Autopsy Roast, Toast vs Bulldogs & Changes for Freo

Best on ground vs Bulldogs

I don't know what people are frothing about.
I don't necessarily like the rule but you only have to watch a few games & Short's last knock of the ball is what is being judged DOOB.
He should've hung onto the ball, and tried to draw a ball up. Or get it back to a team mate
He tried to grab the ball and fumbled, no way was it deliberately hit out of bounds

There were def a few ??? Decisions but that happens every week. I thought once we went 11 points up it was over. Riewoldt last goal was a gift as there was an obvious missed free that lead to that goal. The dubious ones go both ways. In the heat of the game we are ALL guilty of being myopic and see what we want to happen as opposed to what did happen.

I was amazed how close your VFL team came to knocking us off too. So your depth must be there. We had a number of our important injured forwards making comebacks yet Could only win it late in the game. You are good enough to make. The 8. But you are not top 4. Yet !!
Don't be a condescending ****wit.
We aren't much different to you guys.
Neither are you top 4.... yet!
You finished 7th and put together a fantastic month of footy when it mattered.
We got close last night and were unlucky. Not because we are all that good but rather because the Bulldogs are just average.
But they can never take that flag away so half your luck.

There were def a few ??? Decisions but that happens every week. I thought once we went 11 points up it was over. Riewoldt last goal was a gift as there was an obvious missed free that lead to that goal. The dubious ones go both ways. In the heat of the game we are ALL guilty of being myopic and see what we want to happen as opposed to what did happen.

I was amazed how close your VFL team came to knocking us off too. So your depth must be there. We had a number of our important injured forwards making comebacks yet Could only win it late in the game. You are good enough to make. The 8. But you are not top 4. Yet !!

Flog

Still spewing after last night - Was definitely ours for the taking and 6-1 would have sounded so much better than 5-2... thought we lacked some polish around the goals and it hurt us - think George, as much as I like him needs to make way for Lennon, or Lloyd who will hopefully inject a bit more composure into the forward 50... Elton's best game for us last night, and although his dropped mark in the goal square and that bloody crucial handpass hurt, I thought he competed well, made a good contest and is starting to show a bit of confidence at the top level. Soldo comes out for Nank, but he can hold his head high as was thrown very much in the deep end last night and did well for a guy who is new to the game... That being said, I'm still ****ing annoyed and the win should have been ours. Listening to the commentators loving the dogs at every available opportunity gave me a headache as well!

Don't be a condescending *******.
We aren't much different to you guys.
Neither are you top 4.... yet!
You finished 7th and put together a fantastic month of footy when it mattered.
We got close last night and were unlucky. Not because we are all that good but rather because the Bulldogs are just average.
But they can never take that flag away so half your luck.

I was not being condescending I was actually enjoying your frank and open discourse.
So many folks remind us we finished 7th. Never in the history of the AFL has 17 wins meant such low finishing position. Normally 17-5 has you well inside top 4. We were a game & % off 2nd spot.

I think you are having a period we also had. The post Wallace era. He left us, as he did you, bereft of tall forwards. Took us years to rectify that. KPF's don't grow on trees and take years to develop. You seem to have most of the other areas covered. Get one in the trade period to help Jack and who knows what can happen.

Great effort from Soldo,we were the better team most of the night.We are nearly there maybe try Bolton
in Nank Lennon Bolten
out C Ellis Elton
Agree with your thinking man about Soldo.

I thought there was a lot to like last night. Head to head it's crazy to think Richmond are on par with the best teams in the comp. The Tigers don't have the personnel yet. Last night's effort was welcomed after last week. Soldo showed signs for a very young first game ruckman.

I'm sure he'll be sore and tired today. This offseason hopefully we can recruit in some missing pieces. A reliable tall forward for one.

Im still filthy about some of the umpiring last night. It seemed like the forward line completely broke down and the pressure dropped in the second half though. If we keep that pressure from the first quarter this week and last week going for full games we can beat anyone. Also Vlastuin going down really hurt us.

And I get the angst. But if you are losing the free kick count EVERY week, is it not too simplistic to blame the umpires ? Maybe Dimma has to review some aspects of your game to minimise the frees being conceded ??
Seriously mate gtfo off our board...everyone knows you get an armchair ride by the umps, you blokes throw it constantly and don't get pinged. Great for you that you won but don't ****ing come on here trolling us under the guise of civil conversation. It's transparent shit, enjoy your Franco cozo furniture. I'm off to Ikea.

A few things that stood out and some of them carried over from the Adelaide game and from the season in general:

1/
We smashed the hit outs early in the game and dominated clearances, which got us the big lead. However, the dogs adjusted and started by sweating on Cotchin and others who got first hands, pressuring them and making the second disposal a turnover. They then started winning clearances and moved on to roving Soldo directly. I can't remember to many games where we have adjusted like this so early on- usually takes half a game.

2/
We play a risky and sometimes dumb brand of football. Going forward we don't have the run and spread (or willingness) to hit targets all up the ground. 70% of the time we go long up the wing to a big man. Problem with this is we did this after quarter time and the dogs adjusted and had players at their feet so unless a mark they run it back out. It's so predictable and we never have enough players hovering around for the crumbs or blocking for a uncontested mark.
On the rebound our defence pushes up too hard so all it takes is one missed tackle or one gutting kick (which bob and jj can both do) and they sliced us open and would have 5 on 2 running into their forward line. That happened for about 6 of their goals minimum.

3/ Our leaders get frustrated and then make dumb decisions or act out. Rance was directly responsible for 3 turnover goals last night. One for a silly 50m, one for kicking out on full in back pocket and another for a silly decision. Martin bombed away at goal a number of times when there was better options. Jack flew for a spect when he didn't need to and gives away needless free kicks. All of them do great things but these brain fades cost us.

4/
Still too many players that don't contribute week in week out. Players like C Ellis, Castagna, Soldo, Elton, Markov have been around for a few years at least and need to get more of the ball and contribute more. Not saying they need 20 touches but they need to be hitting the scoreboard getting 10-15 touches a game and presenting an option. The dogs had only 2 players who got under 11 touches (not including Stringer), whereas, we had 7 players getting under 11 touches (not including Vlas). If they aren't getting their hands on it they need to at least break even with their direct opponent and limit their touches.

5/
Umpiring killed us.
Given we are now miles down the bottom of the free kick count, we need to have a look at our gameplan and how we are executing. May even be worth sending the afl a "please explain" or having them come down to a training session. Nothing we can do about the blatant mistakes but the other frees we are giving away we need to learn and get better at stopping that from happening.

I've only really focused on negatives/improvements as that's the way we get better. However, the game plan is much better than last year, much more watchable and we are on the right track. Just need some refinement and a few new faces (with tall bodies) in over the summer to take the next step!!

A few things that stood out and some of them carried over from the Adelaide game and from the season in general:

1/
We smashed the hit outs early in the game and dominated clearances, which got us the big lead. However, the dogs adjusted and started by sweating on Cotchin and others who got first hands, pressuring them and making the second disposal a turnover. They then started winning clearances and moved on to roving Soldo directly. I can't remember to many games where we have adjusted like this so early on- usually takes half a game.

2/
We play a risky and sometimes dumb brand of football. Going forward we don't have the run and spread (or willingness) to hit targets all up the ground. 70% of the time we go long up the wing to a big man. Problem with this is we did this after quarter time and the dogs adjusted and had players at their feet so unless a mark they run it back out. It's so predictable and we never have enough players hovering around for the crumbs or blocking for a uncontested mark.
On the rebound our defence pushes up too hard so all it takes is one missed tackle or one gutting kick (which bob and jj can both do) and they sliced us open and would have 5 on 2 running into their forward line. That happened for about 6 of their goals minimum.

3/ Our leaders get frustrated and then make dumb decisions or act out. Rance was directly responsible for 3 turnover goals last night. One for a silly 50m, one for kicking out on full in back pocket and another for a silly decision. Martin bombed away at goal a number of times when there was better options. Jack flew for a spect when he didn't need to and gives away needless free kicks. All of them do great things but these brain fades cost us.

4/
Still too many players that don't contribute week in week out. Players like C Ellis, Castagna, Soldo, Elton, Markov have been around for a few years at least and need to get more of the ball and contribute more. Not saying they need 20 touches but they need to be hitting the scoreboard getting 10-15 touches a game and presenting an option. The dogs had only 2 players who got under 11 touches (not including Stringer), whereas, we had 7 players getting under 11 touches (not including Vlas). If they aren't getting their hands on it they need to at least break even with their direct opponent and limit their touches.

5/
Umpiring killed us.
Given we are now miles down the bottom of the free kick count, we need to have a look at our gameplan and how we are executing. May even be worth sending the afl a "please explain" or having them come down to a training session. Nothing we can do about the blatant mistakes but the other frees we are giving away we need to learn and get better at stopping that from happening.

I've only really focused on negatives/improvements as that's the way we get better. However, the game plan is much better than last year, much more watchable and we are on the right track. Just need some refinement and a few new faces (with tall bodies) in over the summer to take the next step!!
Thought point 4 was a bit harsh.
Soldo was playing his first game and the others have barely played.
We had a pretty inexperienced side out there.
Of more concern to me are things like Brandon Ellis doing the same dumb things, josh Caddy is a turnstile, Bachar always panics under pressure , Martin just blazes away when under pressure etc.
I think those things are very costly.

we have talked about the umps and yes they are shit and annoying and pissed me off.

But can someone for the life of me tell me WHY cant we ever play them at the MCG??

Even if it was OUR home game we would play them at etihad

Its not our fault they have no fans to fill the g, its BS we play them there every year
Same thing with North. When was the last time (apart from that final), that we played them at the MCG?

Has been forgotten in last few weeks, but Edwards in for Castagna would be the ideal change . Can play a small forward role and a bit of mid but will be an upgrade in terms of decision making to the les experience George .

Obviouslynot possible ..

Out Castagna and c Ellis
In Lennon and Lloyd ???? May make us too slow, but would be an upgrade in footy smarts

I was not being condescending I was actually enjoying your frank and open discourse.
So many folks remind us we finished 7th. Never in the history of the AFL has 17 wins meant such low finishing position. Normally 17-5 has you well inside top 4. We were a game & % off 2nd spot.

I think you are having a period we also had. The post Wallace era. He left us, as he did you, bereft of tall forwards. Took us years to rectify that. KPF's don't grow on trees and take years to develop. You seem to have most of the other areas covered. Get one in the trade period to help Jack and who knows what can happen.

You're right, never in the history of the AFL has 17 wins meant you finish out of the top 4. And last year was no different, Bulldogs won 15 games mate, would normally end around the 4th/6th spot. so no massive difference, you were a couple wins and % off 2nd.

Of more concern to me are things like Brandon Ellis doing the same dumb things, josh Caddy is a turnstile, Bachar always panics under pressure , Martin just blazes away when under pressure etc.

Probably right. Point was more they need to stop their direct opponent if they aren't getting their hands on it and they didn't do that if 20 dogs players got their hands on it 12+ times. What it's worth I thought Soldo was good

1/

2/

4/

5/
Umpiring killed us.

We certainly didn’t utilize our domination in the ruck. They were able to read the ball from Soldo's hand really well. We should have changed it up and gone the old fashioned method of smashing it forward in ball ups and have players running onto it rather than trying to be to cute.

Has been forgotten in last few weeks, but Edwards in for Castagna would be the ideal change . Can play a small forward role and a bit of mid but will be an upgrade in terms of decision making to the les experience George .

Obviouslynot possible ..

Out Castagna and c Ellis
In Lennon and Lloyd ???? May make us too slow, but would be an upgrade in footy smarts
My worry there is already we have Caddy spending large chunks Forward and they treat him like a turnstile. Lennon is exactly the same. Lloyd too.

Caddy turnstile. Yep, saw that 3 times and it's very disappointing for a big bodied mid to not be tough enough in close.
The way the dogs run forward if the tackle sticks we're a big chance to score on the rebound. Doesn't stick, overlap goal to them.

1/

2/

4/

5/
Umpiring killed us.

Fair assessment

Please go away...

Jack was gonna tear this one wide open, he was on last night.

After about 5 mins into the 2nd quarter though, we never had any fast ball movement though and the Dogs were able to get back in numbers.

Good to know he's in form, but frustrating to waste it by not being able to get it in there fast. Maybe getting back to the G will help us.

Individually Markov and McIntosh continue to be the most concerning for mine with some very ordinary defensive efforts.
Whilst on the offensive side of things I think Griggs is of concern. couple of absolute crucial howlers last night . Handball to short in the middle of the ground and missed Cotchin and kicked straight to Bulldogs on the wing. He is also one of the biggest offenders of slow ball movement. Got enough of it but made plenty of errors.

Caddy turnstile. Yep, saw that 3 times and it's very disappointing for a big bodied mid to not be tough enough in close.
The way the dogs run forward if the tackle sticks we're a big chance to score on the rebound. Doesn't stick, overlap goal to them.
This killed me last night.
The Dogs were taking massive risks to outnumber us late in the game and had blokes basically cheating running forward in numbers and risking being hopelessly out of position.
Tackling pressure was the key and he was very poor a few times as you say. He also did the same up Forward where he turns like the titanic as the defenders rebound away. He is a worry for me.
Ben Lennon doesn't get a game for the same reasons.

Out: Soldo Vlastuin Castagna
In: Nankervis Lennon Bolton

I'd give Corey another go and tell him he is wanted in the side as it is blatantly obvious he lacks self belief. Still think he can make it whereas the blokes that would replace him Morris/ Hunt have had their chances.
Depth is now being tested.

Autopsy Roast, Toast vs Bulldogs & Changes for Freo