Autopsy AFL 2022 Round 3 - Dogs v Swans Thurs March 31st 7:20pm AEDT (Marvel)

Who will win and by how much?

• Dogs by a goal or less

Votes: 6 10.0%
  • Swans by a goal or less

Votes: 1 1.7%
  • Dogs by 7 - 20

Votes: 11 18.3%
  • Swans by 7 - 20

Votes: 25 41.7%
  • Dogs by a lot

Votes: 2 3.3%
  • Swans by a lot

Votes: 15 25.0%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

2366471E-3ED7-4B93-BA13-6405B12C802C.png
13th v 3rd

AFL 2022 PREMIERSHIP SEASON ROUND 3

WESTERN BULLDOGS V SYDNEY
THURSDAY MARCH 31ST 7:20PM AEDT (MARVEL)

➡️ CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE 2022 BIGFOOTY OFFICIAL TIPPING COMP!

C4C09479-AA41-4EFA-A0A9-D0A4F59D5D60.png
TIPPING ON BIGFOOTY’S OWN SYSTEM
$1000 total prize money!
$500 first place and a spiffy medal
$300 second place
$200 third place
➡️ Weekly Premium Platinum memberships to be won!

Tipping proudly sponsored by
The Golden Ticket - for Medallion Club tickets

TEAMS

BULLDOGS

B: E.Richards, A.Keath, T.Duryea
HB: C.Daniel, R.Gardner, B.Dale
C: J.Macrae, J.Dunkley, L.Hunter
HF: C.Weightman, Z.Cordy, B.Smith
F: M.Hannan, A.Naughton, J.Ugle-Hagan
FOLL: T.English, A.Treloar, M.Bontempelli

I/C: R.Smith, T.Liberatore, A.Scott, L.Vandermeer
EMG: B.Williams, R.McComb, J.Sweet, M.Wallis

IN: B.Smith
OUT: H.Crozier (managed), B.Williams (sub)

SWANS
B: H.Cunningham, D.Rampe, P.McCartin
HB: J.Lloyd, T.McCartin, J.Kennedy
C: N.Blakey, L.Parker, D.Stephens
HF: H.McLean, L.Franklin, W.Hayward
F: E.Gulden, I.Heeney, S.Wicks
FOLL: T.Hickey, C.Mills, J.Rowbottom

I/C: B.Campbell, O.Florent, C.Warner, J.Amartey
EMG: P.Ladhams, J.Bell, B.Ronke, S.Reid

IN: J.Amartey
OUT: L.McDonald (omitted), A.Sheldrick (sub)

⬇️ Links to the Club Board tipping comps ⬇️

Umps to set a new bar with a firm display of authority.

Docklands suits both teams. The Bloods have a great record there and enjoy the dry and fast deck. Hopefully this is a high standard game.

There are injury concerns for both teams. Bont is playing sore (and still well of course). There may be debate about whether Buddy should be rested but I reckon he will be very keen to play.

Crowdwise we should expect mid 30s.

Here are a couple of questions. Can the Dogs play a more accountable brand of footy? Can the Bloods level clearances against a classy and deep midfield?

Need to play 4 quarters of footy which we haven't done in the first two rounds. Cant fall asleep for a quarter against an in form Swans team riding the high of Buddy's 1000 goal feat. Queries on Naughton being right to play has certainly thrown in some doubt also..

Backs against the wall stuff already, but backing the Dogs to get their first win of 2022 in a close one.

I think the dogs have to bring Shache in, if only to support Naughton until Bruce is ready to play.
- Unless Martin is good to go, then English can get back down there and support him.

I think Naughton is such an amazing player but he needs someone else to help him out (even if it is a human pillow).

Going to sound super obvious but this game will be won in the middle. On paper the Bulldogs have the better midfield so if the younger Sydney mids can try and equal the Bulldogs in clearances that will go a long way towards winning the match.

Is Bevo's 70s pr0n tash distracting his players? Since my sister remarked the other day that he reminded her of Donkey Dan Donger from the Perineum Pilots series of yesteryear, I've had trouble sleeping as certain unwanted images of Bevo enter my mind. The poor players, they seem to be seeing double and unwilling to really let themselves go.

I expect to see some rebound in form from the Dogs. They were pretty good in H2 last week. Though they couldn't shoot straight, like a drunken pr0n star now I think of it. The swans look to me to be real contenders, when are they playing the Dees next? That'll be a ripper and hopefully replace these decadent images of Bevo I have in my head.

Weirdly, since 2015 we tend to play well against the swans regardless of ladder position. The opposite of Carlton last week,who tend to play well against us regardless of ladder position.

Dawson has really cut us up in the past so at least we don't have to contend with his left boot this time. We might have to play two defensive wingmen to rollback hard as the Swans forwardline looks a bit strong for our backline.

A rough start to the season for the Doggies, with their first three opponents in good early form. 0-3 usually seems dire on paper, but could be forgiven in light of who they have played should they drop to Sydney tomorrow night.

That said, I think they'll get over the line in a close one and get their season up and running.

A rough start to the season for the Doggies, with their first three opponents in good early form. 0-3 usually seems dire on paper, but could be forgiven in light of who they have played should they drop to Sydney tomorrow night.

That said, I think they'll get over the line in a close one and get their season up and running.

If I'm being glass half-full then I'd agree, even at 0-3 you look at the fixture and the 2021 version of the dogs would be decent favourites in almost all of the next 10-11 games until we get to Brisbane away and Sydney away. Problem is this team isn't playing anywhere near the 2021 standard - actually, that's not true, it's playing fairly close to the standard they dished up in the last few home and away games.

The second half of last week's game was obviously better, but again poor goal kicking was a downfall. Sydney might not dominate out of the middle but when they do get clean ball they use it extremely well and finish better than most. I wouldn't be surprised to see the dogs on top in clearances, contested possessions, inside 50s and similar stats but still lose 12.14 to 15.7 or something like that. We've got a bunch of players down on form and they'll need to pick up quickly before the win-loss gets fairly difficult to come back from.

Beat Sydney, then beat Richmond at the MCG, and 2-2 from the first four games (all against potential finals contenders) with a winnable stretch of games to come looks fairly rosy. Lose both of those and the knives will be out.

The Swans are my early pick to go all the way. I think they have top end quality as well as quantity. There are some teams with an outstanding group of top players but then field a very ordinary bottom 4 or 6 players in the 22. That is not a problem the Swans have. Meanwhile, the Dogs look to be struggling to get over the grand final. Is this temporary or will they fall away the way they did after 2016?

Swans by 4 goals

Autopsy AFL 2022 Round 3 - Dogs v Swans Thurs March 31st 7:20pm AEDT (Marvel)