Autopsy Round 19 = Hawthorn 133-67 Collingwood

Well, we’re at a crossroads now. We can either make some hard calls and start a mini rebuild, or persist with sentiment and let the wound fester.

Injuries have played a massive part in this season, but so too has complacency and a lack of preparation. Every loss this season, apart from perhaps those just prior to the bye, has reeked of a casual attitude and thinking that things are just going to happen or get given to us.

We need to start playing more youth for the remainder of this season, hit the trade period hard and cull a number of players on our list. For me I’d start with Markov and Noble and have some serious conversations with Sidey and Howe about retirement.

There’s enough in this list but the transition is a delicate one and will require hard calls to be made and intelligent trading/drafting decisions.

We are past the cross roads.

Our youth is no good. The only two I believe in are Jiath and Allan.

Oh and I said trade Noble and Markov maybe a month ago and was torched. Agree though. But need to cut deeper.

I would retain Howe and possibly Sidey.

Interesting take I disagree they were, Steele 2nd half was decent but got burnt first half. Pendles looks slow and old miles off it largely.

Howe was beaten in defense looked better forward.
Crisp also had a midling game and his opponent did him for speed which is a fair effort admittedly.

I didn't say they all played great games, I said that they were among our best.

The saddest part of the day is how predictable it was. All week I had absolutely no confidence we would get near them and that is how it panned out yet again. We have lost games before but there is something about the way we lose to Hawthorn which is quite disturbing. We look timid, soft and disinterested. This is how we look most of the time we play Hawthorn. They physically intimidated us and we were reactive all night.

I was embarrassed by some efforts tonight. It's not often I have felt that way.

Rinse and repeat every bloody time we play that mob. FFS fire up Collingwood.

I'm reading a lot of comments about our ageing list being the reason for our poor performances and lack of a future. To that I agree that we have a few players close to retirement being Pendles, Sidey & Howe but that is it, nobody else is too close and I do believe you still need a few like this in the side to provide the guidance. However, our biggest problem is between the ears. Last year we were regarded as one of the quickest teams in the comp by foot and in ball movement, but a few things have conspired against us in 2024 to make these assets appear depreciated.

1. Injuries - Have unsettled the team every week and too many guys have been out for long periods i.e: 4-6, 6-8 or longer. And when they have come back they have not come back 100% and then we lose a few more to injury and the cycle continues. Too disruptive and successful teams need cohesion.

2. The Premier - Any team that had finals aspirations at the start of the season have gone to school on our game plans and have picked us apart. It is normal for other teams to use the premier as the yard stick and Collingwood has never been an exception. The gap closes because of this and we have not successfully adapted accordingly in a short space of time.

3. Committment - Our work ethic to hunt the opposition and the ball with a pack mentality has not been there this season. More often than not we are outnumbered in contests and in transition by hungrier and more committed teams. This is 100% mental and is a direct sign of not being fully invested to achieve success again. I have also seen us step aside, avoid tackles and physical confrontations all year. Mentally we have not been committed to season 2024. We had a good patch of 2 months when we went undefeated with a coupld of draws but that was the big effort we had left. Before then and since then we have looked tired, apathetic and lethergic.

4. Confidence - All the above three points leads to this one. As the season has gone along you could see the confidence of many players slowly decline. Handballs get intercepted, guys punch instead of marking, slipping over, missed tackles, sitting off opponents and the worst of them all losing trust in your team mate to win the contest so you can setup elsewhere as an outlet or attacking option. The structure starts to break down.

Now, all of these things can be fixed in a single off season and is not necessarily due to an ageing list, we had one last year and won the flag. What we need to decide is can we win it in 2025 with our current list (with a couple of tweaks) and with a fair run of injuries or is our time past completely. I am not sure which is correct but I know this list is still much better than it has been able to show in 2024.

The part which most annoyed me is that Fly challenged the group and they didn't give a yelp.

Are the players gassed? They don't care? Or is there a deeper problem?

Was talking to someone post game and for the first time I heard Fly linked with the Tassie job? Surely not? GW was also mentioned but that is common knowledge.

There was a rumour mentioned on one of the boards that Fly might be looking to finish up. I'd say it's utter BS but who knows these days, is big on family over footy so may not see himself in the role long term.

Gary Lyon ... Just before the bounce to open the second half: Collingwood haven't changed their structure at all.

He really needs the 6 6 6 rule explained to him.

It’s a very sad state of affairs when we’re playing Hawthorn, and we’re relying on Jason Dunstall of all people to be the voice of balanced perspective in the commentary box.

Was talking to someone post game and for the first time I heard Fly linked with the Tassie job? Surely not? GW was also mentioned but that is common knowledge.
Hell, if there were any truth in a link between Fly and the new Tasmanian team, i would feel devastated and betrayed. :(

Tom Mitchell isn’t what he was, obviously, and his form wasn’t flash early. But we haven’t replaced him at the coalface and we just have no grit in there. Nick is Nick, but Pendles is one armed, Crisp is more a runner, De Goey is like an elephant on ice skates with his movement.
We needed Long or Sullivan to offer us a bit in there, but perhaps it’s too much.
As a very starting point we look two key mids short, one stoppage specialist and another prime mover to take some focus off others.
Tom is sorely missed, his form was alright for a premiership team, but it would be streets ahead of most of them out there at the moment.
The stupid thing is even he was playing out of the center square for large parts of the games same as Lippa, and Crisp.

That is their strength for God's sake, you can't roll 5 or 6 players through the middle when other teams have 10, they can run through there, Lippa for example plays his best footy in the middle always has done, instead he is everywhere except there.

If we are serious, Ned Long just played his last game of football for the Collingwood football club. How we selected him when our experts were able to watch him close up is beyond me. He is as slow as a sloth. He cannot get to a contest and when he does he gets tackled and loses the pill. He is a poor kick to boot. What were they thinking? If he is selected again I'll know our club has lost the plot. We can't even tank for a draft pick.

9 games in a row with under 50 inside 50’s.

The ball movement and game plan has been blown apart.

The leadership on field this season had been very poor. The first year players are running around like headless chooks, with no direction. Experienced players are in wrong positions because they aren't communicating with their teammates, and we see the opposition get easy goals out the back or are able to move the ball easily with players all alone for some reason, because we will have 2 or 3 of our players all standing around in the same position which in turn opens us up. Zero communication, particularly from the leaders who should be controlling what's happening on field.
I love Fly, but just need him to get agro and fire up these guys, because right now it doesn't look like he has the full buy in from the playing group. Unfortunately for Fly, our captain is having a horrible season not only as a player but as a captain, whose leadership, on field, has been non existent this season.....

Actually tired of hearing the BS being spewed out from the club this year, it’s been nothing short of a shitshow since the preseason.
The Football manager being able to walk for a year off just shows that club is happy to let staff dictate terms, the players have clearly not put in the work and the coaching reschuffle has been a disaster.
Content with the 1 flag, disappointing.
Ill be forever grateful for 2023 but the defence of a flag has been depressing

Actually tired of hearing the BS being spewed out from the club this year, it’s been nothing short of a shitshow since the preseason.
The Football manager being able to walk for a year off just shows that club is happy to let staff dictate terms, the players have clearly not put in the work and the coaching reschuffle has been a disaster.
Content with the 1 flag, disappointing.
Ill be forever grateful for 2023 but the defence of a flag has been depressing

Tom Mitchell isn’t what he was, obviously, and his form wasn’t flash early. But we haven’t replaced him at the coalface and we just have no grit in there. Nick is Nick, but Pendles is one armed, Crisp is more a runner, De Goey is like an elephant on ice skates with his movement.
We needed Long or Sullivan to offer us a bit in there, but perhaps it’s too much.
As a very starting point we look two key mids short, one stoppage specialist and another prime mover to take some focus off others.
Agree totally. The lack of grit in our midfield is the key issue. Every other malady springs from that source. If you could suddenly plug two competent inside mids into the team we have, we would be in contention - even with the injury crisis.

Pendles was 26 yo (pick5)in prime,
Steele 25 yo (pick 10)in prime,
26yo T.Cloke kicked 51 goals 190 Marks and was unstoppable in air AA level CHF.
Pick 8 Ben Reid was 24yo hitting prime years.
Pick 18 B.Grundy 20yo ruck taking AFL by storm.
Star D.Swan still 29yo.

Didak Shaw Thomas etc moving on helping secure Adams etc.

Degoey Pick 5 and Moore pick 8 come in 2014.

The Age and talent demographics are completely different.

I disagree… 2013-2017 were pretty bleak years on here… form, age, injuries, dud recruiting

Might take a few years but the Daicos boys, Quaynor, Cameron. Moore, Mcstay, Hill, Maynard, De Goey, Noble, McReery, Schulz… still there

And I refuse to think the current form of those is terminal

Plus who they draft, recruit in the meantime

Footy is fickle.

I’d like him to say that a few that disgraced the Collingwood jumper today are going to be running around the vfl next week
I wouldn't. Such matters should be discussed internally. And it wouldn't be fair. Because the entire team was disgraced tonight. It was a mind numbingly poor team performance.

If we are serious, Ned Long just played his last game of football for the Collingwood football club. How we selected him when our experts were able to watch him close up is beyond me. He is as slow as a sloth. He cannot get to a contest and when he does he gets tackled and loses the pill. He is a poor kick to boot. What were they thinking? If he is selected again I'll know our club has lost the plot. We can't even tank for a draft pick.

100% agree.

He is, for lack of a better word, shit. It's diabolical have him and Pendles in the same side. They are two of the slowest players in the AFL.

Ginnivan was always destined to be a very good player.
You're talking as though he's a 15 year vet.

He is currently a good player. He was a good player for us in 2022. I agree he has a lot of potential, but dunno about destined to be very good.

Happy for you to bookmark this and bump it in 2035 saying I was wrong but atm it's just conjecture. He could be a hall of famer, or could be delisted in a gee years. Ya never know.

One thing is for sure - he'll always be a Collingwood Premiership Player :)

The saddest part of the day is how predictable it was. All week I had absolutely no confidence we would get near them and that is how it panned out yet again. We have lost games before but there is something about the way we lose to Hawthorn which is quite disturbing. We look timid, soft and disinterested. This is how we look most of the time we play Hawthorn. They physically intimidated us and we were reactive all night.

I was embarrassed by some efforts tonight. It's not often I have felt that way.

Rinse and repeat every bloody time we play that mob. FFS fire up Collingwood.
How much did you win backing the Hawks today?
Given your emphatic conviction all week that we’d lose, you must have had a bet.

Autopsy Round 19 = Hawthorn 133-67 Collingwood