Autopsy Roast & toast vs Melbourne and changes for round 21 vs Western Bulldogs

Best vs Dees

We are not better than melbourne with lynch out! I had this down as a loss! First half was brilliant, how good was dusty! We’re still in the race. Win next week and beat the aints
Sadly thats the crux of it.
Its frustrating because with him(& Gibcus structure wise) we'd be fighting for top 4 not top 8.
We'd be resting Jack for Finals.Instead he's a bruised warrior with nothing left in the tank.

Can you believe some campaigners in the preview thread were wanting Cotch and Jack to go around again next year?
* me dead.
Yep,. It’s easy to get sucked in by their one good game in 6-10 games, but they’re declining by every passing year at this rate.

They gave us really good careers, but we need to move on now.
Send Cotchin , Riewoldt and grimes out with a farewell home game against north.
Cotchin and Riewoldt, yes. Don’t agree with Grimes though. Yes he’s having a bad season this year, but I have hope he can turn it around again next year. If not, then at least he can be handy depth. We have way too many holes on our list to retire any KPDs aside from Tarrant. KPFs, small forwards, and (sadly) midfielders are more pressing needs for us than KPDs right now. Don’t want KPDs to become a pressing need too.

Hopper for this year's pick 8 and last years pick 31 was a huge bloody mistake.
Not a mistake.
With Cotch & Meatball on their last legs.
We'd be left with
Taranto/Bolton & Part time Dusty.

It was pretty disappointing to lose by five goals considering the Dees only really played one-and-a-half quarters of good football. I just don’t think we had enough contributors.
Our team ballance is a bit out of wack and l think the main reason melbourne won was that their key position forwards and defenders beat ours. The umps disnt help but still we were beaten there.
Hope that sends a wake up call. Some players need a rest.

We were 20 points up,looking great,Dees were down and all we needed was one more goal to drive the win home.
That is when the cheats went to work in fluro,singlehandedly got the Dees back in the game and their players lifted after the umps kicked their first goal in a while.

Their belief was back.

Umpires,another rort of the RFC and a swallow of the htb rule of course.

We are a great tackling team so of course the htb rule being erased from our book is another sneaky way for the cheat umpires to penalise us.

We should not have taken Miller off. Sure he didn't get much of the ball, but was it all co-incidence that when we went shorter all of a sudden their key backs came into the game. May and Lever were average in the first half, Miller contesting from the CHF position was one of the reasons. He also helped when Gawn dropped back in the hole, Gawn vs Pickett made it impossible for us to thrown in the high ball. Balta eventually went forward, but too late.

We were well set early with both Pickett and Mansell playing much further up the ground, Pickett even rucked because Mini worked out how important having someone tall at CHF against Melbourne. Threw that balance out when Coulthard came on. Why wasn't a small taken off. Graham was the obvious one as Mansell is quick and we needed pace, and he was playing pretty well. Could have been Cotchin who did not much. But as usual, we take the younger players off and leave the established players on. Maybe Young could have gone to CHF. He is competitive, big and mobile. Better option than moving Balta who is so important behind the ball.

Regarding the forward set up next year a combination of, Young or Gibcus plays forward, Cumberland, Bauer, Lynch would be interesting. I did not like Jack's comment about playing on next year, 'you have to take a variety of things into account, like am I taking somebody else's spot', which seems to indicate that he didn't think he was.
I think you are correct with ever point you make. Taking Miller off made no sense to me at all. He did okay against Gawn in the ruck and is a natural defender. The two things we desperately needed. Melbournes ability to move the ball through the centre of the ground without any pressure was the biggest factor. No defence is going to stand up to that. We had too many slow midfielders. We can’t have Toranto Hopper Dusty and Prestia as midfielders and try to carry Graham and Cotchin as well. Especially when we expect them to run forward too support our tall forwards Macintosh was shown up as well I don’t know why we didn’t try him as a third tall forward rather than sacrifice Pickett
Mini keeps saying that the veterans have earned the right to choose when to retire. If that is what he is willing to accept then he isn’t the right man to coach Richmond going forward

Hopper for this year's pick 8 and last years pick 31 was a huge bloody mistake.
It has absolutely not paid off this year, but he's here for 7 years. If he gets back to his best next year then all will be forgotten.

So many said Taranto was a mistake at the start of this year. So many said Prestia was a mistake half way into his first season with us.

Just chill out a bit, we don't have fall a trade a bust or pass not even a full season in. Hopper missed most of last season and has a very interrupted season this year with a few injuries, a change of coach and a team that is constantly moving and changing.

This guy made the AA squad and picked up 15 Brownlow votes in 2021. He's talented. Let's give him a chance to actually find that form.

why the **** was soldo off for 30 mins when game was on the line

surely he had enough energy to at least neutralise most of the ruck contests and interrupt a few marking contests

Those weren't soft 50m penalties mate. They just weren't 50m. Ever
Balta’s probably was too be fair but Kosi’s tackle on Broad in the goal square would never be paid especially when so few frees were given the other way.
Does anyone have the quarter by quarter stats for the game. Did we get just 2 free kicks in a half of football Is that a record?

Balta’s probably was too be fair but Kosi’s tackle on Broad in the goal square would never be paid especially when so few frees were given the other way.
Does anyone have the quarter by quarter stats for the game. Did we get just 2 free kicks in a half of football Is that a record?
We got 3 in 3 quarters of footy a few weeks ago, so probably not.

Sadly thats the crux of it.
Its frustrating because with him(& Gibcus structure wise) we'd be fighting for top 4 not top 8.
We'd be resting Jack for Finals.Instead he's a bruised warrior with nothing left in the tank.
Exactly. We have fought extremely hard without Lynch this year but that's all it was ever going to be when he missed the year. We are just not even a chance without him.
Lynch has played 4 games....and is 8th best goal kicker this year.

We don't have a forward line at all. I think we should be extremely proud of the effort we've put in this year, especially since Dimma left. Because it's amazing were even putting on winning scores. Yeh we lost, but we had 86 points on a top 4 team at 3 quarter time. That's an effort.

Our top 10 goal kickers this year are Jack at 27, Bolton 23, Dusty 21, Taranto 18, Ryan 12, Clarke 11, Mansell 10, Lynch 9, Baker, 9, Graham 8.

We've done a pretty incredible job to find goals without having a forward line basically at all.
Our midfielders, wingers and half backs our basically also our forward while Jack is essentially just a decoy and someone to make a contest.

Last year we had Lynch at 63, Bolton 43 and Jack 40. This year we will be lucky it have 1 forward kick 30 goals.

Probably a record since the Freo game this year when has like 3 at 3 quarter time I think ?