I got told that but it turned out it wasn’t good infoCan anyone remember who said 6 recruiters had Draper at pick one? I did find the below from Jeff but not the one I was looking for
I hear they've had to stitch two jumpers together for when we draft Uter tonight.It was a crows jumper that had the number pressed after selection. I suspect it was big as they weren’t sure whether we’d take Langford or Draper.
Absolutely I could be underrating himBut with south coaches rating Drapers ceiling higher, and Jenny’s family member playing with both and rating Draper higher, does that give you hope that perhaps slightly underrating him?
Will try and dig up but someone said 4-6 weeks ago that 6 club recruiters rated Draper number one
We could compare max with lachie JonesA couple on the Port board labeling Draper the Temu version of JHF...lol
I wonder what sort of comparison we could make between our players and their players.. Temu might be the ceiling when considering who they have to match up on Thilthorpe, Max Michalanney, Nick Murray etc
Outside of their top end mids our list is better across the groundAnd Bergman the other obvious one
BUT our list CRAPS over theirs going forward. The Power board is acknowledging it in many instances
AgreeJHF in 2021 was like Lalor (in the sense he was an explosive player that could impact mid and forward), but better overall 18th year production
Draper certainly has SANFL ball-winning on JHF, which is why I can see him producing at a high level even by year 2, but JHF will win more games off his own boot
Thankfully we have our own JHF equivalent in Rankine (not the same type of player obv, just in the sense both are match winners)
That wasn’t what you said though old mate. You said he was better because he was the number 1 pick in his draft and Draper wasn’t in his. But it’s 2 different drafts.JHF would have gone pick 1 in this years draft everyday of the week
If Draper got past our pick 4 he was likely to get through to the saints at pick 8
Melbourne had no interest
That’s a fair gap
Nah there was a guy at the draft pressing the numbers and names onto the back of jumpers
I thought he wore 2?He wore 3 at South, wouldve been available if we traded Berry
Bit of everything. He thought JHF was a bit of a flog, but could play, wasn't all that team oriented. Thought Drapes could play and was a good team player.Rating covering? Character or including footy ability?
What I was saying is Jason would have been clear No 1 pick this yearThat wasn’t what you said though old mate. You said he was better because he was the number 1 pick in his draft and Draper wasn’t in his. But it’s 2 different drafts.
Anyway can’t tell anything until they are both up and away with 100 games. No one knows for sure.
Also you can add Matt Roberts who has been very solid for Sydney.As an aside to this discussion on Sid, fair bit of kudos to South Adelaide for producing two top-five draftees in the space of less than five years.
This why our AFC had an extraordinary mob of staff in the recruitment room. Pressing sewing and steamingThe fact the jumper was so big perhaps it wasn’t the only one…if Ashcroft had been bid as expected before pick 4 then Draper would have been 5 (with probably another guernsey reflecting that)
I mean Sid didnt get a chance to play SANFL finals, when Jason did he took it with both hands
just like happened with CurtinEvery Crows supporter will spontaneously combust if he isn't lining up R1 next year.
"Sid is close, but needs to develop a few more things at the lower level"
"It was a tough call, but we needed to consider team balance"
They legit did the printing after he was drafted they had a stack of pick-number and all the players names in different colours so that they could create any combination on the screen press for all the clubs. They had White Black and yellow of every player and pick-numberDraper’s jumper already had pick 4 printed on the back. So they knew. Pretty exciting for him and his family. Welcome.
Recall the same with Adam Cooney with Westies in the finals series.It was that prelim that really stood out for JHF.
Nah...call him Drapes, and Curtin can be Curtain!Welcome Vicious
Drew would be in the 2nd group too I would say
Also hang on a minute , weren’t you pre draft a little bit hesitant on us taking Draper ?Not really on the ball with this one I don’t think.
Jason and Draper has pretty similar draft years both playing good football for Souths.
But to say one is better than the other because of draft pick is t right. Especially with 2 of the top 4 father sons. Would Daicos have got to 4 if in the open draft - no chance.
Jason was up there of course but can’t compare the drafts due to Daicos and Darcy I don’t think.
Anyway you need to look at how they were at similar stages. Right now it’s about even BUT it may change once Draper has played 50 games - can compare with Jason’s 50 at that time.
I said he is very good but that thought Langford was the better potential.Also hang on a minute , weren’t you pre draft a little bit hesitant on us taking Draper ?
It’s actually a good draft to compare as this one didn’t have standouts just very even with depth until pick 50+ where the JHF draft was probably the best standout draft at that top ever ( or at least will prove to be )