fair".

I.e. only exceptional offers need apply
(And then hopefully we say no anyway)

My main read on the ROB interviews is that you wouldn't come out and talk that way (especially in terms of setting fan expectations) if you are going to turn around and accept 2+14 or something. There is also very little doubt now that the club would be very happy to get Reid in - hopefully makes it a little harder for the media to pretend we are more desperate for Curtin but not going to hold my breath there.

Yeo needs to be on the back flank. Ginbey should rotate there too.
If we get Reid we would have a 1-2 bulls in the middle at all times. How good would it be having Yeo be our primary inside mid with Reid on a forward flank and Ginbey on a back flank with the ability to swap them around so Yeo and Ginbey don't die. And if we have Robertson as well then we just bash teams up all day.

Where do people reckon draft pick numbers get close to their draft night number - where the ones pushed back to the queue jumpers float back due to picks disappearing as bids are paid for?

Around 40?

Where do people reckon draft pick numbers get close to their draft night number - where the ones pushed back to the queue jumpers float back due to picks disappearing as bids are paid for?

Around 40?
On Gold Coast alone, 34 becomes 33, 39 becomes 37, 53 becomes 49 and 58 becomes 53.

I reckon so much of this streams from the Footy Show. It's ruined the composition of all the panel shows. You get the slick host, the dumbarse/jester, and the journalist/boffin. And everybody stays in their lane and enjoys a bit of bullying. Hell, Triple M got Ross Lyon, a genuine football savant, and turned him into another guffawing slow.

The best thing about King is that he genuinely seems to like this stuff and always promotes the Champion Data guys. A show like First Crack is probably the best we're going to get.

It's even worse in print, except for the ABC where Cody Atkinson and Sean Lawson do great work - but ABC print is too far off Broadway to have any real influence.
Honestly I think people are unaware of the advertisement it is for CTE getting these former players on TV and showing the effect of cumulative head knocks. Thats why I think they stay with the tried and tested version you have above.

If we get Reid we would have a 1-2 bulls in the middle at all times. How good would it be having Yeo be our primary inside mid with Reid on a forward flank and Ginbey on a back flank with the ability to swap them around so Yeo and Ginbey don't die. And if we have Robertson as well then we just bash teams up all day.
Days of Yeo in the middle should be over, unless this treatment he's getting is super human.

Understand this....Yeo is done as midfielder. Get comfortable with this, BC next year he will predominantly be off half back.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I agree that should we take Harley, he likely starts the season on a HBF and helps elevate our back 6. He likely has stints in the middle and stints forward too, given his ability to be effective at any position.

Cole / Barass / Witherden
Hough / McGovern / Reid

It’s a pretty solid back 6. Could probably use a Schofield type to kill contests, but it’s a decent start.
?
1 . Reid split his time between forward and mid this year so stick him in the forward line with his mate long

2 . The back 6 shouldn't look like that too slow
Something like this would be more effective
B Cole Barrass Duggan
HB yeo McGovern Hough

With Jones and hunt running through the backline also. Suddenly our backline has some pace to it !

Witherden- Beagles

Days of Yeo in the middle should be over, unless this treatment he's getting is super human.
Nah. You can't throw Ginbey and Reid to the wolves. Without Shuey it is important that Yeo plays in the middle but it is equally important that he's not spending entire games there. In saying that, we almost need Robertson for the same reason.

Caller on Trade Radio - "Why would North trade up for Reid when they can just take Curtin & McKercher, or WCE, if they really want Curtin that badly just take him and North take Reid & McKercher?"

Morris and Edmund - "Hmm... why wouldn't they want pick 1?"

Producer screaming in the headphones: "Quick, cut this caller off! He's about to ruin our entire show's content for the next 3 months!"

Nah. You can't throw Ginbey and Reid to the wolves. Without Shuey it is important that Yeo plays in the middle but it is equally important that he's not spending entire games there. In saying that, we almost need Robertson for the same reason.
We still have Kelly, Sheed and Gaff + Petch to run through, so it's not like there aren't any senior bodies.

Producer screaming in the headphones: "Quick, cut this caller off! He's about to ruin our entire show's content for the next 3 months!"
Yeah, pretty much. They seemed dumbfounded at the possibility that North would just take their picks to the draft.

We still have Kelly, Sheed and Gaff + Petch to run through, so it's not like there aren't any senior bodies.
Sheed should be busy helping our WAFL midfield. I'll give Gaff benefit of the doubt for how he ended this season but he shouldn't be in the middle. I wouldn't mind seeing more of Petch in the middle. Culley will likely roll through the middle as well though he certainly looked more comfortable up forward.

I'd prefer Yeo to play in 70% of all available games with Reid, Hew, Ginners and be limited to HBF than play in 40% of all available games with those boys while trying to rotate through the midfield and hurting himself.

Yeah, pretty much. They seemed dumbfounded at the possibility that North would just take their picks to the draft.

"From our research West Coast are looking to trade down to get Curtin."

Oh the rage.

This is trouble. If they do get band 1 i’d say they’re going to be more willing to throw more at us. Let’s just hope it’s in the form of 2/3 and not 2/14/19 IMG_2510.png

Last edited by a moderator:

Around 40?

Depends entirely on who the GC suns trade with.