Preview Changes and Preview Thread vs Collingwood

I feel a little sorry for Burgoyne this year, he's come in a couple times and once as sub but never got more than a week.

Admittedly his hasn't looked upto it but I'd like to see the coaches show a bit more faith, as his end to 22 was excellent.

He wasn't that bad on the weekend. He's shown a fair bit in the SANFL as a winger, and there's enough in his performances to say he could make it there at AFL level or at half back. Certainly for a slight 2nd year kid he still looks to have a very bright future.

Collingwood's form away from Melbourne hasn't been dominant against the better teams: Win 70 vs 64 Saints at Adelaide oval, Win 59 vs 58 Crows at Adelaide oval, Lost 83 vs 116 Lions at the Gabba. Gives me some hope, but I'm not confident. I'll be watching the game in Bali somewhere with an old mate who supports Collingwood and Glenelg. Haven't watch a game with him since 88 Grand final. Here's hoping history repeats.

Two scenarios to what has happened…

1: The club conceded that Carlton was the game to lose and decided to rest everyone to prepare for Collingwood.

2: These players injuries are more serious than said in the media, but after getting belted by Carlton the club has panicked and rushed everyone back.

If anything I think McKenzie has definitely been brought back as a rotten corpse of him will be more effective then our captain.
Mckenzie has pretty good recouperative powers..
I recall numerous times he’s been back early from injury.

Might end up being some smart resting of players for the next 3 games..

I hope so, I’m sick of hearing about collingwood.. wanna see a good win and a Favourable lopsided freekick count and see if it’s swept under the carpet like ours was

My sincerest apologies Stephen Hawking. No more disingenuous compliments. Good luck Saturday. 👍
Did my mocking the language skills of one of our prominent happy clappers upset you?

Be interesting to see who gets up for this game. We've never been truthful with injuries.

The way we play with reported injury prognosis is frustrating for supporters but I like it. Haven't taken notice of other clubs but they would be idiots to not do the same thing.

Why telegraph selections to your opponents?

Also reckon we do a good job at feckin with the minds of TV journos who turn up to film our training sessions. But again I'm sure every club does that.

My sincerest apologies Stephen Hawking. No more disingenuous compliments. Good luck Saturday. 👍

I think you've missed who he was replying to.

Because if the tag doesn't work you're playing 17 v 18.

Transition to full team zones and press also made it harder to have a dedicated tagger.
It isnt 17v 18 Boak (or whoever tags) is still guarding space, its just the space next to Daicos

You just have to adjust the zone accordingly
If isnt hard and is doable

I reckon there would only be one coaching move worse than trying to tag Daicos with Boak and that would be to try and terrorise Neale with Sutcliffe.
Tagging Rance with Trengove is up there.

The way we play with reported injury prognosis is frustrating for supporters but I like it. Haven't taken notice of other clubs but they would be idiots to not do the same thing.

Why telegraph selections to your opponents?

Also reckon we do a good job at feckin with the minds of TV journos who turn up to film our training sessions. But again I'm sure every club does that.

I reckon an industry that takes as much money out of gambling companies as the AFL does has some sort of obligation to put accurate information in the public domain.

Agree with this statement. Premierships are not won by trying to nullify your opponent. Just ask Ross Lyon.

Our game is high pressure, high intensity on the ball or the opponent with the ball. We have also added the transition game from back to forward pretty well but we are heavily reliant on a stable back 6 to do this. Missing McKenzie has hurt us dearly and Jonas has made things much worse aiding the opponent with heaps of unforced errors.

It will be interesting to see who we select this week as it is likely we will be missing Butters & JHF who have injected life & energy into our midfield. Rosie is performing well but needs support. I am not sure if Houston is a solution in the midfield as he plays his best from half back. Wines is having a mare of a season so far and has been non influential in most games.

Ideally we would like to be at full strength with this game to see where we stand. But ultimately I'd rather have a full strength team in the finals by resting players now if they are sore or injured.
Kane, Hardwick and Carr all did tagging jobs in our premiership year so the theory is flawed.

On moto g62 5G using BigFooty.com mobile app

Doesn't matter where we put Jonas on the field, he's gonna carve them with his speed and laser kick. There is no point them tagging him, he'll just bash his opponent and use his world class acceleration to burn any opponent at the contest as he racks up 30+. A truly complete player, glad he's in the side again.

Daicos has an insatiable thirst for the ball. We should exploit that, perhaps a trap of some kind. A Ken Hinkley thirst trap.

Perhaps the sugar hit of possessions. Give him diabetes.

I’m flying over for this one so hope it will be a ripper!

OUT: DBJ Lord Mead Jonas McEntee Duursma
IN: JHF Dixon Rioli Burton McKenzie Fantasia
SUB: Duursma