We have Rankine for the pizzazYep agree
Not the same offensive pizzaz of Rozee but a more rounded more reliable player in the heat of big games hopefully
And Rachele for the pizzas
We have Rankine for the pizzazYep agree
Not the same offensive pizzaz of Rozee but a more rounded more reliable player in the heat of big games hopefully
If he had a higher ceiling according to the neutral experts ( eg head recruiters ) then he would have been a unanimous pick 1 in draft this year given it wasn’t a standout top couple like the Harley Reid or JHF yearThey're fundamentally different players.
JHF has way more explosiveness and an ability to break a game open, whereas I think Draper is going to be a little more well rounded. My guess is that he will be less likely to drift in and out of games like JHF does, and have a better capacity to cover the ground.
Jeffcrowe 'A fair way off JHF level' is laughable. I've spoken to people who've coached both at Panthers and most believe Draper has a higher ceiling, and a far far better attitude.
This post was really a game of two halvesJosh Flog Money wants to be the next Cornes/Rucci. No wonder why Tiffany Warne dumped him. fk, Tiffany is one gorgeous woman
AgreeWe have Rankine for the pizzaz
And Rachele for the pizzas
has this Josh Money guy got social media that we can post to? inc the news about him ringing Nicks and saying he desperately WANTED to play for his beloved club
Great! Fancy having two outstanding young leaders!Who’s going to end up captain out of Sid and Max ? Going to be a tight call
We won’t need a 9 person leadership group of borderline best 22 playersGreat! Fancy having two outstanding young leaders!
My nephew played with both of them at South and he had a much higher rating of Sid.They're fundamentally different players.
JHF has way more explosiveness and an ability to break a game open, whereas I think Draper is going to be a little more well rounded. My guess is that he will be less likely to drift in and out of games like JHF does, and have a better capacity to cover the ground.
Jeffcrowe 'A fair way off JHF level' is laughable. I've spoken to people who've coached both at Panthers and most believe Draper has a higher ceiling, and a far far better attitude.
Not really on the ball with this one I don’t think.If he had a higher ceiling according to the neutral experts ( eg head recruiters ) then he would have been a unanimous pick 1 in draft this year given it wasn’t a standout top couple like the Harley Reid or JHF year
And yet he got to pick 4
So not so laughable at all really
The south people Obvs love him as a kid and bloke and loved working with him so I can appreciate their loyalty with a statement like that
But evidence doesn’t really back it up
and even though Daicos has proven to be a better player than JHF ( so far ) , JHF has certainly proven to be a good no 1 pick already with lots to come
JHF is elite above his head too.interesting insights - thanks for sharing. Interesting that you say JHF is significantly more explosive. Draper seems elite in that way to my naked eye
It's just rounds 2-23 that are the issue.
I think his competition is more likely Draper, Taylor, Curtin, Dowling, Berry. I see three spots for them, including a sub role.He was definitely in a lull beforehand. The shoulder ruined any shot of saving his 2024.
Absolutely, and Peds might be relying on some luck to fall his way to force his way in. You don't want to be in a dogfight against Ben Keays or Alex Neal-Bullen to save your career.
And Draper has a less punchable weasel face like Rozee hasYep, agree ...Draper will have the better defensive game ....the lack of defence in Finals, has been a stinging criticism of Rozee.
I like how Draper doesn't concede possession in a contest ....gets his hands in & flicks the ball out to his advantage
I'm not sure what the negative was with Arlo ....I watched a lot of his training sessions on the COLL Board in 2023 .....he looked a monty to get midfield time, according to track-watchers .....just didn't happen
JHF wasn't injured for the 1st half of his draft season as well. Had Draper showed what he did in the 2nd half of the season and more likely even more since he would have accumulate match fitness throughout the season, would he had given pick 1 a shake? There was talk that North wanted him at pick 2.Not really on the ball with this one I don’t think.
Jason and Draper has pretty similar draft years both playing good football for Souths.
But to say one is better than the other because of draft pick is t right. Especially with 2 of the top 4 father sons. Would Daicos have got to 4 if in the open draft - no chance.
Jason was up there of course but can’t compare the drafts due to Daicos and Darcy I don’t think.
Anyway you need to look at how they were at similar stages. Right now it’s about even BUT it may change once Draper has played 50 games - can compare with Jason’s 50 at that time.
Didn’t he also have a lot of injuries during his time there, including a bad concussion?Arlo had tools but issue with footy IQ apparently
Just couldn’t get the flow of a game and get in right spots
I mean Sid didnt get a chance to play SANFL finals, when Jason did he took it with both handsNot really on the ball with this one I don’t think.
Jason and Draper has pretty similar draft years both playing good football for Souths.
But to say one is better than the other because of draft pick is t right. Especially with 2 of the top 4 father sons. Would Daicos have got to 4 if in the open draft - no chance.
Jason was up there of course but can’t compare the drafts due to Daicos and Darcy I don’t think.
Anyway you need to look at how they were at similar stages. Right now it’s about even BUT it may change once Draper has played 50 games - can compare with Jason’s 50 at that time.
interesting insights - thanks for sharing. Interesting that you say JHF is significantly more explosive. Draper seems elite in that way to my naked eye
I'll be shocked if Port don't eventually win a flag with him.JHF is in the Dangerfield/Martin level of power athlete. Freakishly good.
He himself mentioned before the draft that due to his injury earlier in the season he was not at his best in the national champs - didn't have the fitness base and was lacking the power from stoppage like he was used to. If he had had a clean run at it like Jagga say, its no stretch to think he might have been right there for the pick 1 spotIf he had a higher ceiling according to the neutral experts ( eg head recruiters ) then he would have been a unanimous pick 1 in draft this year given it wasn’t a standout top couple like the Harley Reid or JHF year
And yet he got to pick 4
So not so laughable at all really
The south people Obvs love him as a kid and bloke and loved working with him so I can appreciate their loyalty with a statement like that
But evidence doesn’t really back it up
and even though Daicos has proven to be a better player than JHF ( so far ) , JHF has certainly proven to be a good no 1 pick already with lots to come
Yeah, the things I like about him (disclaimer: YouTube highlights) are his pace and burst speed, his production, and his dedication to the contest.actually draper an interesting comparison with rozee, draper going to be more trustworthy when the heat is dialled up
rozee more skillful but a bit flaky last 2 seasons
one thing draper is not is flaky
Love that we got Draper, especially also considering each Club at 1,2 and 3 considered him for their pick.I wanted Jagga, really thought Carlton would take Sid but when you think about it all 5 of the rated ones would have been good. Sid will fit nicely into the Crows for a long time to come.
The best thing was that Hamish stayed right where he needed to be in the draft.
Definitely Goody but reckon Macca started in the forward line (remember the game winning goal against Horks Jenke at Footy Park in his first or second game)
It's in the water down there.As an aside to this discussion on Sid, fair bit of kudos to South Adelaide for producing two top-five draftees in the space of less than five years.
They wont.I'll be shocked if Port don't eventually win a flag with him.