Autopsy Round 5, 2024 - Suns destroy hopeless Hawks

There was one passage of play when King collected Scrimmers on the back of the head and knocked him down once the ball was collected. There were 3 hawks who came to pat Scrimshaw and pick him up. This was one opportunity for at least one of those Hawks to let King know exactly how they felt about that whack behind Scrimshaws head.

There was one passage of play when Sicily decided to spit the dummy after failing to mark yet another ball (this time in the forward half) He looked like anything but a leader

There was another passage when Sicily, Impey and Cmac watched on when a more desperate Berry showed them what some desperation and being hard at the ball could achieve.

Yes, we are low on talent when compared to all the high draft pick and high-grade academy kids that Gold Coast had out there but there should be nothing stopping us from playing for the jumper, standing up for each other and if you are a Captain/leader then trying to set an example by leading from the front. It won’t be a bad idea to show some old videos of players who gave it their all for that jumper.

Meek, Massi, Weddle, Scrimma, and Frosty, take a bow. You did great.

Finn gets an OK. 3 goals is great but the opponent he was supposed to shut down on also did well.

Chol was our only real tall target, and he was nullified by Collins as Collins knew to take his run up space.

Rama did good things as a ruckman but was unsighted as a fwd.

Fagan won the battle of coach tactics against Mitchell.

There was one passage of play when King collected Scrimmers on the back of the head and knocked him down once the ball was collected. There were 3 hawks who came to pat Scrimshaw and pick him up. This was one opportunity for at least one of those Hawks to let King know exactly how they felt about that whack behind Scrimshaws head.
The problem with doing that is that the umpire is just waiting to reverse it

North have been in totally control of a game and in a winning postion.

They should have wrapped up the game vs Freo in the 2nd Qtr.

And here you are slagging them off and acting like we’re miles apart.

They were in total control of a game up until half time before they conceded 40 points in the third quarter?

Last I remembered there are 4 quarters in a footy match.

Please

We should have bested the Bombers. Had we kicked straight we would have but that's history now.

We should dispatch North with relative ease. We'll go in as favourites. They can beat us though. Any game of footy can be decided by one team being slightly off and one team being slightly on.

Our biggest problem is we've had huge patches where we have been slightly off (slightly is being generous).

Props to my man Scrimmers though, he is having a heck of a season.

The talent and class he possesses really stood out tonight.

Just a very talented AFL footballer who gets the job done week in, week out.
Defenders can't be giving away 6 free kicks

Tonight’s game sucked? Absolutely!

I think a lot of Hawk fans have forgotten the hard work and time required to become a premiership winning team.

We are in this for the long haul, there is no quick fixes!

Our track to the top has been impacted by the AFl’s compromised drafting system.

Our young Hawks will work there way through these new challenges and they will be better for it.

Our young Hawks have shown in small samples what there capable of and our job is stay patient whilst they work on there consistency.

We lacked leadership tonight. Fielding too much inexperience that is looking for direction that doesn’t exist.

Hopefully get a few back from injury for next week because it’s going to be a long winter if we don’t beat North.

Absolutely putrid. Sam is no messiah thats for sure. Coaches box been shite all year...along with most players. We have regressed that much that no one should be safe. Only positive is the players coming back but we aint gonna win heck all games with a non existent game plan, playing like spuds and kicking a jack shit score every week.

Well… that was a shitshow. Went knowing we weren’t the best of the two teams and a win was unlikely but still had hope in our team considering the excellent way we finished last week. After the first 3 were kicked it was clear our entire team had forgotten what sport they were playing. Missed handballs, dropped marks, sloppy kicks, and an all around terrible performance. Mass is a great defender. Maginess kicking most of our goals is a concern. Lads in the midfield need to learn our forward line isn’t tall enough to bomb it into. Honestly wouldn’t be surprised if we lose next week after that, and if we lose against north we’ll probably lose against west coast, and then there’s no point being a team anymore. Chol forgot how to play, couldn’t hold a mark to save his life. Umpires hate ginni and us but made no difference to the final result of the game, that was all us. Can’t wait for Lewis, Breust, Watson, Day, Wingard to be back… but we can’t blame injuries. At this rate we may not get a win this year. Disappointing. Loved the jersey. Hated the fricking trumpet player, someone please bash his head in. I think our best 22 would consist of many clones of Weddle, Finn, Moore, Mass at this point.

I guess the frustrating part is I've followed the Hawks since 1968 and never seen a Hawthorn team where so many play poorly all at the same time. We see a player put in a good performance one week and think he's turned the corner, but the following match he plays a shocker.

Not picking on Worpel here, but a Collingwood mate of mine was telling me last night about how well he thought Worpel played against the Pies, and he was right. My response was I bet he would put in a poor one tonight ... and he did. Why is this happening to so many players on our list? We have no consistency whatsoever, especially from our senior players.

We can cast accusing fingers and gnash our teeth at Sam Mitchell, but how in Hades can a coach put a winning combination together when deep down he knows at least half the team will play poorly on any given day, and it's not the same players every week.

The truth in my mind is we have many players on the list who need to take a damned good look in the mirror and ask themselves if they are really giving the best they can. My belief is many of them aren't. They may think they are, but they are not. A tough accusation to make, but I'm afraid if that's not what's happening, it's how it appears.

Honestly?

I just listened - and were most certainly NOT 'well on top early'

We didn't 'go hard with free-flowing football in the 2nd quarter'

Either Sam is in complete denial or he's excusing the players.

I expected more honesty - and that was 70% of the team were absolutely putrid and they will have to work to play first team again.

I was hoping for fire and brimstone. We got platitudes and soft exxcuses.

Very poor from Sam I thought. He needed to show he saw the same issues as most of us. I hope he did.
Please rewatch it. I am not a big fan of his coaching but atleast in the press conference tonight I thought he was very honest and fair.

Just quietly i rate all our games this year as pretty much as bad I've seen. Even 97 when we finished second last we were only a few games outside the 8. But with that said when we're on, we're very good, so just need to find a way to tap into the good stuff.
Start of 2017 was worse. The towel would be thrown in at half time and the thumping would commence.

Last year was awful as well at the start bar the North game.

2020 once we went to giants stadium the performance was bad. Especially the pies game. Might not have been thumped but the ball movement was terrible.

This year has had positives just the bad has been pretty bad. This is the only game though were the team has struggled all game.

Two days ago, I predicted a 10 goal loss so, it's be pretty stupid and contradictory of me to say that I'm shocked!! We have a little way to go to catch these " assisted' clubs with empty trophy cabinets but as Eddie and Jimmy says almost every week on their show, we will stay up for a long time!! Nash however, is a worry. Need Day, Newk, Ward, McKenzie and worpel to be our prime mids with a bit of help from Huss from here on in. Let it settle. Oh, missing 3 best 18 frwds doesn't help either.
Lewis, Breust, Watson and you can make case for the Chad as well ( and why not considering they're on our list).
Awful, crap, even soft, but need to move on from this and get better by the week.

Weddle is not a natural defender. His body work and positioning is poor. He is a great mark when he gets a run at it but not good close to the oppo goal. He looks like a wingman or forward to me.
Scrim has lifted. Should not be playing KPD, but has been very consistent.
Ward shirked the contest three times. Has some good moments but needs to play more on instinct instead of holding back every time.
Butler looks like he is not going to take his chance.
Ramsden is not ready, but will go past Chol as the forward/ruckman within 12 months. Chol is not the answer.

But the biggest problem is the coaching. Sam inferred he told them not to try to break tackles, so why did that keep happening? Reckon that would be the most holding the ball decisions against any team in a long while. Why was there no one on the outside in the forward line? We kept handballing into traffic. The whole thing was a mess. We looked slow and they were much, much harder than us.

Mitchell is a great tactician and I reckon would be a brilliant coach of a strong team, but we are still learning the basics and if we don’t get them right soon, he might not get the chance to show that.

Tonight’s game sucked? Absolutely!

I think a lot of Hawk fans have forgotten the hard work and time required to become a premiership winning team.

We are in this for the long haul, there is no quick fixes!

Our track to the top has been impacted by the AFl’s compromised drafting system.

Our young Hawks will work there way through these new challenges and they will be better for it.

Our young Hawks have shown in small samples what there capable of and our job is stay patient whilst they work on there consistency.
Precisely. Very painful in the early days (ie. seasons) of the journey back to the pinnacle … but it takes time. Time. Like seasons together. Gold Coast have had that and that’s where they’re at. We need to do the time. That’s the way it is.

North have been in totally control of a game and in a winning postion.

They should have wrapped up the game vs Freo in the 2nd Qtr.

And here you are slagging them off and acting like we’re miles apart.
Winning position? They gave up 9 consecutive goals. They weren't even close to winning that.

How you think their first half against Freo is somehow worth more than say our second half against Collingwood is beyond me.

Neither mean anything if you're still behind in the last quarter.

Autopsy Round 5, 2024 - Suns destroy hopeless Hawks