Review Dees v the Orcs - the Good, the Bad & the Fugly

Sorta explains the lack of leading to be fair to the forwards too, I mean whats the point of leading when you've got no space? The only times we look dangerous is when we move the ball quickly so at worst its a 3v3 up forward. Also agree that Gawn isn't going to make a huge difference to our clearance work because we're still winning them, he will at least help with the dump kick down the line.

I still for the life of me don't understand why we flood our own forwardline either. I feel like a lot of our issues so far this year have been more gameplan related than personnel, we've had enough talent out on the park to win all 7 games but our systems are breaking down badly (In fairness today I reckon the lack of effort early hurt more than any strategical stuff though).
I will also add that you would think gawn would of at least stifle mcevoys influence around the ground. The game plan press issue is clearly a problem yet the coaching staff continue with it. It's no coincidence that Roughead had a great game yesterday, the amount of space he had to lead into was ridiculous when you compare to what our forwards got. If I wanted to watch a hawthorn forward freely lead into space I will put on the 96 no merger match.

The fugly: I've been sitting outside of my in-laws house drinking cans and I've gone a bit bananas and upset the neighbors.

I should mention I'm in Osaka, Japan.

And I've lost one of my shoes. A ******* shoe!

I think it's on the roof.
Did you make it through the night?

The coaching staff need to really pull their finger out and correct a lot of the basic errors on strategy and general play.

On reflection, and after viewing the comments in this thread, I feel that it is the coaches that aren't focusing on the right things.

Some pretty epic melts on here. One day this team is going to play four quarters of footy and tear a team apart.

We just need one or two tweaks to the gameplan to make it harder to score against us.
Well said. Not the end of the world that we haven't put it together yet. We're not failing or falling behind any realistic timeline. Finals was a chance this year, that's all. Was not ever more than a 50/50; just like yesterday's game.

Some observations:
- we were lacking height or at leasg the ability to spoil marks. Seemed like Roughy, McEvoy and O'Brian took a lot of contest marks.
- our players need to learn to not all go for the spoil and over-comit, needs to be an emphasis on manning up at the drop.
- Jones lace out hit the Hawks multiple times in our 50. Either sit it up a bit or bomb it or hit the target please.
- We hardly ever lead or sheppard, i note this every week but it still astounds me. Viney did a few handballs and shepards and they resulted in our cleanest entries. Hogan also marked the balls he lead strongest to.
- Handballing into space whilst moving got us going in the 3rd. Hopefully this style is what is being preached for the whole game.
- 1 on 1 our players are more talented at winning the contest so why do we need to commit so many players to each contest? I hope that it becomes a maturity thing when all our midfield learn to back off and trust each other to win the contest. Our midfield has lots of experience now so its looking like more of a coaching directive, which i'm not a fan of.
It wasn't high. It was poor checking of players. They took those marks because they were able to run at the ball from the side unchecked

Yes, but at the ground the Hawks always flipped an extra tall up to the contest. We often had 1 tall and 2 smalls vs 2 talls and 2 smalls.

But having another tall on the field doesn't change that. That's just saying one player lost their man.

Often was Pederson - an extra tall would make it easier to organize though

Yeah it was, his man had often run off him. Which is poor because he should've been running them off their feet.
An extra tall on the ground doesn't suddenly mean we man up.

My point is it wasn't height that gave up those marks, it was poor one on one footy

Yeah it was, his man had often run off him. Which is poor because he should've been running them off their feet.
An extra tall on the ground doesn't suddenly mean we man up.

My point is it wasn't height that gave up those marks, it was poor one on one footy

Spot on, this is why he's never going to stay in the team permanently.

Hope you guys don't mind me giving my two cents worth.

I'm curious as to why you were so handball happy yesterday under pressure when in Round 1 against us (a team who prides itself on its pressure) you won the contested ball and then simply played keepings off by kicking the ball around. I would have thought that would be a pretty good blueprint to beat teams who try to sweat on over use of the ball. Obviously we're not the same team as Hawthorn but the amount of times your players won the ball yesterday and then proceeded to handball to others in worse positions was pretty astonishing.

That is utterly preposterous man!!! There were also times that our players ran with the ball under no pressure and kicked it directly to the opposition!!!

Your guess is as good as ours mate.
Bewildering and frustrating.
Proof in the pudding too as the 2nd half was a complete turnaround.

I have read bigfooty for a long time so thank you for the entertainment, but this is the first time I have felt compelled to post. I have been a passionate dee supporter since 1970 so feel well qualified to speak about pain! Yet despite our all to familiar "not quite there" I feel more positive than I have for many, many years. A few points here and there, a bit of luck over a few games this year and we would be "bluebird of happiness" supporters as opposed to once again delving into the depths of desperation. This team has a core of future champions and it will gel at some point. We will then just need to keep them all together over the forthcoming years. Anyway just a note of optimism in an otherwise crappy post weekend malaise.
Oh and I really did meet Hassa and was taught by his wife.

Goodwin isn't going last long IMO, has so far showed zero ability to change or alter game plan to stop momentum, how sides like fremantle and hawthorn are allowed 6-7 goal runs in qtr is a disgrace, paul roos must sit up in commentary box shaking his head at this all or nothing style of game that is not sustainable over 4 qtrs let alone 22 rounds.

The other thing that really hurts us apart from obviously the ruck is our bottom 6 players each week are not up to afl level, jkh,hannan,bugg,oscar mac,neal bullen,stretch,melksham,wagner who are just on a rotation as to who dominates in the vfl the week before really aren't good enough to take us to next level of having 22 solid contributers every week,

Bad:
- Our backline all flying for the same ball. Need some to stay down!

Its a great point, what's even more frustrating is not one of the idiots can even get a proper fist on it (especially that **** Oscar, how many air swings does that idiot have a game?) everyone just goes up and lays the ball down front and centre for opposition crumbers, its becoming beyond a joke.

Where the **** have you been campaigner

Ive had some death's to deal with if thats alright with you, schmutt?

Pop in every now and then but life has been pretty hectic of late.

Good
Jeffy rubbing Stratton's nose in it
Great to come back from 6 goals down, that was fun :)
Frost's best game, Viney warming up.
Third quarter was exceptional football- can't wait to see that on the reg

Bad
Selections are baffling. JKH has now reached a dozen solid quarters of nothing football. Kent & Brayshaw back please.
Jones' disposal was interesting in the first
Our forward entries aren't wondrous
Shit start
Overposessing

Goodwin isn't going last long IMO, has so far showed zero ability to change or alter game plan to stop momentum
He put Trac in the middle and Hunt in the foward line after the first half. Not sure the game plan was our problem this week, skills and intent were shit during the first quarter

The other thing that really hurts us apart from obviously the ruck is our bottom 6 players each week are not up to afl level, jkh,hannan,bugg,oscar mac,neal bullen,stretch,melksham,wagner
We're an equal opportunity club, we're giving all the spuds a go :)

Cmon mate don't do me like that, missed your input around here :(

its alright mate, i know you didnt mean anything by it, life's bigger than big footy, that's all. :thumbsu:

Review Dees v the Orcs - the Good, the Bad & the Fugly