Rumour 2023 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 33!, 1 BIG FISH ALERT last October 4th) (7 confirmed! 11 Busted!)

Will Clayton Oliver join the Adelaide Crows?

A

And the top 15 key forwards according to the AFL Player Ratings and their draft cost:

C. Curnow - Pick 12

T. Walker - Pick 75 (NSW Scholarship Pick)

J. Cameron - Picks 13,15,20

T. Hawkins - Pick 41 (old F/S)

J. Daniher - Pick 10 (FA netted Essendon Pick 7)

J. Finlayson - Third Round Pick

A. Naughton - Pick 9

N. Larkey - Pick 73

C. Dixon - Pick 10

D. Fogarty - Pick 12

H. McKay - Pick 10

R. Lobb - Two 2nd round Picks

P. Wright - Pick 8 (Essendon paid 4th round pick)

T. Marshall - Pick 16

M. Lewis - Pick 76

And it should be noted that the next three players are Franklin, Riewoldt and Lynch - all of whom were top end first round draft picks. It seems that top Key Forwards, much like midfielders, require top end draft picks to acquire…

So I think the moral of the story is use top end draft picks on midfielders and key forwards. Using such picks on KPDs is almost certainly a waste…
I'm probably too young to remember, what exactly was the situation with the "NSW Scholarship Pick" that landed us Tex?

And the rucks:

M. Gawn - Pick 34

T. English - Pick 19

R. Marshall - Rookie Draft

J. Witts - pick 44

L. Jackson - 2 First round picks

S. Darcy - Pick 38

O. McInerney - Rookie Draft

R. O’Brien - Rookie Draft

T. Nankervis - Pick 46

K. Briggs - Pick 34

And the lesson for this is that you should never use draft capital on a ruck… the fact that Freo spent so much to get Jackson is absurd beyond belief!
Max Gawn at 34. We picked Gunston in that draft at 29 and the snake left us when he was looking good.:mad:

And the rucks:

M. Gawn - Pick 34

T. English - Pick 19

R. Marshall - Rookie Draft

J. Witts - pick 44

L. Jackson - 2 First round picks

S. Darcy - Pick 38

O. McInerney - Rookie Draft

R. O’Brien - Rookie Draft

T. Nankervis - Pick 46

K. Briggs - Pick 34

And the lesson for this is that you should never use draft capital on a ruck… the fact that Freo spent so much to get Jackson is absurd beyond belief!
What about small forwards (an area where we've used a significant amount of draft currency)?

And the general forwards:

T. Greene - Pick 11

D. Martin - Pick 3

I. Heeney - Pick 18 (Melbourne had bid 2 on him… rules were subsequently changed)

C. Cameron - Pick 12

M. Owens - Pick 33

Z. Bailey - Pick 15

I. Rankine - Pick 5

T. Papley - Pick 14

J. Stringer - Pick 5 (subsequently two second round picks)

N. Martin - Rookie Pick

K. Langford - Pick 17

J. Lukosius - Pick 2

K. Pickett - Pick 12

L. Schulz - Pick 57

G. Meirs - Pick 57

It actually seems that spending draft capital on general forwards is almost more of a necessity than mids… unless you’ve got pick 57. That seems like a winner of a pick for forwards…

Matt Flynn is the one that I think will prove to be the value pickup to whoever he goes. Think he's shown enough that he'd be an upgrade on Strachan if he was to go elsewhere (as mentioned previously) and challenge ROB. Whilst on the topic of GWS ruckmen, I wonder whether Braydon Preuss will be there next year, would not want but I'd love to see another player go into the 4 club club.
Preuss has not been able to string more than 4 consecutive games together, B4 getting injured .....for a massive physical specimen, he's a Doctor's delight

I'm probably too young to remember, what exactly was the situation with the "NSW Scholarship Pick" that landed us Tex?

It was a bit of a rort. The scholarship allowed AFL clubs to develop a NSW player for 3 years and then draft him with I believe their last live pick in the draft. I mean they had this wank bit of developing the kid both footy wise and life but lets face it, that never happened.

The best part of it was the VFL media used to say there was no talent coming oyut of NSW because they weren't in the early rounds of the draft

Preuss has not been able to string more than 4 consecutive games together, B4 getting injured .....for a massive physical specimen, he's a Doctor's delight
Surely the most overpaid ruckman of the past decade.

Oh yes..a 'daniher level manipulation of the fa compo'...oops silly me, i mean whatever crumbs the AFL will throw at us by using their herbs and spices fiddle to make sure its unders and tell us to be happy to accept it.
Herbs and Spices formula. A.k.a. Making it up on the spot.

#thingstheAFLdoes

It was a bit of a rort. The scholarship allowed AFL clubs to develop a NSW player for 3 years and then draft him with I believe their last live pick in the draft. I mean they had this wank bit of developing the kid both footy wise and life but lets face it, that never happened.

The best part of it was the VFL media used to say there was no talent coming oyut of NSW because they weren't in the early rounds of the draft
Was there ever any discussion around where he would have gone if available to the whole league?

I don't remember seeing this get posted, from 2 weeks back.

When is Bicks back, seems a bit cruel to have the old bugger out at this time of the year.

View attachment 1795100

Of course we are looking at Tassie players. We are that dumb as a club.

I wouldn't be completely opposed to picking them in the later rounds, where it seems Payne would go.

What I will not support, is the club using multiple good picks to move up to take a Tasmanian mid.

Yup dont pick any tassie players cause they are coming in in 2028 wow great logic

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yes? Why bother putting in 4 years of effort into making a player AFL standard when there's a high chance the AFL allows any Tasmanian players free passage back home?

You know the AFL will do something like this.

Same as picking Vic Country lads over Vic Metro. You do it because it's a lower risk to long term retention.

Yes? Why bother putting in 4 years of effort into making a player AFL standard when there's a high chance the AFL allows any Tasmanian players free passage back home?

You're opposed to taking Payne who will go in the later rounds, wait till you see people suggesting we use multiple picks to trade up for a Tasmanian mid in the top 6.

I think the risk combinging the facts that third round onwards picks are unlikely to produce a player and even if they do results in good probability AFL will send them to Tasmania (extra cash we can't match) makes the investment not worth it.

And yes using a top 5 pick on one would be insane.

Same as picking Vic Country lads over Vic Metro. You do it because it's a lower risk to long term retention.
Not only free passage, but I would guess they will make it in the financial interest of Tasmanian players to move back too.